We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic fail of a preview visit (march 2014) so dissappointed of the front desk staff. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Epic fail of a preview visit (march 2014) so dissappointed of the front desk staff. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Last march i stayes here and i even gave an excellent review of this hotel, dont get me wrong, the accomodations are good, but the way that the front desk work is awful, 2 of the ladies look so mad and are rude with the client, dont know with the others but to me, they should know that they dont own the hotel and arent doing to me any favor, first they told that my room will be ready at 13:00 so i went to spent time so i came back so wet cause its raining and with a bad attitude they told me that they never said that, that they guaranted thw room at 16:00. I am not even start my atay here and i am having a bad bad tine.... Probably im nor going tocone back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    344
    118
    51
    36
See reviews for
260
247
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

1. $50 per person per day "resort fee" for nothing. WiFi and health club should be complimentary to begin with.

2. 2 towels. Are you kidding me?

3. Shampoo and conditioner on the wall are difficult to dispense and low quality.

4. No other amenities in bath other than lotion.

5. No vanity mirror.

6. A/C is noisy and non-adjustable.

7. Three kids were running all over the hotel in socks all day unsupervised.

8. Internet service was weak.

For $500 a night, there has to be a hotel with nice facilities AND a great location.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Park Central for 6 nights. All staff were very helpful & friendly. Upon arrival we asked that our room be changed because we had a wheel chair. This change was made promptly. If you have a motorized chair or scooter, you may encounter some accessibility challenges because of the ledge entering the bathroom and the very small elevators. The room was quiet and bed comfortable. The location was exceptional. Two short blocks to Central Park, numerous good restaurants and deli's close by (we recommend Carnegies Deli for breakfast or lunch and Trattoria Del Arte for dinner). The staff assisted with hailing taxi's and there are 3 computers in the lobby to print out your boarding pass. Coffee was not provided in the room but could be purchased in the lobby in a small take-out café that also had wonderful fresh baked goods, snacks and beer/wine. Several subways close by and walking distance to Times Square, the Theater district, 5th Avenue shopping, etc.

Room Tip: There is a fitness room on the 3rd floor and also rooms for wheelchair accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location, gorgeous hotel, a very nice aroma always in the lobby
I would recommend this for a good location however I found the staff (except cleaners ) to be like robots with no emotions and it was like they are all programmed to say what they say and cut in over u if u ask a question and just pass u on to the next person
The bathroom door hits off the toilet, there is just very basic toiletries
Overall it's perfect for location but I expected the staff to be a little politer than they were, it certainly put us on a downer if we needed anything or advice so in the end we just asked the cleaners everything

Room Tip: Stay above the 10th floor to avoid all the noise on the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It’s our third time traveling to New York City. Upon arrival, we checked in at the “Park Hotel Central” on 7th Avenue. Immediately we felt that this hotel was the perfect place to be. All the personnel accomplished our desires. We had an issue regarding our room: We booked a 2-bed room, since our son, studying medicine in New York City, astonished us, we had to move to a 3-bed room. To solve this issue, I started to talk to the “angel” of our hotel. A young and encouraged women helped us out right away without any delays and we found our divine room with a sight directly on the 7th avenue and the skyline of this breathtaking city. After everything was clarified, we found out that this kind and supportive person was the “guest relation manager” of the Park Central Hotel. Her name is Elizabeth Cacovic, she is not only working professionally, but helpful and has a positive spirit with exorbitant humanity. Thank you for this beautiful time in New York City and the support by Elizabeth Cacovic, we’ll definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Summary: Expensive sweater went missing from the room; spotty internet; dirty linens in the halls; understaffed room personnel; unresponsive management; cleaning staff seemed to not have lists of room occupancies and communication with management,,were loud; technical difficulties to use amenities (internet, phone, desk lamp); managements constant reply: well, you could have called us about it.
The management seemed to think it was up to me to point out these shortcomings and then get behind getting them fixed rather then having them attended to in general, without complaint. Calling and getting assistance was a let me transfer you bonanza.
All that at $ 500 per night supposedly including the 5 night $ 40 discount?
Me thinks not.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights on October 14, 15 and 16, 2014. Our stay at the Park Central Hotel in NYC was, overall, a very good experience. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance of Time Square, Lincoln Centre and Central Park (south). We also walked from the hotel to Bloomingdales and Barneys. Lots of restaurants, stores etc. right outside the hotel door on 7th Avenue and there is a Starbucks right in the hotel with access from the street which was AMAZING for morning coffee!! This hotel is also right across the street from Carnegie Hall.

When we arrived in NYC by train (Penn Station) the weather was beautiful (75 degrees and sunny). We walked from Penn Station (around 34th street) up to our hotel with our wheel-able luggage. This took approximately 20 minutes. We did the same on the return to Penn Station after the trip. Good saving on taxis!

We had a room with a King size bed. The hotel has recently been renovated and the renovations are quite nice. The hotel room was smaller in actuality than what the picture on the hotel's website depicts (trick photography?) although the space was large enough to move around in and there was ample room for luggage storage, etc. The window in the room faces an inner "courtyard" of the hotel and many rooms face this inner courtyard. Therefore, you have to keep the blind drawn on your window or you are completely visible to all other rooms within this courtyard (as they are to you as well!!). That being said, our "inner" room was probably much quieter than a room facing 7th Avenue and we weren't too concerned about a view from the window as we spent little time in the room. Wide screen T.V. was great, bed comfortable and all amenities in the room were good except we prefer wrapped plastic cups to real glassware, which was provided, as you are never quite sure how or when these glasses are washed/handled. The only real complaint was that the water pressure on the shower was really not great, although it was adequate enough to take a shower. There were no complimentary shampoos/conditioners but rather dispenser bottles that were "locked" to the shower wall (why would anyone really want to steal these items?). You had to pump many times to get enough shampoo out of the bottle, but once again, the end result was adequate for our purposes.

The hotel charges a Facility Fee of $20 per night for luggage storage upon departure and WiFi as well as "private changing facilities" in the lobby. We didn't take advantage of any of these things so this was an additional cost that the hotel does not waive even if you don't use the services.

Check in and out was really fast and efficient. Check in is not until 4:00 p.m. but we did check in as soon as we arrived at approximately 2:00 p.m. and it was really straightforward and professional. We did an express check-out wherein you simply drop your room keys into a drop box as long as you have no outstanding charges on your room account.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again simply because the location is really fantastic. We didn't take any taxis and walked to most places we wanted to see in the downtown or mid-town areas. You would have to take a taxi to Greenwich Village or the East Village, Soho, etc. if you wanted to visit these places, though we are saving these jaunts for our next trip!

A good hotel with a fantastic location. A bit pricy (but this is NYC) and we saved money on taxis because of the fantastic location!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BLav,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, comfortable guest rooms, and experienced a seamless arrival and departure. We are conveniently located within walking distances of all of Midtown Manhattan Attractions, and I am so happy that you were able to take advantage of our location during your stay.

I appreciate you highlighting the details of your guest room. Our classic room types face our courtyard; the positioning of these rooms do provide for a quieter stay away from street noise. Thank you for your feedback regarding the water pressure and our bathroom amenities. Our guest rooms are equipped with refillable bath amenity bottles and LED energy efficient light sources to contribute to a green environment. I am very sorry to learn of the weak water pressure and the inoperable shower dispenser. We will address both of these issues.

I want to thank you for all of your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Amex, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.