We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 Nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #173 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
ma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice 3 Nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms were large and comfortable, we asked for a refrigerator and it was brought right up. We got a corner Times Square room on the 38th floor and didn't notice any construction noise. It was in a great location in Times Square. We ate at Carmines down the street and it was a great family restaurant. (The food was great - yum) We walked to Rockerfeller Plaza and then continued to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The only thing we question is the 2 person rule in the concierge lounge. It was my husband, myself and my son and the lounge wasn't even 25% full for bfast and they wouldn't let the three of us in because of the 2 person rule (a rule is a rule he said). I think they should allow 3 or 4 people in if the room is empty. They felt bad and said that we could bring the food to our room but it's hard for three people to sit in our room at the desk with one chair and enjoy bfast. We enjoyed 9/11 memorial and museum, Little Italy, the NY media boat tour and central park while here and had a great time! We would stay here again because we are Marriott Elite, the room was big and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,480
    2,123
    630
    219
    152
See reviews for
1,729
1,288
188
1,044
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay in to get everywhere! We walked to plays and subway entrances. When we needed a taxi, they were always right there. Our room was nice and the housekeeping staff were wonderful. They kept the room clean and always were glad to help with any request.
We ate in the bar area and had a great food.
I absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An superbly place/,located hotel in the centre of the Theatre action area.
The Hotel is very modern, our 11th floor room was large and the bathroom looked nearly brand new.
A unique computerised elevator system in the core of the building and the rooms are set in a forum style around the central core of the building. Ours faced the 1540 Broadway illuminated signage. Even at night when you open the curtains you think its daytime. The curtains do very well in keeping out the light.
Breakfast is excellent. They even cater for Gluten intolerent diets. Some of the staff (several not all) however at breakfast seemed to feel their job was a chore- not rude but slowish and some seemed disinterested.

One negative, they don't provide shower caps, which was very strange as we had stayed in about 9 other equal or slightly lesser hotels in North east USA and Canada and they all did..

We were allowed to overstay our 12 noon check out without any problem for some extra 30-50minutes,

We found the wi fi easy to access. We didn't pay because we were with a tour group, but there are circumstance where you may need to pay, so watch that. The lobby (on the 8th floor) had free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Cant comment on other floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have the usual " save the environment " stuff regarding towels etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and providing such a great review of your experience! We do certainly provide meals to meet many different dietary restrictions and I'm glad you found gluten intolerant items to enjoy. Also, while shower caps are not a standard in-room amenity, we do provide them based on request so feel free to ask. Thank you so much and we can't wait to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was very much looking forward to staying at this hotel because of its stellar reputation. The behavior of some staff members clouded the experience for me. I traveled with my sister, who is a Marriott Gold member. No one seemed to care. Our room was not ready at 3 PM, and the indifferent and impersonal front-desk clerk told her there were "no rooms with views available" and that my sister should have "paid in full in advance" to get a room with a view. At my sister's insistence, she kept searching and finally miraculously found a king room with a sofa bed for three people with a view.
Concierge staff were worse. Every time I had a question for the concierge, I stood in front of the desk while the person snapped "just a moment", typed on his or her computer for two minutes, and then said "can I help you" without even looking up.
The coup de grace was when, on our last morning at the hotel, a member of housekeeping banged on our door at 8 am to ask us if we were "done in the room" yet. My sister asked her when check-out time was and she replied, "now through 11 in the morning". When my sister informed her that no, we were not done, she did apologize later on when she saw us in the hallway, but probably only because she sensed my sister's wrath!
Concierge lounge: Breakfast is average, member can only bring one guest, and NO free drinks at cocktail hour.
Bottom line: Location good. View is wonderful (if you're lucky enough to snag a room with a view). Staff: Uppity and rude, they do NOT treat Gold members like Gold members.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I will review your comments with my team so we can focus on improving our service. Please accept my apologies that your room was not ready at 3:00pm. Our standard check-in time is at 4:00pm and we do our best to accommodate guests earlier when their room is ready. I will also make sure to speak with our Concierge team as this does not represent the high level of service we hold our associates to. I hope you'll give us another chance in the future to show you the true guest experience we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Love this hotel! It is perfectly located 1 block from Times Square! But it is still very quiet if you stay in the upper level rooms. The concierge desk is very helpful and the dining near Times Square is superb!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at the New York Marriott Marquis! We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything and we can't wait to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois US
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Okay, you're worried about a few of the things brought up in other reviews. So, let me tidy up a few of your concerns...The Elevators: marvelous system. Go to Floor 8 to check in. These things are perfect. Sure you might wait in the lobby a little longer, but you will have fewer stops going up or down. The Noise: we were a little above half way up and on the Times Square "View" side. It was a little noisy from the Subway extension construction. It wasn't noisy all the time, and it was a sound off in the distance...just like the sirens and horns. Not a problem. The Busy Lobby Area: see number one, you'll be glad the elevators are designed the way they are? Staff: professional and really nice.
Now, about staying in Times Square. Enjoy the views and once you become a little overwhelmed... Subways are near so go see some other parts of the city. Broadway Theaters are near...so see some plays. Bus tour hawkers are more plentiful than anyone else... but, buy a Metro Pass ($2.50 a ride) and enjoy seeing the city at (once you walk up from the Subway) street level. Times Square is pretty much over priced for the thousands of tourists, so if you want to be around some real New Yorkers....visit a neighborhood like the Upper West Side, West village or Chelsea. All easily reachable. The High Line is a wonderful walking path on an old raised train track. Near end is the wonderful Chelsea market. On a weekend....consider a visit to "smorgasburg" in Brooklyn. It's a gathering of some delicious food vendors. On Sunday it's along the East River in Brooklyn Bridge Park. Central Park is really nice as are the neighborhoods surrounding it.
Junior's Deli is across the street from the hotel and you can eat a nice meal there with huge portions for about 1/2-2/3 the price of hotel food. Crowded on weekends. Starbucks is in the hotel Gift Shop and you can grab a nice cup of coffee and a bagel if you don't want to walk to Junior's or buy a $27 omelet in the hotel restaurant. One drawback is even if you just want a newspaper or a pop, you'll still stand in the order line at Starbucks to pay.
The hotel rooms are larger than most suburban hotel rooms and certainly large for a city hotel. Many people inquire about getting to the hotel from Penn Station. I suggest Walk. It's a quick trip and we did it at 1 in the morning on a Friday. No problem, lots of people out and about. 15 minutes tops. GMA is right out your door if you want to visit a TV set.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're glad you chose our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to let us know the details of your stay! It's great to hear you like our elevators and you're certainly right that even though you may wait in the lobby a little longer, the elevators limit the number of floors they stop at making the trip upstairs faster. I will be sure to recognize our staff for their professional and friendly demeanor. I'm happy you enjoyed everything and were able to share this with us. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again when you're back in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are clean and big, especially for NYC. The location is in the heart of Times square. We arrived and checked in at the hotel past 1am and everything went smoothly. We landed a 18th floor Times square view room. The bellhops easily hailed us multiple cabs. The only bad thing about the hotel is sometimes the elevators get backed up during peak times in the morning. We walked many of the neighborhoods around the hotel and loved it. Central Park is 10min or less walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a Timessquare view room above the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing a review! I will recognize our team for their hard work in making sure that you were accommodated at such a late hour with a great room and also for our bellhops with their assistance. We can't wait to have you back again when your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.