We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hordes, herds, throngs...oh, my!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of NYC Package
Ranked #149 of 449 hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hordes, herds, throngs...oh, my!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our rate was good, we had a really nice room that was on the 41st floor, and the services of the hotel were very good.

What I did not like was the fact that the hotel was huge, and that it loaded people like cattle from place to place via banks of elevators, always crowded.

But I would not recommend this particular hotel unless you really want to be IN Times Square, with throngs everywhere, and it's important to be close to Broadway.

WARNING: The Marriott Marquis wants $16.95 a DAY for internet service! It is February 2013, and every McDonald's in New York has wifi; I thought this was ridiculous, and did not pay it. I used my iphone exclusively, which was not nearly as convenient. Fuggedaboudit, Marriott...$16.95 a day for wifi is so 2010.

Room Tip: HIGHER FLOORS, away from the madding crowds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,831
    531
    187
    127
See reviews for
1477
1100
180
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Marriott Marquis in NYC (time square) is an excellent location and very comfortable. There is not much in time square that is inexpensive, but for your dollar you get a very comfortable room, a fantastic gym in a very central location. We have stayed at this Marriott a number of times just because it has so much to offer. The hotel bar has one of the best view of time square and is a great place to unwind. There is also a beautiful restaurant at the top that revolves so you can see the entire skyline.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Marriott Marquis is great--nice, large rooms with terrific views. The rooms are well-decorated and the hotel is well-staffed--there was always someone around if I had a question or needed help with my bags. There was also a well-equipped gym area. The only drawback to the hotel may not be a drawback for most people: its location in the middle of Times Square. The hotel is close to the subway, the NY Public Library, Grand Central Station, Broadway shows, and many other NYC attractions, but every time you leave the hotel you're surrounded by a mass of tourists as well as hawkers trying to get you to go to comedy shows or restaurants. So, while not the top place to stay for an authentic NYC experience, the hotel will serve your tourism needs quite nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel couldn't be in a better location. Restaurants, shows etc. just outside the doorstep. The rooms are very well appointed and the views are maginificent.

For business, the wireless connection was expensive for such a high level hotel but getting used to this. Restaurants were great and it was easy to find whatever you needed within the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

this place rocks! The atmosphere is awesome. Oh yeah.. love the elevator. The staff, food and room were perfect. We stayed there to just go to sleep. Was out and about throughout the city. The night was perfect for. A comedy show.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Huge hotel right in the middle of Times Square. The rooms look to have been updated recently and the kids had fun being in the middle do the action. However, the beds were lumpy and the pull out couch almost unbearable to sleep on. Also, the fitness center was nicely equipped. Try to get a view of Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned from a stay this weekend with my husband and daughter. I've been to NYC several times, but have never stayed at this property before. It is a MUST! The staff is incredible and friendly. Everyone was so welcoming and inviting and helpful. It was bitter cold outside on Sunday evening as we waited for a taxi and the Doorman pulled us out and got us a taxi quickly so my young daughter wouldn't have to wait in the cold! Our bellman at check out graciously "took care" of my daughters very precious American Girl Doll while we quickly ran into the gift shop to obtain a last minute gift. The rooms are incredibly clean, you are in the heart of everything. Our room was on the 24th floor and the view was amazing. I can't say enough about this property and we weren't even able to take advantage of a fraction of the amenities. We could see the gym from our floor and it looked very very nice. If you are going to NYC for business or pleasure, you cannot beat this property. Every detail is spot on!

Room Tip: you have to get a Times Square view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.