We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #174 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heart of Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Though I was here on business, the proximity to the TKTS booth was a nice plus for this supremely well-located hotel. Rooms are typical Marriott--comfort without luxury. The desks are bi level which is a bit awkward until you figure them out. I actually like the elevator system where you punch in your floor and are directed to the next elevator--it does seem to speed things up in such a tall building. For a quick delicious breakfast, skip the Starbucks on the first floor and head across 44th to Juniors and their bakery or To Go Entrance. And Shake Shack is just two blocks away on 8th.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the atrium (rather than the elevators) are actually very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,477
    2,123
    630
    219
    152
See reviews for
1,727
1,287
188
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

For location, its hard to beat, although they seem short of rooms that can accomodate families. The hotel itself is probably in need of a bit of refurbishment, as some of the common areas and our room appear to be in need of some touching up. Overall though, if you can get a good deal on the room rate, its probaby hard to beat, although doubt if we would cough up for the standard room rates - which seem a bit high - but maybe that was just New York as a whole - when conferences or conventions in the city seem to result in major fluctuations in room rates due to supply and demand. Try some of the comparison sites before you book, as you will be surprised at the variation in room rates available.

Room Tip: If you have vertigo, dont take the higher floors, as the atrium walkways outside the rooms can turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We checked in on a busy Friday night and the man was so nice, He upgraded us to a Times Square corner room. It was soo nice and spacious. The view was awesome.The hotel is expensive but is a one time adventure.The staff was so accomodating. The work out facility was perfect. The View on the 48th floor was a great spot for a late night cocktail. I reccomend for a one in a lifetime treat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on the 37 floor. The room was very large and spacious. The elevators were so much fun. You punch in your floor on a pad and it tells you which elevator to take. Watching from the 8th floor and looking up is fantastic.Scenic view from inside the glass elevator too. The Broadway Lounge on the 8th floor had awesome view of Times Square. The breakfast buffet was expensive so we only had a light breakfast. We never had dinner or there since we met friends at restaurants so I can't comment on those meals. Next time I go I want to go to the View on the top floor for dinner or dessert.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Being a Platinum member has its perks in hotel like this. The concierge floor is wonderful since we have free breakfast and hors d'oeuvres during select times. Our room as wonderfully large and the hotel is beautiful. It is convenient to so many places and we felt very safe in this area. The staff has been very pleasant and it was a pleasure to stay here. The fitness center was huge with very up-to-date machines and an assortment and large selection to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Marriott Marquis, New York and having never been to NY before we weren't sure what to expect. However the hotel whilst VERY large (and possibly a bit impersonal) we could not fault. Really good sized rooms - two queen size beds & plenty of space to move around - good size bathroom & well working shower - even a decent hairdryer!! Clean and well serviced, public areas tidy and very well organised - which must be areal challenge given how busy this hotel is. We did not use the restaurant but we did go up to The View Bar - which (whilst being on the expensive side!!) is definitely worth the elevator ride to the top for the views in the slow revolving bar. But beware - there is a minimum charge so if there is a group this could be quite expensive!
This is a very bustling hotel - but we did not find it excessively noisy - that said our room did not face on to Time Square. Lifts are constantly very busy - but we rarely had to wait long - but be mindful - they are glass elvators that travel very quickly - so if you're nervous of such things ....
The hotels' location is definitely its' strongest point - slap bang central to Time Square, Broadway theatres, Hells Kitchen around the corner for somje good eating, plenty of nice delis' etc for breakfast - so realistically you only need stay on a 'bed only' basis. Short walks away are all the major attractions (Rockerfeller building, Empire State etc) - little bit further on to the quayside for boat trips on the Hudson (highly recommended also).
Would highly recommend to any traveller - family or couple - it is what it is, a large corporate city centre hotel.

Room Tip: Non time square rooms do not have a good view but are reasonably quiet. Upgrades to a time square r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The best part in this hotel - it is his great location in the center of Times Square. Rooms and services - at the highest level. We lived in a room at 42 floor. The view from the window was simply amazing! The entire Manhattan in your hand! I think if you're a tourist, you do not need a fitness center (no more than a show-off of the Marriott hotel.), But that's slow speed wi-fi can not disappoint me. Eat at the hotel I'm not reccomend: the food is quite expensive, but lower quality. Better go to the tourist area and eat in a more convenient place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.