We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Found.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 452 Hotels in New York City
indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sanctuary Found.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

When in NYC, I usually try to avoid the chaos of Times Square, but the Sanctuary Hotel provided an excellent respite from the holiday insanity just on the other side of its heavy wood double doors and down the red carpet! The location is enough off of the Square (1/2 block) that it was quiet inside and the foot/street traffic in front was not bad. As other reviewers note, it IS dark(ish) inside, but very comfortable, warm and inviting...especially on a winter weekend!!! I agree too....the staff was AMAZING....SO friendly and HAPPY! What a great thing to experience people who enjoy their jobs and are good at them!!! Kudos to Lenny (who hooked me up with the PERFECT cake for a friend's birthday!), Freddy (always there with a great smile and something funny to say), and Whitney (I think that's her name...sorry!!)...the super friendly, engaging bar manager!!! EVERYONE we encountered was great...and the Sanctuary is lucky to have them. The room was smallish, but was laid out so efficiently with drawers in the closets and on the bed end stand, 2 small closets, separate toilet room from sink.....it worked out great! The shower is IN the room with a drape around it...so don't go expecting a large tub bathroom...but again, it works great! Super clean....very attentive housekeeping staff. I'm not a huge breakfast person, but it was SO nice to have delish NY bialys, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, juice, coffee, etc at no extra charge!! Don't find THAT in NYC everyday! Thanks to everybody there for the great effort!! So nice to find in NYC!! Happy holidays!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    606
    122
    33
    10
See reviews for
330
1017
80
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My sister and I had an awesome time from Thomas helping us out of our cab when we got there to taking our bags to our room. The whole front desk was great Michael, Brandon, Hughes and especially Lenny I can't say enough about him. The breakfast was just right the girls that worked the breakfast were great, they got us hot water when we asked for it. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is in walking distance to everything Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall. I could go on and on about the hotel and staff but i will just leave it saying we will diffenitely go back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
It's a pleasure to hear that you and your sister had such a wonderful experience with us at the Sanctuary Hotel. The staff will be so happy to hear about your "awesome" comments. They really put forth great effort in the services that are provided for our guests.

Thank you for your review and we hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My husband and 9 year old daughter just returned from staying here. The entire staff was fantastic, polite and nice-probably the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. They even had cupcakes for my daughters birthday upon check-in! The rooms were up to par with most NYC sizes, and beautifully decorated. We were able to walk to all plays, shopping and Central Park. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
I am sincerely happy to hear that your husband and daughter enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback.

We hope that your next stay with us will be just as "PERFECT".

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Sanctuary Hotel is in a great location and the staff is friendly, but we had numerous small issues that left us feeling disappointed with our choice:

The first issue was missing items from our mini-bar on check-in. Fortunately, after noticing a Coke bottle top lying on the top of the mini-fridge and suspecting that something was amiss, I inventoried the items and found about 5 that were listed on the mini-bar menu but not present. I raised the issue with the front desk the next morning, yet the mini-bar was not restocked until a couple of days later. When the missing items showed up on my bill at checkout, I insisted that they be removed. Had I not been paying attention, I might have paid for items we did not eat or drink.

The second minor issue was a consistent lack of wash cloths, even though we brought the issue up to the front desk. We confirmed that we were supposed to have several in the room, but after having two brought up the first day, they were never replaced by the maid service on the following days.

Finally, upon checkout we were mistakenly given the bill of another guest who had stayed the exact dates we had over the Thanksgiving holiday, but had paid about 2/3 of the price that we had. That made it painfully obvious that we should not have booked our room directly with the hotel. Use a discount travel website.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Yes, the room was small, but clean & decorated nice & modern while still having an "old world" classy style. Every employee here is so happy & friendly. Everything we asked for, we got. Hugues is an amazingly friendly & easy person to talk to. He was on point about places to check out, suggestions on where to go, to even making reservations for us at a restaurant 20 minutes before we wanted to eat. We were greeted everytime we came & left & vincent was right there everytime we were on our way in & out to open our door! Only suggestions i have are 1. Coffee maker in the room or 24 hour coffee service in the dining room 2. Simple boiled or scrambled eggs for breakfast. I'm diabetic & couldn't eat just the breads & fruit or that would raise my blod sugar levels to high. The sanctuary is a sweet little place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We love it when guests take the time to give such wonderful feedback about their stay.

Hughes and Vincent will be excited to read your review about them and how much you enjoyed the services that were provided for you.

We will definitely consider the suggestions you made, as our goal is to always create a better guest experience for everyone.

Happy Holidays and we hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We joined our kids from Texas for the Thanksgiving holiday and found the Sanctuary to be in a perfect location. We walked to the theatre, shopping and many restaurants. The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. The room was small but very clean and quiet. Breakfast was just what we needed to start the day and the staff that kept breakfast going went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The front desk was always helpful and seemed to really car that we were there. We would return to the Sanctuary on our next NYC visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We are glad that you decided to stay with the Sanctuary Hotel to celebrate your thanksgiving. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your great comments.

We hope to have you back soon, so that you can experience even more.

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drama, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The first impression was a little strange because of the dark colours and the size of the room! there wasn't enough space for our luggage, but when we realized that they've managed to fit all the importants in such a small room we felt much better. A very clean hotel and not noisy (except the bell of the church) despite the excellent location for shopping and theaters just a few steps from Times Square! The staff very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was complimentary, so we found it good ( coffee, pastries, etc.). As all the other hotels in N.Y. expensive for what they offer, but we would stay again in Sanctyary if we travel in N.Y again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for posting a review of us on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to here that you enjoyed your experience with us. Might I suggest our Deluxe room category for your future stay. I believe the extra space will be more comfortable and what you would be looking for.

We hope to see you soon and hope that your next stay will be flawless.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 452 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;