We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast Package
Ranked #239 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“location,location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

room was nicely appointed and new showers in a good sized bathroom. Comfortable and good bed. The location is excellent. Great eats and sights within walking distance. Go for a bike ride in Central Park. The only drawbacks I have is the lack of complimentary conveniences. Like coffee in am, or coffee in room. And no vending machines on floors. Just ice.

Room Tip: I saw some reviews complaining about noise or near elevator. Our room was just couple of doors down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    610
    228
    79
    60
See reviews for
458
443
76
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter (14), mother and I stayed at Park Central for our first Mother-Daugther vacation to NYC. Hotel lobby was beautiful and inviting, and the room was very nice and accomodating The location was the best of all- 1 block from Central Park and just a 10 minute stroll to Time Square,Broadway,Shopping and awesome restaurants. We certainly felt like we were in the heart of the city--
My daughter enjoyed us going to nearby diners latenight for dessert and we certainly felt safe.
The Staff was amazing too, extremely nice and helpful! I would definitely recommend this property and look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautifully redone property in a great location. Just spent one week there in a 9th floor room overlooking 55th St and heard nothing from inside or outside the hotel. Loved the high ceilings, comfortable space and modern décor, especially taupey-grey colors. Art selection was very attractive too and the lighted picture was a nice touch. Reno must have included plumbing because the whole bathroom functioned extremely well and shone.

However, as nice as this hotel is, service is not its strong suit. Although there are quite a few uniformed men at the door and in the lobby, not once was the door opened or held for me, luggage or not. Yesterday I stood under the hotel canopy for a full ten minutes while waiting for a shuttle pickup before one of the two men there asked why I was there.

The outside window displays a sign offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner but no such thing was happening there this week and the beautiful bar lounge was pretty much deserted most evenings. The "Central Market" is tiny with very limited offerings and hours. If you want coffee or a snack after 10pm you will have to go out on the street. No vending machines or in-room coffee pots. The tap water is probably hot enough to make instant coffee or brew a cup of tea but you'd have to plan that in advance. When the market is open, expect to pay $3+ for coffee and $5+ for a can of Bud Lite. Except for the WiFi and safe, I don't know what the daily $27.21 "resort fee" bought me but this is NY after all.

Housekeepers are friendly but their work is spotty. I don't need service every day and often refuse it but when it happens I expect changed pillowcases to be removed and the ice bucket to be emptied. Nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay at Park Central and would definitely return and recommend it. I've stayed in many West-side NYC hotels over the years and this one is now a favorite.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was great it was located near the theatres, Central Park, Time Square and 5th Avenue. The rooms were clean and the hotel was beautiful. The staff was very pleasant and most of all the price was much more reasonable then any other hotel in the area and just as good. We would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when returning to New York City.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better as there is street noise on the 7th floor but it was not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I made a reservation through my points from my American Express Platinum card and the attention that I received was not the same, that if I had paid directly to the hotel . I got a room with defects and bad location very noise, close to the elevador.
Definitely, in the future, I will not repeat this hotel

Room Tip: not accept a room next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Park Central is in the perfect location...just blocks away from Central Park, Broadway, Rockefeller Center and Carnegie Hall. There are many excellent restaurants in the area.

The hotel is fine. They have recently updated all the rooms with new showers, bedding,etc. The bathrooms are very small but adequate for showering, etc. Internet was painfully slow. Bed was comfortable. Lobby bar was convenient.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our Mother/Daughter weekend was enhanced by our perfect room with plenty of space for four grown ladies and a large bath (by NYC standards)...and after a day of walking and dinners out we slept like queens on the perfect beds and the sounds of the city were drowned out by the fan we controlled next to the window-blissful nights of sleep!!!

Room Tip: Don't worry about a view-though we had one on the north side of the hotel;))
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.