We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Vaughan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel is a wonderful hotel, situated in the absolute most perfect location. It is a quaint hotel with a special, welcoming charm. The front desk was very kind and extremely helpful. The upstairs terrace and lounge is a wonderful touch. The morning breakfast was exactely what anyone could ask for. It had all the morning staple foods with a few extra sweets. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone looking to stay close to Times Square and walking distance to many places. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm really happy to hear that you "loved" your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Many guest such as yourself enjoy our complimentary breakfast as well as the other amenities that we provide. As we continue to look for ways to continuously improve upon the services we provide, feedback such as yours is always appreciated.

We look forward to your next return.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    652
    135
    35
    13
See reviews for
356
1,140
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my two teenaged children stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for 13 days,are stay could not have been any better,the Hotel was always clean,the housekeeping service was great,lots of towels and the room was always cleaned,the staff was so helpful and very friendly,helped us with cabs,directions,advice,always opened the doors for us with the warmest smiles and greetings every time we went out or came back,we have been on lots of vacations to different places but I can honestly say that they made us feel wanted and special,they made us feel like they were glad hat we were there,this hotel was the best hotel that we have ever stayed at,if your planning a trip to NYC,this is the only hotel I would pick,cant get any better then perfect,Linda Gillespie.

Room Tip: Our room wasthelarge suite sweet,because there was one adult and two kids,shower was fantastic,size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review about your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

I'm delighted to hear that you and your children has such a pleasant visit with us. The staff really stress upon creating a home away from home environment for everyone and they will be excited to read about your great comments.

We can't wait to have you back with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Absolutely loved more or less everything about this hotel. The decor was smart and interesting with a laquer red and black Eastern temple vibe. The room was spacious for New York and had everything you might need including an iron and board. The decor continued the restful red and black theme with mock leather tiles in the shower area - very chic. We were a bit disappointed however by the design concept behind the rooftop bar which had a rather strange skiing chalet theme. We would have preferred something more urban and glitzy, but the service was excellent and they got the food offer right - loved the tacos!

We loved the location which is near the Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue and yet not far from Times Square. You really feel at the heart of things.

What is outstanding about this hotel is the staff, who are just delightful. They are so friendly and helpful they give your spirits a lift every time you walk in and out of Reception. The system of S.T.A.R. managers who will advise you about outings and restaurants and will book things for you is really special. We felt that Jacob in particular was very perceptive in intuiting what sort of things we would like and his input really made our holiday. Would not hesitate to go back to this hotel, in fact we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned home from spending 5 nights at the gorgeous Sanctuary Hotel. Could not have asked for anything more. The staff, the room, the location - everything was perfect. Would most definitely recommend it as great hotel to stay in and would love to come back one day. The Sanctuary Hotel deserves to be #1 on trip advisor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a superb experience at Sanctuary Hotel, just a block off Broadway but quiet and a serene place to relax after sightseeing and eating and drinking and going to theaters (just a short walk away). The staff was incredible friendly and helpful, including the folks up at the rooftop bar, Haven. Great breakfast too. We'll be back. Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but you don't go to New York to mess around in your hotel room, now do you? Ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good Hotel, Staff we're perfect and very hard working but rooms are smaller than expected and very noisy due to traffic, could do with more noise prevention from windows.
Location perfect for 5th Ave and Times Square, walkable to Central Park.

Room Tip: At back of hotel to avoid late night traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My 16 year old daughter and I have been to New York before but the staff at this hotel is the reason our trip was so enjoyable. The hotel itself is very nice. Room a bit small but the design is very efficient. It includes a continental breakfast which was adequate for us. It saved money and time. Free wifi is great as well.

The staff is so knowledgable about the city. They can give you exact directions and ideas on where to visit. If you need a suggestion on restaurants they are the experts and can get you a reservation. They were always available for questions and went out if their way for your needs.

The location was perfect. Near to Times Square but without the noise. It was very quiet.

When we get a chance to return to NYC this will be our hotel of choice

Thank you to all the staff and especially Jacob, Jimmy, and Brandon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are delighted that you and your daughter had such a great experience with us.

Knowing that the staff was the reason why your stay was so enjoyable, brings smiles to all our faces.

We really appreciate your comments and would love to see you both again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.