We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Hotel NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 449 hotels in New York City
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
“Sanctuary Hotel NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay. The hotel staff was exceptional especially the front desk, in particular, Brandon, Lauren, Didier and the gentleman at the door. The young lady at check-in on the afternoon of April 23,2013 was both pleasant and knowledgeable. We were never aware of the housekeeping staff, however, they performed their service very well and efficiently.

The breakfast included was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of us on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate the feedback and I will certainly share your comments with Brandon, Lauren, Didier and the rest of the staff.

We would love to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,299
    573
    117
    30
    9
See reviews for
304
947
76
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was a wonderful holiday with friends. The hotel is very centrally located between 6th and 7th Aveneue near the Times Square. All you need to public transport dimension has been fast. The rooms are big enough. The breakfast was basic. Everything worked and was very clean. Not to forget the Roof Top bar. Very successful. The staff were super friendly and have a perfectly cared for. We will book this hotel again for sure if we NY haunt the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful feedback.

The staff will be happy to read about your comments and we would love to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice boutique style hotel. Appeared newly refurbished. Rooms weren't spacious but to be honest why go to New York and spend hours in your room other than to sleep! Considering it was only a couple of minutes walk from Times Square it provided a peaceful 'sanctuary' from the full-on atmosphere that is New York! Breakfast although not interesting was a welcome and substantial enough to start the day. Roof top bar lovely. Staff generally obliging particularly in the breakfast room. Doormen lovely - knowledgeable and courteous.Water issue in bathroom which remained unresolved throughout our stay was a pain as we spent several evenings of our holiday mopping up after a leak. Disappointed that this was not taken more seriously from the start as we got fed up with asking for someone to sort it out after pre-bedtime shower when we were knackered and just wanted to go to bed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sanctuary for 5 nights for combination of holiday and work.
Location unbelievable, seconds from Times Square and many of main attractions.
Concierge service was also far superior to anywhere I have stayed. Brandon, Jimmy and Jacob went the extra mile in terms of recommendations, planning routes, charging my phone and giving me tips on shopping etc. reception team also excellent.
Room was ok, no view at all (except wall)
Sink and shower in room which was fine for me but not very private for people sharing. Toilet seperate though.
Cleaning wasn't up to scratch in rooms but public areas clean.
Dull lighting didn't bother me but certainly not ideal for people wanting bright and light environment.
Breakfast very basic but free with room. Could have done with more fruit and better self service toaster!
Waitresses cleared tables whilst you had just got up to get something despite having jumper, key, magazine etc still at table.
Hideous drilling also on one day as they are building new kitchen. Noise was deafening and would have been nice to have prior warning.
Overall it was good with few niggles.
Location and concierge certainly added value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Englan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of two couples visiting New York for a wedding. We all agreed we were glad we chose The Sanctuary. Location is fantastic, just a few strides to Times Square. The rooms are on the small side but we didn't see that as a problem at all. I was a bit worried about the curtain dividing the shower from the bed but it was no problem at all. The bed was very comfy and the room surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was basic but fine. The staff were all really nice and friendly, especially Jacob. Enjoyed our drinks in the rooftop bar. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I originally booked with a less expensive hotel in the city, but after reading the great reviews on The Sanctuary, we decided to change our reservations. I am very glad we did. First and foremost, the S.T.A.R. service was wonderful. The staff were so helpful and answered all of our questions - even booking our dinner reservations. After learning it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a beautiful room and given a complimentary bottle of champagne.
The room was small, but that is to be expected in NYC. It was very, very clean - which was really important to us. The only downsides would be the combined bedroom/shower situation and it was a tad pricey. Otherwise, our stay was absolutely wonderful.
The location was amazing. If you leave the front door and turn left, you are steps from Times Square. It could not be beat.
I loved the overall feel of the hotel. It was clean, modern and the service, again, was beyond compare. We definitely made the right decision staying at The Sanctuary!

Room Tip: Speak with the concierge - the advice and service are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your honeymoon. Knowing that we were able to create such a memorable experience for you brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have recently begun staying in NYC routinely for work reasons and have always been a loyal Marriott supporter (cause loyalty has its perks with the big chains). On a recommendation from a friend, I decided to try the Sanctuary and was very impressed with the detail and commitment to service. This property is convienently located, has a fantastic staff, and impecable service.
I would highly recommend the roof-top restaurant "Haven". The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly.
Overall, the Sanctuary will become my NYC 'home base' from now on. If you have the chance, check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review about us.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our attention to detail and level of commitment to the service that we provide for our guests.

We can't wait to welcome you back to your new home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Amex, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.