We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in New York but darkest room I've ever stayed in.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #247 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location in New York but darkest room I've ever stayed in.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Park Central is a nice hotel located in a very strategic location but there were some aspects that would probably keep me from staying there again.

The main drawback was the lack of light anywhere in the room. A lot of times a hotel will try to reduce energy exposure (and expenses) by lowering wattage in the room, asking you to reuse towels, etc but at least give you decent light in the bathroom. My daughter and I had to literally use our phone lights to look for clothes in the dresser drawers, apply makeup in the bathroom, etc. It was laughable after awhile.

The air conditioner was set to the lowest setting but was tolerable at best. Our second night our sheets and pillows actually felt damp from the humidity in the room.

While the staff was very nice and efficient and housekeeping was very friendly, I don't think I would put myself through this experience again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    657
    249
    91
    67
See reviews for
488
491
80
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel is great. Walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, and Patsy's Restaurant is right around the corner (which I highly recommend). The atmosphere of the hotel is great. The lobby is beautiful, and the bar and lounge is very pretty. Our room was just what we needed and it was very clean. The bathroom was great, the lighting on the mirror was amazing. The shower was incredible and the tub was a decent size. Overall the room totally kept us comfortable and my Girlfriend and I loved it. The gentleman at the front desk, Emanuel, was a great help. We had a bit of a mix up with our room but he got right down to it and solved the problem in a professional manner. The way he went about the situation was how every worker should, informative and kind. He made our stay that much better. I totally recommend this hotel. Great prices, great area, and a great experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just an overnight stay...but absolutely no complaints. The room was spacious, staff was pleasant enough, and it was CLEAN. We were going to a performance at Carnegie Hall, so the location could not be beat.

Room Tip: Clean, clean, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't like to go negative on a hotel, especially when I loved staying at this one in the past, but I cannot recommend Park Central to anyone else for these three reasons.

First, every room had chairs that do not rock back and forth. Instead, they rock diagonal from the front left to the back right. I checked another room and the chair did the same thing. I then went to another floor and the chair did the exact same thing. Either the person who put them together put every single hotel room chair together wrong or they purchased them from a horrible vendor. This was painfully annoying.

Second, I booked this hotel through Hotwire, but when I arrived, they told me that I would have a MANDATORY extra $25 a night fee for WIFI and the fitness room. If fees would be mandatory, they should be included in the Hotwire price and not have someone be given a surprise fee when I arrived.

Third, NO late checkout. I asked for late checkout (maybe one hour), but was told that they do not offer late checkout. Now, this is not a requirement, but it's nice when hotels will give this. When it is not given, I think that TripAdvisor readers should know that they will not get late checkout at this hotel.

Staying at this hotel was not a disaster, but for the three reasons listed above (especially the horrible defective chairs in every room), I cannot recommend this hotel. Very sad, because I stayed here 16 years ago and loved it. I was so excited to come back, but left disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love staying at the Park Central every time we are in New York. The location in midtown next to Central Park is perfect for us. The contemporary rooms are well lit, spotless and well appointed. This time we had a gorgeous view of the Times Square ball in a corner room with three large windows.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel was refurbished 2-3 years ago the decor modern,and the room which was a superior ,so not he best,was more than adequate.the lifts were a problem ,lucky i was on the 6th floor walking down not a problem.
The thing in New York now is the RESORT TAX.You get quoted free internet,but its not this charge pays for it whether you use it or not .It covers phone calls and the business centre and wi fi and internet.
Free is no longer free.The charade differs in all hotels.my charge was 100 us for 4 days
so beware of hidden charges booking sites don't tell you
The hotel though i would recommend

Room Tip: no they all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent one night at the Park Central New York in a Classic King room. We were impressed with how friendly the bellman and front desk lady were. The room was very clean, comfortable and a good size for NYC hotel room. The lobby is beautiful and a great place to have a drink. I definitely would stay at the Park Central New York again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.