We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice of hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent choice of hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose this hotel as it was exactly where we need. On arrival we were upgraded to 2 double rooms. We came out of the hotel and if we went left we went to Central Park, right was down to Times to Square. The rooms and beds comfortable, just what you need after a full day on the go. The rooms could perhaps do with a little freshening up, we weren't in there for any length of time, it was just a base to sleep and shower. The bar was good with reasonable prices for drinks and what you would expect to pay in New York. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. The staff were helpful and friendly, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    554
    208
    73
    55
See reviews for
422
400
64
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel. Centrally located. Rooms were spotlessly cleaned. Maritza did a great job! Sadly we only had two days to explore the city, but the staff was great. Will definitely return - the bar is also a great place to watch sports!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I keep returning as the hotel is great - i like the modern refurbished rooms. In particular the bar team - John and Nancy - are fantastic and very welcoming. It is just a shame the bar doesn't offer food.

Here are some tips:

1. There is no restaurant. Dont expect bar food or a warm breakfast. There is a shop that sells pastries and drinks. But there are so many places nearby it wasn't an issue for me.

2. The hotel charges a mandatory $25 service fee on top of thr room rate for internet per day.

3. You can often get a cheaper rate if you book on a cell phone - I found it to be $50/night cheaper at one time. If you almost book and then cancel, you may get an email the next day with a 10% discount code.

4. If you use their "fixed rate" airport taxi service make sure you agree the rate with the driver not the concierge. I found the concierge offers a fixed price $50) which it turns out is about $20 less than what the driver asks for.

Despite a few flaws I really like this hotel and will be back.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room had an odd odor, musty kind of smell. The room was small. If you are doing one night and by yourself, it is a good place. If you are taking your family to see NYC and spend a few days, well, pick another hotel. As mentioned with other reviewers the $25 fee they charge seems to be a bit of a scam. I almost didn't get the room because of this but they still were cheaper then other hotels.
The front desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nicely decorated, smart hotel. Very close to central park, Broadway and nice restaurants. Staff are very nice and helpful.
Bathroom could have been cleaner, found an old hair tie on shelf and marks on tiles. Bedding could have been more luxurious, it was rather thin considering the outside temperature!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the 3rd time I have been to this hotel within a year, the reason for this is, the room's comfort the hotel location, the employees just like the first 2 time all very friendly and happy to help.

I have already recommended this hotel to another two friends that have also already booked!

But what I would really like to point out is the outstanding work of Mrs.Cacovic. Very friendly, helpful and also very professional even in hard situations . Why? before I left Germany, I had to ordered some things and she made it possible for the items to be therefore the start of my stay, even with the problems that occurred with the sending were professionally organized by her. again very professional and helpful always with a smile.
The hotel is lucky to have an employee like her.

Ralf.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, the pros: everyone was friendly and when we needed the drain in our bathtub fixed, the engineer was quick and obliging. The concierge and desk personnel were also helpful and courteous. A Mr. Quinby was very helpful in straightening out a problem we had with housekeeping (more on this below). Finally, the location was excellent.

The cons (and the reasons why, on balance, I doubt we’ll stay here again): A minor irritant was the lack of a coffee maker and microwave. I’ve stayed at number of hotels, both cheap and expensive. The Park Central was the first that did not provide a small coffee maker and microwave for the convenience of guests. There was also no refrigerator. These three items would have gone a long way to making our stay more convenient and, considering the rate the Park Central charges, patrons have every right to expect them.

A greater nuisance, however, were the problems with housekeeping. On the second day of our stay, the person cleaning the room threw out our daughter’s retainer. It will be expensive to replace. On two evenings, we came home exhausted after miles of walking the museums and streets of Manhattan to a room that had not been given even a superficial sprucing-up: garbage pails were unemptied, beds unmade, and the same damp towels and face cloths were in a pile where we had left them for the attendant. The first time it happened, it took housekeeping two hours to send someone to do the job, which they did only after Mr. Quinby took the matter in his own hands. By the time the woman arrived, however, my exasperated wife had already made the beds: we settled for new towels and plastic cups. To his credit, Mr. Quinby reduced our facility fee by about half in compensation. When the same thing happened the following day, housekeeping sent someone to clean the room within ten minutes after my call. It is worth noting that in neither case had I left the “Do not disturb” sign on the door: there was no reason why the room should not have been cleaned.

My theory is that the hotel does not have enough people on their housecleaning staff. As a result, they are overstretched and if they can’t get to a room on their schedule (on one day, a woman looked in our room at 9:00 am to see if we had vacated) then they may not get to it at all. Whatever the reason, however, the hotel needs to address this basic expectation of its patrons.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.