We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Hotel in Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sanctuary Hotel in Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the moment of check in to check out, the staff at the Sanctuary aim to please. We thoroughly enjoyed all the hotel had to offer and then being situated in the middle of times square was an added bonus. The upgrade to the suite was so worth it as 5 of us very comfortably shared one suite. Thanks to the amazing staff at the Sanctuary!

Room Tip: upgrade to the suite and you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Immediately upon arrival at the Sanctuary my wife and I knew we were in safe hands. The staff here have a gift with people.
Our room was beautifully decorated, and spacious by New York standards.
We needed several recommendations on places to buy dresses for a gala dinner, cool places to eat and cosy places to drink. And the knowledge of all their conceirge staff was mind blowing.
I travel regularly and stay in 50 hotels per year. This ranks #1 in terms of staff.
Brandon, Jason & Jacob were particularly helpful, Lauren & Didier too.
All very friendly, helpful and made our stay most special.
Big thanks, can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience with us on tripadvisor.

The staff will certainly be excited to read about your comments and know that their efforts were appreciated.

We hope to have you back soon for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stord, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As a grown-up couple in our 70-ies, travelling to celebrate an aniversary, we really enjoyed our four day stay at this hotel in NYC. The short distances to theatres, shows, concerts and sight-seeing was important for our choice of hotel, and our pre-information through the S.T.A.R.-service made us even more sure that we had chosen the right location. E-mail exchanges with Brandon (McMillen) was of great value in planning of our mini-vacation. The politeness and services on arrival and during our stay made the whole experience perfect. They even showed up with a (signed!)congratualtion card for the birthday, accompanied by some impressive bakery from the chef.
The whole hotel was clean and tidy, the continental breakfast was good, the room was well serviced and maintained. Allthough we had to bear with a poor view from the room on third floor, we were particularly impressed by the silence and quietness in the bedroom during nights, hardly believable in the heart of "a city that never sleeps". Access to free Wi-Fi and included breakfast were important factors in our choice of hotel. For recommdations to others and for our own possible future visits to NYC, the STAR outstanding politeness and services will also be of importance.

Room Tip: We only tried one room on third floor (303), and found this to be close to perfect. Views through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It was our pleasure to have you here with us and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

I will certainly share your comments with Brandon and the rest of the staff.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Me and my close friend stayed in NY for the first time (4 nights). The Sanctuary Hotel was absolutely fantastic...superb location (around the corner of Times Square, but not the noise!), very friendly personell, big room for NY standards (we had a double double at the 6th floor, room 611), everything very clean and hygienic, very comfy rainshower, nice rooftop bar called Haven where we had some cocktails and dinner (all good!) etc.! At arrival we got a room at the 2nd floor next to the elevator. We immediately asked for another room which wasn't a problem at all. The complementary breakfast is simple but OK. The free WI-FI worked very well, also in the room. Nothing is too much for the staff...e.g. when we left we needed a taxi to the airport at rush hour. The staff went to 6th Avenue (more traffic) to arrange the taxi for us, which was great! There's even a closed luggage room (free of charge!) to safely put your suitcase if your flight is late in the evening. The entrance of the hotel is very modern, with complementary coffee/tea and ice water with fresh lemons. So.....whenever we're going back to NY....we're staying at the Sanctuary Hotel again!

Room Tip: The double double room is very nice (two big beds, however the room itself and the storage space wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niekster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am excited to know that you had such a great visit with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

The staff place forth great effort to provide our guests with the best possible services. Our goal is to always create an experience that is both unique and memorable.

I'm also happy to hear that the staff was able to accommodate you with additional rooms options. We really try to go above and beyond for everyone.

We would love to see you back with us for another wonderful stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The front desk team is great; Karen, DeDie,Jacob.
The lobby is Disco type which I do not prefer.
Above value is referred to; the small room size, no sun, windows cannot see thru.
For such room rate the breakfast should be more descent.I rate the breakfast at 2.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imadhajibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I‘d like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel, did not meet your expectations. It saddens us to know that we could not provide you with the stay that you deserved.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic Manhattan lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service, creating a "home away from home" atmosphere. We wish that the Sanctuary Hotel could be the ideal choice for everyone. However, we understand that different guests have different needs, and that is why we place so much emphasis on creating an experience that is tailored to each individual.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. A warm palette of deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac, highlight our rooms, along with oversized headboards and plush pillow-top mattresses that complement the luxurious Frette sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm. Our shower design is something that guests simply rave about, not to mention the actual use of the rainfall shower-head that sends a consistent stream of pressurized warmth down one’s body.

Our fireplace-adorned lobby and lounge has no intentions of being a disco, rather a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city that embodies the Sanctuary Hotel name. Many of our guests feel that being literally steps away from Times Square is a luxury in itself.

We feel very strongly about the authenticity of our product, and the genuine care that we provide for our guests, Guest feedback is always important to us and we will continue to improve upon the services that are provided.

We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to create the experience that you deserve.

Best regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was our first time in NYC and we stayed at the hotel for a week. It was an amazing experience and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. The atmosphere is really impressive. Everything was just perfect - the greeting by the door, the lobby, the receptionists, the room, the shower, the breakfast and the rooftop bar and restaurant. The staff was so friendly and helpful. During the week we met nearly all the staff and they were all so kind to us. The location was perfect too. Although it is literally 2 seconds from Time Square it was a quite street and a perfect place to stay if you are visiting New York for the first time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen Size room on the second floor. Can definitely recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I traveled with my boyfriend and we had such an amazing experience with this hotel. The rooms are a bit small, but it really doesn't matter because they are still absolutely perfect. We chose a queen size room, so we had the bed, a desk, mini fridge, safe, tv, iPod clock, etc. The bathroom is wonderful -- the shower is a rain head and the toiletries are a very nice quality. It was most certainly worth the price. If you are looking for a spacious room you're probably visiting the wrong city... Besides, you're there to see the city, not stay in the room!

I suggest that if you want snacks for the room, go to a deli and buy them there. The room provided in the room is expensive (3.00 for a small bag of goldfish, 6.50 for a litre of Fiji), but the fridge is open so if you have left overs you can easily store them.

As well, the staff are more than lovely. They are always very friendly and very willing to help. We never made it up to the roof top since we aren't 21 yet, but we heard it's beautiful! If you aren't 21, you can go up before 5 pm when the bar opens.

Overall I only have positive things to say about the hotel, the experience was spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerSBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent visit.

We are happy that you had such an amazing experience with us. Comments such as yours brings smiles to all our faces.

We can't wait to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing