We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded and updated older hotel with a convenient location near everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #243 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Upgraded and updated older hotel with a convenient location near everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed our 2 night Sunday/Monday stay in the very large hotel which is literally convenient to everything. We never even took a taxi, walking to the Metropolitan Museum(a bit far), Times Square and other attractions.
Room was very clean and decorated in a very modern style.
Even though the hotel is huge, never really a wait for an elevator.
Hint would be to book Friday, Saturday and Sunday for more reasonable pricing.
NYC hotels have gotten very outrageous in their pricing. We found a Groupon for this hotel and also had to pay a $ 25/night facility charge in addition.

Room Tip: If given the option, take the handicapped king over two queens, we got a very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    633
    241
    85
    65
See reviews for
474
471
77
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful Hotel and so central to our visit to Manhattan. Everyone was so accommodating and polite during our stay. Our room was perfect and the beds were amazing.
The only minor shortcoming was the closet sized elevator that made some weird noises while riding it; glad it made each trip safely.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel for its good rates and we wanted two Queen beds. They were small queen beds but better than doubles! The hotel was nice and clean, good location for midtown. Walk to Central Park, Times Square, 5th Ave shops, Rockefeller, Radio city etc. The only downside was the small room, I know NY hotels have tiny rooms but with the Deluxe Queen I expected a little more wiggle room. No view at this hotel. Pretty good proximity to subway lines. It was great and fit our needs, will probably explore somewhere else next time.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spend a great week at Park Central. The location, right next to Central Park and a walking distance from Times Square is ideal. The staff made every effort to make our stay pleasant. We were unhappy with our initial room (I am very sensitive to noise) and Elizabeth, the client relation manager not only moved us to a higher floor but continues to follow up with us every day to make sure we were happy with every aspect of the hotel. She was truly incredible!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gadi t,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows us that your escape with us was a memorable one; your feedback gives us a chance to celebrate our team members, and we will not neglect to put Elizabeth in the spotlight! We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We ask in the front desk to move from the hotel for a personal situation after check in our. We explain the situation asking for a penalty and the manager told us that was imposible to return us our money If we move... Incredible bad !!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel location is only a couple steps away from N/R Subway, close to Central Park, easy walk to theaters and restaurants and many other attractions. Possibly as good a location as one could ask for when visiting NYC. The rooms are modern and clean, as is the entire hotel. The price is reasonable considering how pricey most rooms are in NYC. The added taxes are significant but that's not the fault of the hotel. Some members of the staff stood out as exceptionally good while others less so. The doorman who hails cabs is terrific. Just the sort of personality one would like as a tourist needing a little help with transportation. The front desk at check-in and check-out times was understaffed with less than cordial people. They were no nicer even at off-peak times. The woman who fills the spot as concierge leaves a lot to be desired, too. She seems to go through the motions of doing the least she can get by with. I realize the Park Central isn't the Waldorf and you get what you pay for, but the concierge should be more accessible and friendly. If I managed the hotel she'd be looking for a job elsewhere. Then there is the problem with elevators. Although there are banks of 4, seems like only one runs at a time. On the lower floors one does better to use the stairs than wait for an elevator coming from the higher floors and by now so crowded that one needs to wait for the next car to show up only to see the same scene of people packed like sardines. It isn't just an issue on one day when there might have been a problem, it was like that all week. Despite the drawbacks which are really minor irritations rather than show stoppers, I will stay at Park Central again on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in upper Manhattan, between times sq and central park. The hotel went through a refit 2 years ago and is looking fresh & new.

The rooms are modern with bath and shower, plenty of drawer space and hanging space. There is an iron and board in the cupboard, which is nice for refreshing cloths before you go out.

My only criticisms of the room is the lag of space between bed and drawer unit (end of the bed wall), this is just wide enough for 1 person to walk through meaning a few times if there is 2 of you moving about getting ready one of you ends up walking backwards or jumping over the bed, not Ideal. The other moan is the air conditioning unit is old and noisy, and didn't seem to cool the room down enough.

Check in was easy enough, and check out was automatic if you weren't querying the bill, which is popped under your door the morning of your departure. ours was fine and we just dropped the key card in the box, simple. The concierge checked out bags on the last day due to a late flight so we could do out and even arrange a black car for travel to JFK, which was only $5 more than a taxi and far more comfortable.

The small in reception carries a nice supply of bakery, fruit and drinks and is open early until 10pm, the staff were friendly, and prices weren't over priced. The hotel had free wifi for all guests which was fast enough for facetiming the kids in the UK.

The reservations team and I must mention Annette were lovely to deal with. They ran a deal for 4 nights or more giving 40% discount. I asked if they could do that deal for 3 nights as our flights had already been booked, and they happily agreed, booked it all in and i had free cancellation until 24hrs before with no deposit. This to me show good customer care without demanding deposits etc, which is great since we were coming from the UK and get charged for foreign transactions.

In all you shouldn't be disappointed with this hotel, the staff and venue is perfect for couple/business, etc There is a Gym, but we didn't use it.

I would like to express our gratitude to the hotel for the card, balloons and chocolates that they put in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. It's the little things like this that put smiles on your faces.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.