We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay in Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay in Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed with my father in Sanctuary last week in double double. It's very nice to have front-view room so that we can enjoy viewing night street in a cozy room. The hotel is located just next to Times Square, which is very convenient to travel around mid-town in a day.

Friendly staff and trendy design was fantastic. Julio kindly helped secure my luggages until I came back from city tour. Also, Kevin was very nice to grab a cab and carefully move all my stuffs. In a tight schedule, I wish I could stay another night in Sanctuary. On my next trip I will definitely stay again and look forward to seeing a upcoming roof-top bar.

Room Tip: Prefer a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are happy to know that you and your father enjoyed your time with us.

It's great when guests of ours appreciate the service that the staff tries to provide and the trendy design that we create.

Julio and Kevin will be very delighted to read about your comments.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,364
    596
    119
    31
    10
See reviews for
322
996
80
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel from the outside, and nice reception and bar area so felt had found a gem. Well until I went into the room that had a frosted window as outside of it was a wall and large ledge which seemed to be pigeon heaven! Anyway a quick chat and was moved - great stuff

As for the concierge team they really made it. After a specific present for my wife and after 32 calls all was rectified - couldn't thank them more

So great hotel but a tarnished ending due to the "fixed fare" cab that the doorman forgot to mention until we were underway...and it was significantly more than a hailed cab had cost into the city....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were delightful, the decor stylish and atmospheric, the room charming and the location perfect. My only niggle was that the breakfast was a little basic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

We are always looking for ways to improve our breakfast options and we appreciate your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Rooms are well equipped and nice, though a bit small for my taste.
Very friendly and helpful staff, nice coffee bar, excellent location right off of times square, and between 2 metro stops. Rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for the review of us on tripadvisor.com.

We would love for you to come back and experience our deluxe rooms. With the additional space and upgraded amenities, I trust that you will enjoy the Sanctuary even more.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend. Friendly staff, clean updated room. A little pricy and a slim breakfast offering, but it is included in the room along with wifi.

Great location also! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about us on tripadvisor.

Most guests such as yourself, would agree that they find great value in our complimentary breakfast, wifi and access to Equinox gym. These are amenities that most hotels charge for. We appreciate feedback from all guests, and we utilize it as a tool to understand what we are doing right and what we can improve upon.

We hope that your next visit with us will be just as good.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland, maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. We felt very special and pampered, entering the oasis-like calm and dark from the tourist-bustle of Times Square. Staff were helpful and nice. Our room had some burned out lightbulbs and they changed at least some at our request while we were out.

The lobby, bar, and rooms are newly renovated and chic. We enjoyed the lounge music and the Marilyn Monroe movie playing in the bar. Our room (a standard queen) was small but elegant and well-designed, like a ship's cabin. I'd recommend they add a second mirror, though, perhaps over the desk. With the small vanity it was impossible for us two girls to get ready at the same time. We liked the bathroom area open to the room (pull across a curtain for privacy when showering) and the swanky glass-and-marble shower and vanity. The bed was very comfortable and the linens fine and crisp.

With the small, cozy room size, this would be great for a couple.

We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast, as well, which included mini bagels, croissants and pastry, cereals, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. I especially enjoyed the warm boiled eggs.

Unfortunately the TV was out because of construction, but they comped us one pay-per-view movie as compensation. The heating/cooling unit was quite loud and despite tinkering it turned on/off all night which was not terribly restful. Without it on, the room was too hot. But because the room is so small, it flipped back and forth quickly between heat/cool mode to keep at the desired temp. Not sure how that could be helped...

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay. Without spending a huge amount, we felt pampered and special. Thanks, Sanctuary!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel this month and the lobby is dark with constant throbbing music. The room was small with no storage. The hotel was clean, the desk staff were helpful, although not always knowledgeable. The bedding was comfortable. The view out of our room was of a fire escape and concrete wall. The hallways and stairs are dark, lit by strange red lights. The location was really good for seeing shows, Times Square and other sites in mid-town. We walked to the NBC studios and the MOMA. The breakfast was of good quality. The coffee they served was really good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'd like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel was not what you expected.. We have a very distinctive contemporary style . As you see from most of our reviews, our guests appreciate a cozy, warm, and clean atmosphere that we strive to create at the Sanctuary Hotel. We make every effort to present our visitors with a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city, creating a "home away from home" feel, with a touch of glamour. The goal with the design is to create a tranquil and warm environment that would be representative of the Sanctuary Hotel name (not to mention the genuine and attentive services provided by our staff).

I'm happy that you took the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and it seems from your review that you enjoyed your time with us overall.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

ot to mention our very kind and helpful staff. To some degree, it is hard to truly appreciate all the extras we offer with just a one night stay. Did you have the opportunity to join us for our complimentary evening wine and cheese reception or perhaps our signature continental breakfast? We wish the Casablanca could be the perfect choice for everyone but we know that many travelers have different needs and preferences; however, we do feel very strongly about authenticity and full disclosure so I am particularly concerned if you felt that the website was not representative of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.