We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Save Saved
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 452 hotels in New York City
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel , easy checking and checkout , clean rooms , great central location to walk to Central Park and time square or get on a train , close to all shops and restaurants . The only thing I wasn't happy with is I would have loved to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room .

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view for our window looked into middle of hotel inside square so privacy was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    283
    93
    37
    28
See reviews for
212
186
30
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel doesn't have any advantages despite its location and even the neighborhood is too noisy that you can't sleep at night. The staff literally treat you like animals. Breakfast is a total rip off. The rooms are small and dirty. Avoid this hotel if you can!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, location excellent both for shopping, Central Park and Times Square.

No coffee facilities in room, I was put on the wait list for a coffee machine, but after 4 days I still didn't get one. Staff helpful and apologetic re the coffee machine

Room Tip: Ask for coffee making facilities when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have traveled quite a bit around the world and never experiences hospitality as wonderful as what i received at Park Central, NY. From the moment I arrived I was greeted by a wonderfully energetic and engaged Guest Engagement Director, named Quimby. I could tell he truly cared about the guest experience and wanted to ensure everyone felt at home. His personality and demeanor was infectious and resonated through the entire staff. I know myself, after a long day of draining meeting, his attitude lifted my spirits immediately! And on top of all that the atmosphere was beautiful and the rooms were perfectly maintained and very clean. kudos to the staff and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

got a great deal to stay here on priceline saying it was their top tier hotel. at the time the hotel was undergoing renovations. check-in was so slow. they put us in an unrenovated floor. I immediately called priceline and said we'll stay somewhere else. the hotel called and upgraded our room to a renovated floor (same room type).

this was better but the experience wasnt great.

Room Tip: request a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Despite being charged $20 /day facility fees, in-room WiFi was extremely unstable and signal poor. Our devices were unable to connect in several instances and most of the time, we had to be in common areas such as the hotel lobby and floor lobby to access the internet. We had raised the issue with front desk but no remedy was offered. (NB. we were misled by the ad in Expedia that the hotel provide free wi-fi and was only advised of the mandatory facility fees after booking was made)

When we first entered the room, only one of the beds was made, the other had its pillows stacked on the made bed, the iron was missing and coffee-maker was not provided.

The shower was installed incorrectly. Hot water came out when the tap said cold, and cold when the tap said hot.

There was always long line for the elevator. On the day of our departure, it had taken us ~ 20 minutes to be able to get into the elevators with our luggages.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Park Central hotel with our family of 4 including 2 kids, 16 and 14. Although the rooms were small we requested 2 queen beds and slept comfortably. The room was clean and well decorated. Park Central is a well priced 4+ star hotel centrally located and definitely worth consideration. The only negatives, the elevators are slow and there seems to always be a line, and the gym equipment is lacking somewhat.

Room Tip: Request a room with queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.