We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grade A Hotel in the heart of Time Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #167 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Grade A Hotel in the heart of Time Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I visited this Just recently for two nights on May 17-19. The hotel staff was very friendly. In addition, the room was a decent size, the room was spotless, and smelled good (didn't smell old). The hotel is very fancy and even has a Pandora store right inside the hotel. Along with approximately five restaurants. I highly recommend the View which offers a night time spinning view of NYC light up. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,421
    2,061
    613
    213
    144
See reviews for
1,685
1,256
186
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Right on Times Square - Center of everything! This hotel is a very upscale hotel which great restaurants and the rooms are beautiful. Plus the elevator system is very cool. It's pricey but worth it! If you're lucky enough to get a room with a view - it can be spectacular. This hotel also has a revolving restaurant on the top floor. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went to the Marriott Marquis in February for a long weekend. It was our second time staying there in the past 2 years. The first time we were there was with our 3 year old, and this time we brought our 18 month old as well. We chose the Marriott mainly because of the location, and also for the "fun" of the glass elevators for the kids. You can't beat the location if you want to be in Times Square. It's very close to Toys R Us, Disney Store, Sanrio (Hello Kitty), Hershey Store and M&M.

We are a Marriott Rewards member and were very pleasantly surprised when we asked for an upgrade to a Times Square view at check in, and our request was fulfilled. We like the rooms, you can't hear anyone in the ajoining rooms. We got a portacrib for the baby, and it looked new. All linens were nice a clean.

Last year we had the breakfast buffet included with our room, and we loved it. This year it was not included with our room so we did not go, as it is a bit expensive unless you are going to really stuff yourself. We went down to Starbucks every day and for $20 we had breakfast for all of us (coffee, milk, juice, bagel/pasty and fruit) which I find very convenient and inexpensive - we brought it back to the room every morning.

We ate "dinner" one night in the lounge area and did not care for the food at all. Would probably not go back there again.

We didn't use any of the other amenities in the hotel. We plan to return to NY again for a long weekend in a year or so, and will go back to the Marriott. If you go on their website you can see the calendar of rates to choose dates which work with your budget. Love that feature!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Upon arrival to this hotel, they tell you that you have to check in on the 8th floor and it took me less than 5 minutes to check-in. Once you get to the elevators, you punch in your floor number and it tells you which elevator to take (A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,I,J,K,L,M, or N). They have a computerized system that maximizes the use of the elevators and they are fast. Most of them are window elevators. The room windows are sound proof but beware. When I was there, I could hear taxis honking and my A/C was not working. I called the front desk and within 30 minutes, my A/C was back online and for some reason, there was an opening in the window and once that was closed, the window was soundproof and I slept like a baby every night. The restaurants are excellent and pricy but the quality is there. I went out for breakfast one morning at a local restaurant, had to butter my own toast, not asked if I wanted brown or white toast or bacon or sausage, and the meal was undercooked so I left half of it on my plate. The orange juice was in a tiny plastic cup. I had never had such a bad experience and for $12. No such experience at the Marriott restaurants. However, the Starbucks inside the Marriott was not open on Sunday evening (maybe it was closed all day???) and I was not impressed with that. However, the overall experience at the Marriott was fantastic. Great service, great room, great food, outstanding buffet (best I have ever had). Pricy hotel and food but the quality is there, unless you enjoy the undercooked breakfast just around the corner or a hot dog and coke from a street vendor for $10.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place in the middle of Broadway. Service was excellent. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Wish hand shower was there in the bath. Opens to Times Square which saves loads of traveling time and gives way for shopping. Lots of fun. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business, and absolutely love the hotel. From the location right in Times Square, to the great concierge lounge, to the comfortable beds, the list goes on and on. Overall, not much bad to say, and a great hotel to consider if you are in the Times Square area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANEOHE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying the night in NYC with some girlfriends we decided to stay somewhere central to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle and have a real experience on Times Square and Manhattan NY. When we did arrive at the hotel a little early, we thought we would leave our bags with the front desk with hopes that they would store it for us until we would be able to check into our room, much to our surprise they did have a room available and we didn't have to wait. The hotel has several elevators that take you to your room and and the lobby without having to wait long. The room was average in size, (if possible ask for a room with a view of the Times Square) our room had a partial view but was still nice. The room we booked had two double beds and a pull out sofa bed. We did make use of the nice business office to print out our boarding passes for our flights. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. This is a great hotel for those who want to be close to all the action of NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.