We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant days in NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central

Save Saved
You added Park Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #215 of 449 hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant days in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We ' re staying for the fifth time in a row at a park central hotel ny and unfortunately we're going back to Brazil tomorrow. The hotel underwent a major reform getting very beautiful and modern.Its location is excellent , clean and spacious rooms .
Special thanks to Elizabeth Cacovic for your attention and hospitality .We will return soon!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    198
    70
    29
    21
See reviews for
150
140
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.
The location was excellent, several blocks from Rockeffeler Center, walking distance to central park,(plaza hotel fountain),two block from 5th ave and high end shops, St. Patricks Cathedral directly across the street and close to Radio City Music Hall, but hotel is in a quiet location. The rooms were bright and large with marble bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The service was superb and I really felt great during my entire stay.

Special Thanks to Elizabeth Cacovic assisting me
upon my stay and providing me with all my needs.

I would LOVE to have the opportunity to come back again and stay at this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a nice Hotel with great comfort in its rooms but the highlight would have to be its location, it´s just 6 blocks away from Times Square, 1 block away from Broadway St, 2 Blocks away from 5th avenue (the area with the best stores), You have 2 metro stations 1 min walking.
Definitely its a best value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful newly renovated hotel with spacious rooms & in a great location. Two blocks away from Central Park & a short walk to Time Square. Elizabeth the Guest Relations Manager was so lovely & so helpful in catering to our needs. She made our stay there very special. Have stayed there before & will definitely stay there again. Can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I told my grandchildren the summer they turned 12 I would take them anywhere in the world. My third grandchild to turn 12 is a baseball fan and he choose a baseball journey. In addition his mother was turning 40 this year, so we pulled out all the stops. My husband choose Park Central because of the location. He specifically choose a a corner room with windows on two sides for our daughter, grandson and son-in-law so that they would have a view of Time Square.Of course this room cost extra. What a mistake that was.

Where to begin? We did not have dial tones on the phone in either of the two rooms we rented. We were able to make phone calls out. The air conditioning in the corner room would go to 65 and then click off. The room was hot and muggy and smelled of mold. The bathroom fixtures were coming off and there was mold behind each of the fixtures. My daughter had to stuff a wash rag down the bathtub drain to hold in the bath water (the plug did not work), Air conditioning in the hall way outside our room also was not working.

One of the two elevators was not operable while we were there and there was often 12-15 people with all their luggage in line to get on the elevator. It took forever.

We understand that things happen and machinery breaks down. What was most frustrating about this hotel was the lack of response that we received when we contacted them. They stationed a young employee in the lobby who dutifully wrote down the long list of complaints. No response. We then wrote two emails and did not receive a response from either of them. No word at all from customer service.

The only good thing I have to say is that the linen was good. Avoid this place folks. They have a lot to learn about customer service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Millie532,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you faced during your stay with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service, and to see we failed to provide you with a pleasant stay, excellent customer service, and also neglected to follow up with you is extremely troubling. All of your feedback has been shared with our Department Heads, so we can immediately address these issues with our Team Members. Thank you again for providing us with your valuable feedback. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central and show you a truly memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 7 nights at Park Central; very nice room and excellent service from beginning to end. Rooms were spacious and quiet though right in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Service was excellent, particularly the housekeeping staff who quickly and thoroughly changed sheets and cleaned up after each of my two eight year old twins vomited several times on back to back days. Didn't eat there (a little pricy), but there is an excellent coffee shop next door and several good restaurants within a couple of blocks. Carnegie Hall was across the street, Central Park two blocks away, and a subway station at the end of the block. Would go back again; Recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room with two queens for ourselves and oldest grandchild. Next door, our daughter and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mthardie,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience. I am delighted to hear you were provided with excellent service during your stay. All of your feedback has been shared with our Team Members, so we can celebrate our achievements. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the perfect location to base yourself in NY to tick off lots of tourist things. The room was very spacious for NY. The bathroom was nice and clean and came with a hair dryer. Bed was comfortable and air conditioning was not too loud. Staff were very friendly, they recommend places to eat and things to do. If you are in NY for over a week, I would recommend staying here, but then maybe somewhere else like Soho just to experience another vibe.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Tara L,

Thank you kindly for your rave review and recommendation. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central on your next NYC adventure.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.