We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, large rooms, painfully slow elevators” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #167 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location, large rooms, painfully slow elevators”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the New York Marriott Marquis on three separate occasions, each of our stays here have been enjoyable and well worth the price.

The location is perfect for just about any type of travel. You are in the heart of Times Square and have easy access to the subway that connects you to just about anywhere that you want to go. The rooms are larger than most in Manhattan and the rooms are typical of what we are accustomed to with Marriott. The only pain point is the speed of the elevators, as we found ourselves waiting several minutes anytime we were entering or exiting the building.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody coming into the city, unless you prefer to avoid the hustle & bustle of times square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    1,956
    569
    203
    138
See reviews for
1614
1177
185
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed seeing three plays, with Les Miserables, being an incredible experience, by just walking out the door of the hotel. The convenience for theater goers cannot be denied. There are excellent neighborhood restaurants if you walk a few blocks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wow! The view from my room on the 32nd floor was awesome! I almost felt like I didn't need that trip to the deck of the Empire State Building! The beds were comfy and the room (2 double beds with pull out sofa) was spacious-I didn't have to sit on only my bed. The place was packed on the weekend I stayed so I'm not sure if it's normal to wait 10 minutes for an elevator or not. Even with 14 elevators, a crowd of guests waited an exasperating amount of time every time. (reason for only 4 stars) The Starbucks addition to the Marriott chains is a bonus! Fast, friendly service in the cafe with normal to a little higher than the street price for sundries.

Room Tip: The room was quiet which is what one needs for sleeping. The rest of the hotel, lobby, restaurant, e...
See more room tips
Green Features: Despite hanging towels, house keeping still replaced them. So while the theory is admirable, the practice needs to be used.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

When we compare quality and price this hotel is unbalanced. High cost without anything extraordinary.
Elevators was a terrible experience. Very slow.
The restaurant was not prepared to events.
Excelente location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your trip and providing feedback about your experience. I'm sorry we were not able to exceed your reservations and that you experienced a delay with our elevators. I hope you enjoyed your stay overall and that we can have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is right in the heart of the Times Square and provides easy access to many landmarks and mass transport options nearby... that is of course if you can beat the flowing masses on the Broadway...! The never ending constuction work on the Square is a real strain on the whole experience and drain on your patience. When we visited also the Marriott was cordoned off for renovation works making access difficult and dangereous and I guess also to put up yet another gigantic electronic display board on the building. Once you beat the crowds and can get into the building, the experience is actually quite pleasant with the reception up on the 8th level and rooms further above keeping the guests relatively away from the hustle and bustle of the square outside. Rooms are reasonable size and relatively comfortable but I have surely seen better and more comfortable Marriotts. Huge 24hr gym was a gem for for the fitness enthusiasts (like my wife) and options for breakfast were also plentyful and typical American sizes. But again lobby and restaurant area was usually quite crowded just like the outside due to lack of alternative dining and chill-out options at the hotel. Check-in and check-out was relatively quick and valet parking service very expensive as parking is in general in NY. Service quality and staff friendliness was a total hit and miss with some of them very pleasant and helpful while others would be much more happy if you did evaporate. Not the usually consistent and nice Marriott experience.

Room Tip: rooms start from level 8 upwards and as such mostly have good views of the Times Square but try to g...
See more room tips
Green Features: No idea what the environmetally friendly features are unless they are talking about the optional recycling of towels which is nowadays a standard everywhere..
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks so much for staying and reviewing your trip. We're happy you enjoyed your experience overall but I'm sorry the crowds and work being done interfered with your overall satisfaction. We hope you'll choose our hotel again next time you are in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is right in the center of Times Square. My fiancé and I stayed here last night, and we stayed on the 25th floor in room 2544. Our room was moderate in size but very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful! The bar off the lobby offers great views of the Square, and I definitely recommend going there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here primarily because the conference I was attending was hosted here. It is a huge hotel and very impersonal. Firstly the good points. The room was big (Significantly larger than many of the alternates I looked at) and the gym facilities are excellent, albeit located on the 23rd floor with a clear view from all the surrounding floors! The lounge / bar / restaurant is located on the 8th floor and has spectacular views of Times Square. They do a competent burger and the like and the staff are friendly and efficient. The location is very convenient for many of the attractions, being right on Times Square, but this in itself was an issue as you do have to fight the crowds just to get back to your room and there was a lot of building work going on both in and around the hotel which made it very noisy and no apology was made for this nor any compensation offered. From a negative point of view there are many issues. The reception is on the eighth floor and the queues at check in were always long at all times of day and night. Reception staff were pleasant but there was no flexibility and, after a whole week staying in the hotel, spending many thousands of dollars I requested a four hour extension to check out and was told this would be $175, no negotiations possible. Not really the sort of service one should expect I feel. Although the room was large, the bathroom was a bit dingy, had mould on the wall and a permanent damp smell which was not enticing. The breakfast buffet was good (I only had the cold selection as it was one of the few opportunities to eat fruit through the day!) but very expensive, as was pretty much everything in the hotel. Even a simple coffee and pannini at the Starbucks concession in the lobby was not much cheaper than a breakfast. Don't be tempted by the a al carte breakfast. Portions are small and it is very expensive and largely inflexible. If you have read any of my other reviews you will know I have a bit of a thing about breakfast buffets, but on this occasion I have no hesitation in saying that you should have the buffet, not the menu. Overall the decor was a bit lurid (Carpets) the design of the hotel rather odd, the style somewhere between Blade Runner and Post War Soviet in its aesthetics. The lift were complex but with so many floors, once you got the hang of them they worked well but would not be great for the vertiginous. Overall it was fine for me, on my own, for a conference week but I would not choose this hotel for fun / family / holiday. You do not get anything for free, or to be honest, at a reasonable price. The wifi is quite good but outrageously expensive (>$16 per day). Sadly this is an unavoidable expense these days but I do feel that I have been absolutely fleeced as my opinion has always been that hotels like this should provide free wifi. You pay for absolutely every thing in spades, and then they add the punitive taxes on top. Then there is the tip which is calculated for you on the bill. OVerall it is a ferociously expensive hotel. It may not seem too bad initially but the extras mount up and you will end up paying twice your quoted room rate if you use the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel. We certainly appreciate you staying with us and I'm glad you enjoyed the large size of your room, gym facilities and restaurants. Please accept my apologies though for the condition of your bathroom. Your comments will be forwarded to our Engineering team to be fixed immediately. We would love to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.