We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your pick: cave dwelling or peeping toms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #221 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Take your pick: cave dwelling or peeping toms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am actually fine with this hotel, except for one thing. I got the reservation off the discount web-site, Hotels Tonight. I paid around $200, plus an additional facilities fee at the hotel. So this is a bargain for Manhattan, and it is very conveniently located close to Columbus Circle.

This place is huge. It occupies an entire city block, and the rooms are on both sides of a corridor, around a central courtyard. I was in a room on the 7th floor. I have a feeling that this is the floor where they put their budget travelers, because there was a big party going on down the hall and it reeked of marijuana in the morning.

I was in a room with a window looking out on the inside courtyard. Because the hotel goes many, many stories above the 7th floor, it is very dark at this level - and this is the weird thing. The rooms are very dark, and they only have one of the REALLY heavy window shades that block out all of the light. There is no light weight privacy drape that allows light through. So if you open the heavy shade in order to get a little light, then you can see right into the rooms across the courtyard. In the morning I had to work in my room, and to get light I opened the shade. I could see right into the rooms at my level and below me - I counted 13 beds I was looking at, including some fellow walking around in his underwear. So take you pick - live in a cave, or be a peeping Tom!

Otherwise the place is a good value for Manhattan. The beds are comfortable, the room is small but adequate, and the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again, but I would ask for an external room, rather than on the interior courtyard!

Room Tip: Well the interior courtyard rooms were dark and lack privacy, so next time I will ask for an exterio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    438
    156
    61
    42
See reviews for
321
308
43
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wonderful hotel. Stayed here previously and was great but the update in the decor is brilliant. Everything looks wow, loved the rooms, bathroom was fab and the reception and bar area amazing. Great location, close to a lot of the attractions and right next to central park.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Elizabeth helped us like she was our personal assistant. I would recommend this hotel to my best friends and closest business associates!!! Everything was clean and efficient and the gym is open 24 hours which is great for my schedule!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only hotel we stay during our visit of NYC. Great location, professional approach, cozy environment, much more beautifull after renovation, comfortable bedding, amazing city view available on higher floor. I would like to say thank you to front desk staff, specialy to Elizabeth Cacovic for helpfulness, knowledge and friendliness during our stay in PC hotel. Thank you Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Ask for room with city view in higher floors - less noise, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel three times now, the last being about 8 years ago and we were delighted to see the improvements that have been made to the hotel specifically the foyer, lounge and bar area. The standard bedrooms are absolutely fine and offer everything you need for a short stay, nicely and thoughtfully decorated. The addition of a small coffee shop/food market in the lobby is extremely useful and welcome after a day sight-seeing.

One minor grumble is that it was difficult to adjust the thermostat in the bedroom to a satisfactory temperature, much too warm most of the time.

All the staff we came into contact with were lovely and very friendly - with the exception of one high-handed lady on reception when we arrived.

The location, just south of Central Park, couldn't better for exploring the City.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful stay. the hotel was truly amazing, clean, newly decorated, the shower was particularly good. The maid service was excellent, front desk were most helpful altogether a terrific experience. I will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, since it was one of the less expensive hotels I had viewed online. It was extremely clean and everything looked new. The room was spacious, with comfortable bedding and a huge TV. My $16.00 breakfast entrée was excellent, and deserved an A+ for presentation. The location is central for shopping and the museums, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Business Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.