We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Because of the number of tourists and large parties, you may not think of this hotel as a place to stay for business, yet I have chosen this hotel for years. Well, except for when they were undergoing renovations when it was a horrible mess. It's all finished and very nice. The restaurant is very good and great for meeting clients for breakfast or just a meeting. There are terrific restaurants across the street that are suitable for business dinners. Yup, the place is very busy but inside the room the noise level is fine. It's centrally located with entertainment options within walking distance. And, the price is usually very reasonable for NYC. Desk help service seems to be much improved.

Caveats: Very busy with lots of tourists and teenagers. Unless you are on a high floor, it is noisy but this is NYC. All hotel rooms in the City are noisy with screeching sirens, car honks and construction. The rooms may seem small to out-of-towners but they are large by NYC standards.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher than the 10th floor if you are noise sensitive. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    351
    121
    53
    36
See reviews for
262
255
34
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a perfect mid-town choice. A very short walk to Centeral Park, MOMA, Columbus Circle, Broadway, amazing resturants and so much more. GREAT LOCATION for lots of dicovery but not in the middle of the madness of Time Square ( we got to see it from our room!) . Nice bar and resturant ,very comfortable beds,spacious rooms modern on the inside-old school New York on the outside with friendly helpful staff. I Highly recommend it for a NYC visit.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Times Square ( 9 blockes away) so you feltlike a part of it but away from all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled from the UK for 5 nights at this hotel. First impressions were good, really nice looking hotel with really nice staff. We stayed in a double king bedroom which was a perfect size for us. We absolutely loved the decor and I wouldn't say the room was small either, about the same size as what you would expect from a Premier Inn in the UK. Bathroom was nice, huge flat screen TV and huge bed!!

The only downside I can think of is the noise from the elevator shaft, but a set of earplugs sorted that problem. We will hopefully visit NYC again soon and will be checking in here again without a doubt.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took the red eye to NYC. Landed at 9 am, hotel allowed check in and I was so thankful. Allowed for a nap before hitting the concrete jungle. Close to everything. Walked through Central Park every AM. Stopped at Tisserie right outside for a quiche and the best coffee. The bar was nice to sit and have a drink at. Room was large, and very clean (heard sirens all night but thats NY I guess). Held our bags and scheduled a town car for departure. I would easily stay here again. The price and experience matched perfectly. The staff was so friendly! I didnt expect that in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at 11.30 in the night having flown from Heathrow and the receptionist was very helpful. We had read that fridges could be provided if asked for, which we did because we needed to keep medication in it. It was brought to the room within 10 minutes of settling in. The rooms are freshly decorated in modern greys and blacks. We knew that there would be a resort charge for services that we would not use but the total room rate was still comparable with similar hotels in convenient positions. The fees include the internet which was problematic. We could access a weak intermittent signal if we sat on the floor behind the door of our room. Reception confirmed that there is a problem which seems ludicrous in the middle of New York for something that you have no option but to pay for in a resort fee.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was very unhappy with this hotel yes it's centrally located yes it was clean and the bedding was good but there was no room service
And the rooms were small in addition to that we had to go all the way down to the main floor across the lobby up the elevators pick up our eyes go back down to the main floor across the lobby and back up to 7 to keep our eyes in a bucket there were no refrigerators either we had to fully dress or drink there was a little store downstairs but it wasn't open 24 hours so we literally had to walk blocks we wanted to get something off hours I would never stay there again never

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my first stay at the Park Central Hotel but it won’t be my last.

My guest and I chose it for the convenient location: just far enough away from Time Square and Midtown congestion to feel unburdened by tourist crowds but right around the corner from several of my appointments, very near several Subway stations, and only a five-minute walk to Central Park.

This is a very attractive property—they recently invested $70 million in a renovation—with food and beverage that is unusually good for hotels without named restaurants attached to them. My room was very nice as well and the rate very reasonable, but the hallmark of the Park Central’s great value is in their extraordinary service.

Every member of this team—from the beginning of the stay until the end—was courteous, warm, and professional; and unlike so many hotels in the area, each of them appear to really enjoy what they do. Salim (sp?) at the Front Desk Nick was particularly gracious and attentive and we were impressed by the excellent service of Nick at the front door, Jordan in baggage check, and several members of the hotel bar.

I was especially grateful for Guest Relations Manager Elizabeth C., who worked with Salim to resolve a minor issue with our originally assigned room right away and who checked in with me personally throughout our stay, offering her assistance several times, to ensure my guest's and my expectations were being met. Both he and I remarked several times that our expectations weren’t merely being met, they often were exceeded.

We were initially booked for only one night at the Park Central. Because of this experience and the attentive service, we extended it to four.

Great value here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Amex, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.