We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding night hotness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wedding night hotness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My now husband and I stayed at Sanctuary on our wedding night. After the most perfect wedding imaginable we arrived at Sanctuary and was greeted by very friendly bell boy who took our bags and wedding gifts to our room. The lobby was STUNNING! The lighting and decor was fabulous and everyone was extremely nice! Check in was simple and fast! We got to our room and when I opened the door I was surprised with a GIANT bouquet of red roses that my husband called steroid roses! They were massive and smelled like a dream! There were rose pedals scattered on the floor leading up to the bed and a basket of leftover pedals that we ended up throwing at each other later on. lol. There was also a lovely plate of little treats with a personalized card congratulating us on our marriage.

The room screamed sex so plenty of that was had. The red leather headboard and vintage looking chandelier were to die for and the shower was hot and steamy... We stayed up all night opening wedding gifts and drinking champagne! It was perfect. The next morning a lovely complimentary breakfast was provided that consisted of coffee, tea, juice, muffins, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit. Upon checkout we were greeted by the hotel manager, Jeremy Poon, as my husband and Jeremy had been corresponding prior about setting up our room with the lovely roses. We had such an amazing time at Sanctuary and can't thank the AMAZING staff enough for being apart of a flawless day! We both live and work in Manhattan so we will see you on our next staycation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are excited to know that we were able to create such a memorable experience for you here at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We strive to provide each guest with a unique visit and knowing that we were able to do this for you brings a smile to all our faces.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,808
    735
    145
    37
    16
See reviews for
406
1,317
101
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

First time guest of this great hotel. Every staff member was friendly, helpful, and genuinely glad to have us as guests. Special mention to Brandon and Hughes. Room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom spacious and breakfast was included in room price. Midtown location makes it easy and quick to get anywhere in the city. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your feed back.

Brandon and Hughes will be very happy to read about your comments.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Only a short stay in New York and we picked the sanctuary after reading the reviews on trip advisor, great hotel, and a lovely experience, the hotel is everything you expect, great location, great entrance and lobby with a well appointed coffee stall and bar, the room had everything you would want contained cleverly in the limited space. The room was styled to a very high standard and the shower was fab. The rooftop bar was something else, great views of the cityscape and a wonderful start or end to the evening. The best part of the hotel however was the staff, no matter who you speak to, nor the time of the day, they were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We'll be staying in the Sanctuary on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are delighted to read such a wonderful review about us. It's reviews like this, that really motivate the Sanctuary team to continuously find ways on improving the services that we provide.

Knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us, brings a smile to all our faces. The goal is to always create a unique and memorable experience for our guest. It's very important that guests of ours truly feel like the Sanctuary is home away from home and we hope that everyone leaves with a lasting impression.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we would love for you to return to the Sanctuary and experience even more.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Sanctuary is awesome! We picked them for our wedding might hotel and we couldn't be happier. The rooms are beautiful, clean and egantly sexy and modern.

Jeremy at S.T.A.R made our experience even better by helping me order amazing roses for the room as well as making sure there were rose pedals all over the bed and floor. There were also complimentary chocolates and a personalized letter for us the newly weds!

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great as well and held downstairs in their lounge area. We didn't have a chance to check it out, but they also have a very nice rooftop bar/lounge with a great view.

Highly recommend!!!! Thanks again! You were awesome Sanctuary!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that the Sanctuary Hotel was the right choice for such a special occasion. Our goal is to always create a memorable experience for everyone, just like yours.

We would love for you to return soon, so that you may experience even more.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, my daughter and I were treated like part of the family by the excellent, friendly staff. We were always greeted graciously and almost always by name, and meeting the hotel manager, Mr. Jeremy Poon, at the time of arrival was welcoming. Mr. Poon made sure our requests prior to arrival were met when we arrived. Jacob and Brandon graciously took care of us during our stay by giving us directions and suggestions, as well as answering all of our questions. The hotel was very welcoming and comfortable and not crazy busy like other hotels. It was not very often when we encountered other guests other than at the complimentary breakfast. The room was a nice size because we had two double beds, the beds were amazingly comfortable, and the shower was great. The location was superb! The hotel is a short walking distance to Time Square and other attractions, but away from the crazy traffic. We liked the fact that the hotel had colored lights at night so it was easy to find in the dark. The rooftop lounge was very comfortable and inviting. Other than everything being so expensive, the hotel was definitely worth it because of the location, excellent customer service, and cozy atmosphere. We would return again. Thank you all for a great, unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your rave experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

I am delighted to to know that you enjoyed the services that we provided and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your recognition of their efforts. Jacob and Brandon will be especially happy to read about your feedback.

It was a pleasure meeting with you and I hope to see you return to your "home away from home". We look forward to having you back.

Warmest Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a whistle stop visit to New York. FAb decor, room not as small as I thought, great bathroom design and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We appreciate your feedback.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC again, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Sanctuary while she was on business. The room was fabulous even if it was small, and the staff was out of this world. Jacob managed to book us dinners at restaurants that were so good we didn't want to leave, even if they were already full for the evening or don't normally take reservations. He nailed our style and taste with his pick of restaurants. Jose, Juan, Luis, Brenden, Jimmy were all so warm and personable in addition to being professional and doing their jobs well. I can honestly say I've never had more fun interacting with hotel staff. My only complaint was the slim pickings at breakfast (only one apple available in the fruit basket) and needing to ask for salt and pepper and napkins as there were none available. I definitely recommend Sanctuary. The central location is great, and the staff can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
The biggest compliment we can receive is when a guest writes a review entitled "Best hotel experience ever". Knowing that we were able to provide someone with such an experience, simple brings smiles to all our faces.

We will continue to work hard in providing our guests with a visit that is true to the Sanctuary name. Jimmy, Jose, Juan, Luis, and Brandon will be ecstatic to read your review.

We look forward to having you back with us for another stay in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.