We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, super crowded, elevators broke down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #187 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, super crowded, elevators broke down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our family took our first trip to NYC between Christmas and New Year's eve. We were excited to experience the city and to stay near Times Square, but to leave before the craziness of New Year's Eve. We didn't realize that the city is crazy crowded the entire week between Christmas and New Year's, and the Marquis was sold out. Unfortunately, they do not handle the huge crowds well. I'd love to come back during a less busy time, because I think this hotel has potential, but during our stay, we experienced a number of problems. Starting with our room (not as booked and smaller than advertised), we knew that a premium would be placed on this location during this time of year. However, our daughter had to sleep on a rollaway bed (which frankly, as overbooked as they were, we were lucky to get). The lines for the breakfast buffet were insanely crowded. The capstone was the evening when the elevators - ALL of them broke down. These things happen, but 2+ hours of no elevator service for thousands of guests was rough. Notable positives were the great, fabulous gym that faced Times Square, the impressive and very helpful concierge who gave us amazing restaurant recommendations, and a great manager who tried to help as much as she could. I'd try this one again, but not during a holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    2,309
    690
    249
    170
See reviews for
1,919
1,392
197
1,134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Arguably, you cannot go wrong with Times Square located hotels if you are looking for that environment. This hotel was recommended by several friends of mine who are from New York and it did not disappoint. It is absolutely worth the additional cost in comparison to other hotels it is a reasonably priced hotel. The facilities are high quality, and the hotel is definitely family friendly. The hotel is located directly in the center of Times Square where Broadway crosses 7th Avenue. The amenities within the hotel are fantastic with full restaurant service and lounge areas. You are really paying for the location and the Times Square view but you cannot beat the convenience of where the hotel is situated. You can exit the hotel from all directions which makes it easy to head off wherever you need to go versus walking around an entire block to head the direction you want to go. There are bakeries and breakfast locations right across the street and if you head to 9th Avenue an eclectic series of eateries and other great coffee shops. We walked everywhere from this location and felt completely safe the entire time. We simply cannot say enough about the hotel. The staff was courteous, the rooms were well taken care of and very clean. From the hotel we walked as far south as Battery Park, as far North as Central Park, West to the ports and South East vicinity of China Town and Little Italy. The subway is right around the corner so it is mass transit accessible as well. If you desire to stay in Times Square you cannot go wrong with this choice. During our departure we left our bags with the hotel from 1000a.m. until early afternoon with no problems and professional service upon retrieval. Highly recommend this place. The only issue we had (and I hesitate to call it an issue) was very, very slow lounge service which is related much more to poor management of the servers versus the effort put in by the employees. People were simply not managed well and it is open seating so it resulted in slow, slow, slow lounge service for food. Then again, this may have been just the day we went to the lounge. The lounge is worth the view.

Room Tip: Booking a regular room (interior) and then paying a base upgrade fee upon arrival for upgrade to a T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wife and I stayed here for a overnight get away to see a show and get some good Korean grub. It is INSANELY convenient to nearly everything! After a 6 hour commute on NJT (broken train) - the only reason we were able to drop a bag in the room was that the Marquis a one minute walk from the theater. A block to Times Square and the subway. The interior is a bit crazy - kind of laid out like a cruise ship. And the elevators can be a bit much for those with motion sickness issues - be forewarned. Worth the extra $$ if you have it for the convenience of it all.

Room Tip: If you want a Times Square view - request it and be prepared to pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Staff and room as expected.... GREAT..but the police that are at the booth when you come in are exceptional ...they gave me good advice each and every time especially the morning gentleman ..a smile goes along way in the morning
thank you marriott for another great stay in a perfectly located spot

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had not visited NYC in ten years so I used trip advisor to seek out advice. My family went to NYC to celebrate my mom's 70th birthday. My mom, me and my sister stayed in a room with
two queen beds and a pull out sofa. We requested a times square view and received that.
My sister forgot her toothbrush and of course us girls needed extra towels. Within ten minutes
of our request, we got what we requested by nice staff personnel. The room was enough room
for us and I would highly recommend this place. It is close to everything. We went to see the
musical broadway play Motown and this hotel is directly across the street. So we walked out of
the hotel, crossed the street and walked into the lobby. Also the broadway play The Lion King
is walking distance as well. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Yes, I will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3422.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay in NYC. We chose the Marriott Marquis in Times Square due to the location since my sister had never been...everyone has to stay in the heart of Times Square once in their life! We had a wonderful experience that started with a late check-in and ended with a late check-out with NO problems. Our room was nice and clean, the service was wonderful and I can't say enough about the concierge. We asked for dinner/lunch reservations 3 times and had amazing food! You must get their recommendations for at least one meal...you won't be sorry. The beds were very comfy...haven't slept that good in a long time! Request the feather pillows!

The only negative I could see about this hotel is the elevator system...very strange and not very efficient.

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As I am A Marriott Gold Member I was really looking forward too staying in this Hotel.
The location cannot be faulted as you are slap bang in the heart of Times Square and you must request a room with a view of Times Square.
The service was excellent but I really hated the design of the passage ways and the lift area.
I hated it so much I decided to check out after one day and booked into the Rennisance along the road. This hotel really needs to be updated!

Room Tip: View of Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us in November and being a Gold member. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and view of Times Square. I apologize that you did not like our hallways. We hope to see you back in th near future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.