We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Marquis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #187 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Marquis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked two Times Square View rooms at the Marquis on 20 and 21 July. We were assigned high rooms (35th and 40 floors). The view was spectacular and the hotel's location is great. The rooms were quiet, very clean and the furniture all in excellent condition. The staff were very friendly. We found that waits for elevators were short. We used Marriott's mobile app check-in system, which worked flawlessly. The rooms were ready and we were handed our keys upon our early (1 PM) arrival. The only issue (thus 4 versus 5 stars) was valet parking. The garage is being renovated (the hotels' website warns of delays - provide 40 minute notice for retrieving the car); however, apparently they had some mix-up with the ticket on our car, and it took an hour to sort it out. Otherwise a great stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Expensive, but if you can afford it, book the Times Square View room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,836
    2,414
    723
    262
    176
See reviews for
2,020
1,466
201
1,193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HondaCivicWil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the New York Marriott Marquis. This beautiful hotel is in the heart of Times Square and the perfect location for anyone in town to enjoy Broadway. Our spacious room was on the 43rd floor and offered a wonderful view of Times Square. Beds were extremely comfortable and the large bathroom a nice surprise. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The only blemish on an otherwise perfect stay was the occasional long wait for the elevators. Overall, the Marquis is a wonderful property and I'd gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors offer a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We're glad you chose our hotel and appreciate you providing such a great review of your stay! Our rooms certainly are spacious and it's great to hear you enjoyed the view of Times Square. I'm sorry you had some issues with the elevators at times, but I hope despite this we can count on your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is going through some façade and interior renovations. These are not intrusive. Great location for Broadway shows and right in the middle of Time Square. Short walks to sooo many activities. Great views from our room. Close to many restaurants and of course shopping for the girls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We're happy you came back to stay with us again. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the great things that the Times Square area has to offer and could also take it all in from the great view in your room. We can't wait to welcome back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms were large and comfortable, we asked for a refrigerator and it was brought right up. We got a corner Times Square room on the 38th floor and didn't notice any construction noise. It was in a great location in Times Square. We ate at Carmines down the street and it was a great family restaurant. (The food was great - yum) We walked to Rockerfeller Plaza and then continued to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The only thing we question is the 2 person rule in the concierge lounge. It was my husband, myself and my son and the lounge wasn't even 25% full for bfast and they wouldn't let the three of us in because of the 2 person rule (a rule is a rule he said). I think they should allow 3 or 4 people in if the room is empty. They felt bad and said that we could bring the food to our room but it's hard for three people to sit in our room at the desk with one chair and enjoy bfast. We enjoyed 9/11 memorial and museum, Little Italy, the NY media boat tour and central park while here and had a great time! We would stay here again because we are Marriott Elite, the room was big and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay in to get everywhere! We walked to plays and subway entrances. When we needed a taxi, they were always right there. Our room was nice and the housekeeping staff were wonderful. They kept the room clean and always were glad to help with any request.
We ate in the bar area and had a great food.
I absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An superbly place/,located hotel in the centre of the Theatre action area.
The Hotel is very modern, our 11th floor room was large and the bathroom looked nearly brand new.
A unique computerised elevator system in the core of the building and the rooms are set in a forum style around the central core of the building. Ours faced the 1540 Broadway illuminated signage. Even at night when you open the curtains you think its daytime. The curtains do very well in keeping out the light.
Breakfast is excellent. They even cater for Gluten intolerent diets. Some of the staff (several not all) however at breakfast seemed to feel their job was a chore- not rude but slowish and some seemed disinterested.

One negative, they don't provide shower caps, which was very strange as we had stayed in about 9 other equal or slightly lesser hotels in North east USA and Canada and they all did..

We were allowed to overstay our 12 noon check out without any problem for some extra 30-50minutes,

We found the wi fi easy to access. We didn't pay because we were with a tour group, but there are circumstance where you may need to pay, so watch that. The lobby (on the 8th floor) had free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Cant comment on other floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have the usual " save the environment " stuff regarding towels etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and providing such a great review of your experience! We do certainly provide meals to meet many different dietary restrictions and I'm glad you found gluten intolerant items to enjoy. Also, while shower caps are not a standard in-room amenity, we do provide them based on request so feel free to ask. Thank you so much and we can't wait to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was very much looking forward to staying at this hotel because of its stellar reputation. The behavior of some staff members clouded the experience for me. I traveled with my sister, who is a Marriott Gold member. No one seemed to care. Our room was not ready at 3 PM, and the indifferent and impersonal front-desk clerk told her there were "no rooms with views available" and that my sister should have "paid in full in advance" to get a room with a view. At my sister's insistence, she kept searching and finally miraculously found a king room with a sofa bed for three people with a view.
Concierge staff were worse. Every time I had a question for the concierge, I stood in front of the desk while the person snapped "just a moment", typed on his or her computer for two minutes, and then said "can I help you" without even looking up.
The coup de grace was when, on our last morning at the hotel, a member of housekeeping banged on our door at 8 am to ask us if we were "done in the room" yet. My sister asked her when check-out time was and she replied, "now through 11 in the morning". When my sister informed her that no, we were not done, she did apologize later on when she saw us in the hallway, but probably only because she sensed my sister's wrath!
Concierge lounge: Breakfast is average, member can only bring one guest, and NO free drinks at cocktail hour.
Bottom line: Location good. View is wonderful (if you're lucky enough to snag a room with a view). Staff: Uppity and rude, they do NOT treat Gold members like Gold members.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I will review your comments with my team so we can focus on improving our service. Please accept my apologies that your room was not ready at 3:00pm. Our standard check-in time is at 4:00pm and we do our best to accommodate guests earlier when their room is ready. I will also make sure to speak with our Concierge team as this does not represent the high level of service we hold our associates to. I hope you'll give us another chance in the future to show you the true guest experience we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Marriott so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.