We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel with great location in time square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 451 hotels in New York City
Metz, France
1 review
“pleasant hotel with great location in time square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pleasant hotel but with dark atmosphere

positive: pleasant staff, great location near to time square, wifi

negative : classical room are without window view, hotel with dark atmosphere, tv choice (channels) are limited for movies may be due to pay tv

Be very careful when you book on booking.com some reservation are non-refundable at all ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,323
    582
    118
    31
    10
See reviews for
309
965
76
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A girlfriend and I travel to NYC each year and this is the second year we have stayed at The Sanctuary Hotel. We love it here...such a great location but off a side street so you aren't in the middle of all the commotion. Our room this time was a bit dark because it was on the back side of the hotel but the first time we had a street view and it was very nice! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I traveled to New York for the first time with my girlfriend (in our mid 20s). It was a special occasion for us and we were treated like royalty from the off. All staff (Jacob in particular!) were fantastic and incredibly helpful. We were upgraded to a Deluxe King with a room on the front of the hotel. Room size was great and Jacob had helped me arrange surprises for my girlfriend throughout our stay (quite literally Service Tailored to Any Request is what they do!!). Room was very clean and although there was a little noise from the street this did not bother us at all! He (Jacob) also arranged tickets to a baseball game as well as various evening events including dinner, comedy nights and jazz. Breakfast in the mornings was simple but tasty, and just what you need before you hit the city! Never experienced service from a concierge like this in the past and would be surprised if it was beaten in the future! Thank you to all at the Sanctuary Hotel, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front of the hotel. If you are staying for longer than 3.4 days, make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are excited to hear that you and your girlfriend had such a wonderful experience with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

The staff make every effort to create a visit that is both unique and memorable and we are happy to have been able to do that for you.

I will certainly share your comments with Jacob and the rest of the staff. We can't wait to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a great hotel experience! Room was clean and spacious with a nice modern bathroom. I thought the shower was amazing!. The rooftop bar is also a fantastic amenity worth checking out even if you are not staying at the hotel. I would definitely go back just wish they had a reward program.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Many guest such as yourself enjoy the rainfall shower-heads in our pee-a-boo showers. We would certainly love for you to come back for another great stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for four nights in late April. The hotel is a great place to stay and in a great location.
We had a good room on the 6th floor, no real view other than the roof of the Church next door but plenty of natural light. The room was comfortable and well fitted out, but a bit small as are most New York rooms.
Reception seems dark when you walk in off the Street but it's fine once you're accustomed to it.

Breakfast was fine, but nothing special, and they always seemed to be running out of crockery - the staff were constantly topping up what was there but it seemed like having a few more bowls and plates to start with would help a lot.

You need to check your bill at check-out. Someone had charged food and drinks to our room at the Haven Bar and it took a long time to get it sorted. I don't think they ever found the actual dockets and guessed at which ones weren't ours. I'm pretty sure the guy on the desk had forgotten about us until we pressed him on a solution.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay. The hotel staff was exceptional especially the front desk, in particular, Brandon, Lauren, Didier and the gentleman at the door. The young lady at check-in on the afternoon of April 23,2013 was both pleasant and knowledgeable. We were never aware of the housekeeping staff, however, they performed their service very well and efficiently.

The breakfast included was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of us on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate the feedback and I will certainly share your comments with Brandon, Lauren, Didier and the rest of the staff.

We would love to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.