We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect place to stay in NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
“What a perfect place to stay in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Sactuary Hotel last week while in NYC and loved it! It is 1/2 block from the half price ticket counter for Broadway shows. It was so easy getting around because of it's great location. Right across the street was FOX NEWS, wow, did this excite my husband! We had a fabulous time at the hotel bar with the bar manager Lynn and bartender Tiffany. Also, Lenny the concierge was more than eager to help us and VERY informative and friendly. There was always someone at the door to open it for us, nice touch. Although the deluxe king was small, it worked perfectly for us as we were only in the room to sleep & shower. The place is wonderful!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are always happy to hear when guests of the Sanctuary Hotel write about their wonderful experience.

The staff takes great pride in providing our guests with the highest quality of service possible. When guests such as yourself take the time to provide great feedback, it motivates us to think of ways to continually enhance the Sanctuary experience...making the impossible...possible.

We look forward to your next stay.

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    653
    137
    35
    13
See reviews for
357
1,146
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This boutique hotel was just fabulous!!. The staff was tremendously helpful and nice. The room was very clean. beds were comfy. The decor was beautiful. location was perfect, 1/2 block from Times Square. it was quite, our room was beside the elevator and i didnt hear as sound. I definitely will stay here again. the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because there needs to be another mirror. One mirror in the bathroom is not enough. and the last day we had no wash cloths. minor details, easy fix. would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience here and will address the suggestions that you pointed out with the appropriate departments. During your next stay, I would suggest our beautiful deluxe rooms. I trust that you will enjoy those even more.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Times Square, you can't go past this hotel. Location is fantastic close to Times Square, lovely breakfast to start your day, quiet rooms, very clean, staff super helpful and friendly, especially Jessica and Tom.....We stayed 6 days and would have loved to stay longer, the bed is so comfortable. Stay at this hotel...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about us on tripadvisor.com.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and many guests would agree that our beds provide great comfort. Jessica and Tom will be delighted to hear about your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a special trip to NYC with five other great friends -- three of us graduated from HS together 50 years ago!!! We highly recommend The Sanctuary. It's clean, pretty, quiet, nice breakfast bar, near everything (including the three theaters where we attended musicals each night of our visit) and a very safe feeling in the neighborhood. Manager Jeremy and his staff were exceptional....Angie, Lenny, Brandon, Julio, Bradley, Michael, Hugres.....hope I included all the names because they all added to our enjoyment. The Tennessee Southern Belles hope to return to The Sanctuary again. By the way, we saw "Sister Act," "Memphis," and "Jersey Boys." All were good but I've listed in order of our preference. Loved, loved, loved "Sister Act." Southern Belle J.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review about your stay.

It was great having you all here with us and I am very happy that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place for your 50 year reunion. The "Tennessee Southern Belles" brought get energy to our environment and great joy to the staff. It was a pleasure speaking to you all. The staff will all be very excited to hear about your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. We hope to see you soon.

Warmest Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Recently, this 50 year old couple stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel and although most of the other guests were young, hip and energetic in the bar area of the lobby, I was very impressed with the hotel's "no party" policy, it was a very quiet hotel and did not even hear the traffic noises of nearby Broadway. The hotel is very clean and in the perfect location.
My only complaint is the room also advertised an "in room safe"... well that safe was a portable box with a combination ~ that could be picked up and removed without any problem. I asked the safe be bolted to the shelf and they said they would consider the request but it never happened. Feeling uncomfortable with this set up, as a result, I had to carry all of our passports and considerable amount of cash around with me. Sorry to say, I felt safer having it with me on the streets than leaving it behind in a hotel room. With that said, I would still consider staying here a again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Thinking the nearby elevator was going to be noisy ~ it was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it continually helps us in improving the services we provide. Here at the Sanctuary Hotel, we take great pride in creating a memorable experience as well as a lasting impression.

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and want you to know that we will be addressing your concerns in regards to the in-room safes.

We would love to have you back again soon, so that we can provide you with a "perfect" stay.

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a gem. Great location. A few blocks from Times Square and you do not hear a thing once you enter the door. Red carpet entrance, 2 lobby bars, seating with fire places and an Asian motif. Friendly, helpful staff to make the stay even more enjoyable. Adorable room - king bed, 2 sink areas, safe. Clean, modern and just perfect. Continental breakfast comes with the room rate. Walking distance to every type of restaurant, the broadway and off-broadway districts. Nice to save on cab fares! Subway station 2 blocks away. Would highly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review of us on tripadvisor.com.

When guests state that we are a "gem", we take that as a great compliment. We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square and yet through our grand wooden doors is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed there with a friend for a spur of the moment fun trip to NYC. Picked the hotel over the internet, so we were a bit apprehensive. We were extremely pleased with our accommodations. Yes, the room was a bit small, but space was well used and it worked fine for us. And the rain shower was awesome! Location being 1 block from the "bleachers" on Times Square, it was safe walking at night for 2 women. The staff was absolutely the best! - friendly, personable, and always ready to help with whatever our needs. The Continental Breakfast was very nice. We could go down and get quick breakfast and be on our way. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express such wonderful comments about your stay.

All our guests agree and love the rain shower heads that we feature in our rooms. I'm excited to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. The staff puts forth great effort in providing our guests with the best service possible and it's nice to know when guest are happy about it.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.