We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Marriott Marquis-BEST EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #165 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“New York Marriott Marquis-BEST EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I CANNOT say enough great things about this place. I have stayed here about four times a year since 2005. The staff, service,restaurants,etc are #1 and the hotel is in the heart of TIMES SQUARE!!! See you CHRISTMS!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,368
    2,001
    592
    207
    144
See reviews for
1,641
1,223
185
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the perfect location if you wanna enjoy the fancy beauty of the Big Apple.. it's in the middle of Time Square and everything you need is outside your doorstep. They also have this amazingly fast and smart elevators, I'm not gonna tell you why, but you gotta try it and discover it and learn how to use it. lol..They also have this spectacular "The View" revolving restaurant, which gives you a 360 degree view of this crazy insomniac city.. It was a great experience in Marquis indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As it should be. It blocks out the noise of the city below very well.
Biggest Pro: Right in the middle of Times Square
Biggest Con: Right in the middle of Times Square

It is easy to get anywhere relatively quickly, but getting through the chaos of Times Square can be trying on a Fri/Sat night.

On the plus side thought, the staff is incredible, the views are fantastic and the beds are very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but do you need a pool in Times Square?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family decided on an end-of-summer Broadway binge, and packed in 4 shows over the weekend (plus Monday). I'd stayed at the Marriott years ago and didn't hold out the highest hopes for the property, as downtown 4-star chain hotels tend to disappoint more than wow, if they haven't been through a reno in the recent past. Here, I wasn't disappointed in much, especially with the location, which puts all our on-Broadway venues within walking distance. Food, however, is a challenge (DO NOT eat at any street carts in Times Square...unless it's a pretzel - these guys are not able to check temps on meat under these lights!!) and even the hotel food was mediocre. I'm sure there are exceptions on and off the immediate Broadway path, but in our 4 days, we didn't find them. Cosi, nearby, does a decent salad and flatbread. Back to the hotel - the biggest disappointment was the concierge floor upgrade. 1. They are CLOSED on the weekends (really??) and 2. as of June 2013, the "new rule" is that only one guest can accompany the platinum elite member...which meant we either had to leave our 10-yr old in the room or standing outside the door, or we did a trade-off and had to shuffle snacks out to the room. This is the most ridiculous policy I have encountered and it is strictly enforced by the suited guard outside the lounge. They are not kidding, and in fact agree that it's preposterous. So, we were able to enjoy breakfast on Monday morning, but not together. Bizarre. Otherwise, the hotel was clean, suitable for the weekend, and what I would consider an upscale utility hotel - kind of like a glass of good house wine when there is nothing else and you really need one then and there. Be sure to book a room on the side of 1 Times Square. While it's really just unadulterated advertising, it's spectacular technology for those who haven't seen it. Great views! And great late night entertainment with naked, painted statues of liberty and other American icons...is that a flag she's wearing???

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in the Marquis in August 2013, first of all the location is unbeatable if you are going for the Theater District and Time Square. The rooms are average but not great, there is nothing luxurious about the rooms but it is comfortable. There is not even a mini fridge in the room which is kind of expected at the price point. I paid $500 a night for a Time Square view and only could see a limited part of Time Square. Housekeeping was very considerate and not once did we get that annoying tapping on the door like most hotels. The elevators were extremely efficient and not once did I wait even though the size of the hotel is large. I ate at the restaurant on the 8th floor and the service and food were excellent. I would definitely stay again for the location but would expect a nicer room for the price.

Room Tip: I was on the 17th floor on the towards Time Square and had no trouble with noise or lighting thanks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our cost was $500 plus tax. Excellent stay. Problem with floor above was the loud sound when they used the bathroom. Sad for such a nice place. Great view of Times Square, we were directly across from the big signs. The View revolving restaurant is over-priced for drinks. The selection process to get in sucks. Wait in line is the only way in. Breakfast was remarkable. At $32.00 per person the value is really good. Problem is you can't get through more than one plate, maybe two if you can handle it. Coffee sucks. It's too strong and creates acid stomach.

Room Tip: A lot of tips go to keeping your bags in inventory until you can check in. The captain finally said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I checked in late and received the best service by the front desk associate. I don't remember her name but she told me she had recently transferred from Georgia. I travel a lot and have never received service like I did at the Marquis. By far best hotel in New York City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.