We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel New York Times Square

Save Saved
You added Novotel New York Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer offer: -25% off
Ranked #123 of 449 hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    416
    103
    29
    13
See reviews for
372
331
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at Novotel Times Square for 8 nights in July. Great location, great lobby and rooftop bar. We experienced problems with the elevators over the July 4th long weekend when we forced to use the service elevator. The waits for regular lifts was far too long. In general, the staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. Very mixed experience of a great location with problems with customer experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is ok for a short stay but I wasn't overly impressed by it. The lobby and reception area is nice and stylish and loction is great but it stops there. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the mini bar was empty. No complimentary water which you would expect from a 4 star (we had this in another nearby hotel that was a 3 star) and you have to pay for wifi. It was noisy on Friday night feom street noise outside. Also we booked a standard room with 2 double beds for 3 people (2 of us were going to share one of the doubles) and we were given one double bed and an uncomfortable rock hard sofa which we had to make up into a bed ourselves (the sheets and pillows were dumped on top.) It wasn't even sofa bed,it was literally a sofa. We asked to move rooms to a room with 2 doubles and they they said they don't guarantee that you get the two double beds but we weren't told that when we booked! We booked a standard double double. They did give us a new room the next night though which we were happy with but still lacked any facilities. On the plus side the staff were friendly enough and location is good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all it's in a great location - right on Times Sqaure. It was highly recommended to us and didn't disappoint. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and had no complaints at all. Most enjoyable aspect is the bar terrace overlooking Times Square where you can sit in the evening with a drink taking in the sights, sounds and aromas of New York. Nothing to quibble about. It was just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at novotel for 10 days with our 8 month old baby. Whilst the hotel is new and in a good location, there is nothing else that I can say that is good about this hotel. The staff are unhelpful and rude. You feel like you are an inconvenience to them if you ask for help. You need to take a lift to the lobby (there are only 2 lifts) and another lift to your room (there are only 4 lifts). The lifts are slow and were always broken down. One night the hotel decided to do a test fife alarm at 10pm, why I don't know, but it scared my sleeping baby. The hotel restaurant is over priced and the food is substandard. Like I said, hotel is in a great location but there are plenty of other good hotels near by that we will stay at next time. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Right in the heart of Times Square. Could not ask for a better location. Walk to all the theatres, restaurants, cab away from Midtown, central Park, Rockefeller Center. Have been there three times and going back in July. The best price around, great restaurant in the hotel, outdoor space that provides a bird's eye view of Times Square, clean rooms although not huge. Cannot wait to get back there in July. Booked 3 rooms for the family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is ideally located next to Times square and is ideal for the subway and all local bus tours.The hotel is comfortable clean and extremely quiet even though it was very busy when we were there in July. Air con in room is a perfect and room cleaned daily and cleaned well.Desk staff were very helpful and this hotel has a balcony outdoors that looks right down Broadway to all key sights and attractions. Perfect location if visiting New York for the sites and sounds of the city.If you can get a deal that includes breakfast then you have had a rsult as it is $22 dollars ahead so we ate in nearby places at a much reduced cost.Someetimes had to wait on lifts as there is only 4 for this busy hotel and you need the lift as there are 32 floors.Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor and facing Broadway but all hotels in the area are next to tall buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.