We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young, Trying to be hip, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Save Saved
You added Paramount Hotel Times Square New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off + Free WiFi
Ranked #315 of 449 hotels in New York City
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Young, Trying to be hip, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just off of Time Square in a location convenient to theaters and Hell's Kitchen restaurants this hotel offered a comfy, quiet, well designed room, if not much bigger than the queen sized bed. Then again, booked through Expedia, it was inexpensive by New York standards. The hotel has been themed with theater in mind and makes a strong lounge splash as the lobby is more dark club than anything else. The ultra long modern gas fireplace roaringly lit mid summer and first thing in the am was one of the hotel's quirky touches.

The room had a three foot closet with enough storage space for over night. The bath, again small, but clean and things conveniently at hand. No mini bar or fridge. The view we had was looking north and offered a good panorama of that part of the city.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but ultra lux, it is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    434
    224
    102
    64
See reviews for
215
369
76
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Yes, the rooms are small, with the drawers and safe taking up much of the closet, but the space in the room and bathroom is arranged efficiently and all anticipated amenities are provided. (No refrigerator or coffee maker, but anything you might want is available within a block in any direction.) Everything was clean and the housekeeping service was excellent. Great room-darkening double shade system. Better air conditioning than most hotels in its thermostat, effectiveness, and noise level. Employees at the front desk (Nathalie who checked me in and out was an ideal person to begin and end anyone's stay at the Paramount) and concierge were friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff and the wait staff in the bar/grill were friendly and efficient, and the security guard who checked to see room keys before letting anyone into the lobby in the evening was friendly and added a sense of safety upon entering at a late hour. Perfect location for theater and easy access to subways for any other NYC destinations. I did not experience any of the problems I had read about in advance in some of the reviews (except for the small rooms, which I had anticipated). I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The AAA rate on the hotel website was cheaper than the various travel websites, and by making your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed here in june while over for the boxing in Madison Square Gardens.
It was what you call ok (average).Not to many complaints as you would expect it was clean and staff were helpful polite.
Have stayed in better hotels in NY when over for the boxing,as said no real complaints but it is not a hotel i would put up there to 'sell' to friends/family.

One word of warning,when travelling around use the NY yellow cabs,not the 'private' ones the doorman of this hotel advise, a ten dollar bus ride(we got the bus back) cost us $320 on the outward journey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel does have a great location, 2 minutes from Times Square. We had no problems there at all, we found the staff to be very friendly, got free wi-fi in all 3 rooms as I made a point of asking about it. The rooms are very small but they suited us as single travellers. My one gripe and this is me being picky - no brewing facilities in the room. The lobby is fantastic, great for people watching. Did not eat in the hotel but bought an expensive tasteless coffee from the cafe. There is a little place 2 doors away the does really good coffee at a third of the price. I read some of the reviews before we went and was a little apprehensive but for us it was fine and yes I would stay again. There is to much to do in New York to stay in a bedroom so as long as there is hot water and a comfy bed I am satisfied.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 7th and 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel's lobby and hallway remodel is a bit "mid-century goth" and the rooms are small. But, my room was clean, well stocked, and quiet. The air conditioning worked very well and the service was very good. Nicole on the front desk was very helpful. All of the bar staff, wait staff, housekeeping, and security were all very polite and very willing to help. The restaurant and bar were very comfortable with good food and drink menus. And you cannot beat the location. I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: The smallest of the rooms available are smaller than you can imagine rooms to be. The broadway stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although the surrounding area is not particularly nice we had expected more because of the hotels own hype. Arrived in the lobby area which is particularly dark at all times with dozens of people lounging and laying on all available chairs listening to load music. On the 1st floor above the lobby is in fact an area for DJs and their equipment. Our hearts sank. The check in staff were very friendly. Our 1st room was on the 6th floor which did not have any furniture except bed and a chair. The room was extremely small probably no more than 10 feet by 10 feet with nowhere for cases. Went back to reception to get another room and I did get a good reaction from the girl and a Queen room on 14. This was slightly larger (about 12 x12) with at least some furniture for our cases. All the public areas and lifts were very dimly lit and painted in dark colours. I beleive they call this a boutique hotel!!! If so give me an old fashion type anyday.

The redeeming features were the breakfast room (not coffee shop) which had a fair selection in their buffet service (although dearer and less variety than say the Intercontinental) and the reception and concierge staff who were helpful at all times. The cleaning person on 14 was very good but it could be said that the small size left her very little to do.

We always have our American friends complain about European room sizes but the Paramount room sizes are even smaller than most.

All in all we would not recommend or stay again at this hotel. Their rates are basically on a par
with most well known 4 star chains but you get less for your money at the Paramount.

Room Tip: not sure any rooms are good, but the 14th floor Queen room is marginally better than a room on the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First off, the positives:
- great location, 2 minutes walk from Times Square.
- stylist and modern lobby
- staff at the coffee shop were very friendly.

Negatives
- concierge had me waiting for half an hour without so much of an acknowledgement, saying at one time to the customer she was dealing with "no don't worry, I will get to him"- shocking display of service
- the water was closed off for the hotel so we missed the show as we weren't able to get a wash. Pretty poor and wasted almost £200 on tickets because of this issue.
- the room was small but adequate albeit the shower grout was very discoloured and needs freshened up. The air-con was powerful but extremely noisy. The rest of the room was acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.