We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Marquis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #198 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Marquis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked two Times Square View rooms at the Marquis on 20 and 21 July. We were assigned high rooms (35th and 40 floors). The view was spectacular and the hotel's location is great. The rooms were quiet, very clean and the furniture all in excellent condition. The staff were very friendly. We found that waits for elevators were short. We used Marriott's mobile app check-in system, which worked flawlessly. The rooms were ready and we were handed our keys upon our early (1 PM) arrival. The only issue (thus 4 versus 5 stars) was valet parking. The garage is being renovated (the hotels' website warns of delays - provide 40 minute notice for retrieving the car); however, apparently they had some mix-up with the ticket on our car, and it took an hour to sort it out. Otherwise a great stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Expensive, but if you can afford it, book the Times Square View room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
HondaCivicWil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the New York Marriott Marquis. This beautiful hotel is in the heart of Times Square and the perfect location for anyone in town to enjoy Broadway. Our spacious room was on the 43rd floor and offered a wonderful view of Times Square. Beds were extremely comfortable and the large bathroom a nice surprise. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The only blemish on an otherwise perfect stay was the occasional long wait for the elevators. Overall, the Marquis is a wonderful property and I'd gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors offer a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HondaCivicWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We're glad you chose our hotel and appreciate you providing such a great review of your stay! Our rooms certainly are spacious and it's great to hear you enjoyed the view of Times Square. I'm sorry you had some issues with the elevators at times, but I hope despite this we can count on your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is going through some façade and interior renovations. These are not intrusive. Great location for Broadway shows and right in the middle of Time Square. Short walks to sooo many activities. Great views from our room. Close to many restaurants and of course shopping for the girls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We're happy you came back to stay with us again. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the great things that the Times Square area has to offer and could also take it all in from the great view in your room. We can't wait to welcome back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms were large and comfortable, we asked for a refrigerator and it was brought right up. We got a corner Times Square room on the 38th floor and didn't notice any construction noise. It was in a great location in Times Square. We ate at Carmines down the street and it was a great family restaurant. (The food was great - yum) We walked to Rockerfeller Plaza and then continued to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The only thing we question is the 2 person rule in the concierge lounge. It was my husband, myself and my son and the lounge wasn't even 25% full for bfast and they wouldn't let the three of us in because of the 2 person rule (a rule is a rule he said). I think they should allow 3 or 4 people in if the room is empty. They felt bad and said that we could bring the food to our room but it's hard for three people to sit in our room at the desk with one chair and enjoy bfast. We enjoyed 9/11 memorial and museum, Little Italy, the NY media boat tour and central park while here and had a great time! We would stay here again because we are Marriott Elite, the room was big and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAamyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay in to get everywhere! We walked to plays and subway entrances. When we needed a taxi, they were always right there. Our room was nice and the housekeeping staff were wonderful. They kept the room clean and always were glad to help with any request.
We ate in the bar area and had a great food.
I absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyday3645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a family member and thank goodness we were. The establishment is practically in the center of Times Square, and one side (the side we happened to face) is directly across the street from Broadway. Needless to say we didn't have to walk very far for food or entertainment.

We stayed on the highest floor of the hotel and the view was incredible. The room itself was clean, modern and roomy for my partner and two children. And the gym is incredible (who wouldn't want to work out in front of a panoramic window view of Times Square?!)


We will be returning on out next trip out to New York.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesireeCherisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have already reviewed it. I said it was great with very limited negative comments like (about breakfast staff attitudes) an dlack of shower caps in bathroom.

Helpful?
Thank Lakis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#142 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,239 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#276 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,412 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#179 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#70 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,981 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times...
#160 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#56 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing