We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #219 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed four nights at the Park Central from 19/12 to 23/12. The hotel is located in midtown in one of the best possible areas, between Central Park and Times Square (slightly closer to the park). Times Square is 5 mins walk away and the Rockerfeller is 6/7 mins away. 59th street Subway is right below the hotel and there are lovely Deli's nearby, I recommend Fluffy's opposite, cheap but great quality.

The rooms are lovely and quite spacious for a NY hotel, flat screen t.vs and a HUGE bed that we got lost in. We had a "Times Square" room view and we could just see the top of some of the advertising boards. We were given a room on the 14th floor but we could still hear cabs/police cars through the night, this was not that much of an issue as we were tired and had no issues sleeping.

I would love to stay here again for longer and make use of their bar and restaurant. Check out was painless and took all of 30 seconds and they sorted out a cab ride for me back to JFK.

Room Tip: Request high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    440
    158
    61
    42
See reviews for
322
311
45
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I needed a centrally located hotel for one night and the Park Central fitted the bill. The hotel was renovated recently and my room was a decent size and nicely appointed. Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was impeccably clean, the bed comfortable. By New York standards, the price was reasonable. A slight irritation was when I asked the concierge desk if I could delay check out from midday to 1.00 pm, so as to repackage my last minute shopping before heading to the airport. A kindly lady said, yes, no problem but she was overheard by a "helpful" supervisor who said that there would be no difficulty with a late checkout but I would have to pay half a day's charge. Thanks, but no thanks!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear John D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and newly renovated décor.

I appreciate you sharing your experience in regards to a late check-out. A late check-out is based upon availability and unfortunately due to high occupancy we are not always able to accommodate. However, if this was promised to you by one of our Team Members, we certainly should have honored your request. I will be addressing this with our Front Office Management Team.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a couple of nites here on a business trip and got a great rate through the party we were visiting ($159/nite) though it looks less good when the $25/nite "facilities fee' is added. This hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are large though the design could be improved to add space to the very small bathrooms. The room has a very small desk area that makes working difficult. Not enough outlets and a strange lamp that can only be turned off by unplugging.

The hotel has a trendy feel to it and there is a very nice restaurant and bar in the lobby with a very large TV showing NYC scenes. The bar also has two tables with outlets set up to work on a laptop. Nice feature.

Breakfast in the restaurant was just OK. The bar itself has a good selection but beware if you like beer, the bars tap lines were very obviously not kept clean and were contaminated giving the beer a funky off flavor. Hopefully they will fix this.

A significant downside of this hotel in my opinion is the thumping bass music that is played just outside the lobby doors (think Virgin America check in desks). They are trying to create a trendy feel but to me it came across as annoying.

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear steveprez,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated décor.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you experienced during your stay. I am very sorry to learn that we did not meet your business needs. I am especially disheartened to hear of your experience in our bar, and this is being investigated by our Director of Food and Beverage. All of your valuable feedback has been shared with our Management Team, so that we can address each of our shortcomings.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am actually fine with this hotel, except for one thing. I got the reservation off the discount web-site, Hotels Tonight. I paid around $200, plus an additional facilities fee at the hotel. So this is a bargain for Manhattan, and it is very conveniently located close to Columbus Circle.

This place is huge. It occupies an entire city block, and the rooms are on both sides of a corridor, around a central courtyard. I was in a room on the 7th floor. I have a feeling that this is the floor where they put their budget travelers, because there was a big party going on down the hall and it reeked of marijuana in the morning.

I was in a room with a window looking out on the inside courtyard. Because the hotel goes many, many stories above the 7th floor, it is very dark at this level - and this is the weird thing. The rooms are very dark, and they only have one of the REALLY heavy window shades that block out all of the light. There is no light weight privacy drape that allows light through. So if you open the heavy shade in order to get a little light, then you can see right into the rooms across the courtyard. In the morning I had to work in my room, and to get light I opened the shade. I could see right into the rooms at my level and below me - I counted 13 beds I was looking at, including some fellow walking around in his underwear. So take you pick - live in a cave, or be a peeping Tom!

Otherwise the place is a good value for Manhattan. The beds are comfortable, the room is small but adequate, and the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again, but I would ask for an external room, rather than on the interior courtyard!

Room Tip: Well the interior courtyard rooms were dark and lack privacy, so next time I will ask for an exterio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Joshhoytchicago,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and helpful Team Members.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We are a completely nonsmoking hotel, and it is extremely troubling to learn of the odor on your floor. We offer multiple room types and room locations; our classic room types face the courtyard and our premier room types are all exterior facing. Unfortunately, HotelTonight does not guarantee specific rooms types and these rooms are assigned based upon availability. If you reserve directly with us you can confirm your desired room type. I am very sorry that we did not provide adequate lighting and a comfortable stay for you.

Thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel. Stayed here previously and was great but the update in the decor is brilliant. Everything looks wow, loved the rooms, bathroom was fab and the reception and bar area amazing. Great location, close to a lot of the attractions and right next to central park.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear esf44,

Thank you for your loyalty. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our brilliant décor and central location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to Park Central soon!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Elizabeth helped us like she was our personal assistant. I would recommend this hotel to my best friends and closest business associates!!! Everything was clean and efficient and the gym is open 24 hours which is great for my schedule!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Angi G,

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am thrilled to hear of the excellent service you received from Elizabeth, our dedicated Guest Relations Manager! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only hotel we stay during our visit of NYC. Great location, professional approach, cozy environment, much more beautifull after renovation, comfortable bedding, amazing city view available on higher floor. I would like to say thank you to front desk staff, specialy to Elizabeth Cacovic for helpfulness, knowledge and friendliness during our stay in PC hotel. Thank you Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Ask for room with city view in higher floors - less noise, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows us that your escape with us was a memorable one; your feedback gives us a chance to celebrate our team members, and we will not neglect to put Elizabeth in the spotlight for providing you with excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.