We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for help” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #166 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't ask for help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are looking for the big, impersonal, we-have-our-rules corporate hotel in Times Square, then this may your place. But be careful, because if you ask for help, even if it costs Marriott zero dollars, be prepared for disappointment. My family booked a number of rooms at this hotel for a family event. A simple request was turned down by a junior assistant front office guy with a truly bad New York attitude. And when I called the national Marriott customer service center for help, the Marriott employee on the other end of the phone could most charitably be characterized as rude and disrespectful. The commitment from customer service to call me back never happened.

With a long business career involving too many hotels stays and way too many airline miles, I have a good idea of reasonable requests. Apparently Marriott does not.

In short, there are lots of places to stay in New York City. Perhaps you should consider alternatives. We certainly will be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    1,952
    569
    203
    138
See reviews for
1612
1173
185
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Checking in was a very good experience with friendly staff and prompt service. Everything we were looking for was meet with a smile. The room was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay because of the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the property. The value for the services provided was above expectations and we enjoyed our entire stay. I would recommend staying when visiting New York. The location was perfect for everything we had to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is vast, it feel like it belongs in Vegas not New York. Staff were all friendly, from check in to check out everyone was very helpful. We arrived around 2.30am due to flight delays and the US customs assumptions that everyone is a terrorist...which means passing through JFK takes an age!

Once at the hotel we ascend to floor 8 for check in. This hotel is built in an atrium design and has a central, circular bank of lifts (approximately 14??). To ensure the correct lift is chosen there are key pads at the entrance....type in your floor number and it tells you which lift to go to...A, or B, or C etc. Quite efficient considering there are around 48 floors to service.

Our room was on floor 41. It was larger than expected, very spacious, clean, well appointed and nicely decorated. The windows are floor to ceiling and we had a partial view of Times Square, overlooking the TKTs booth, many of the bright lights and general goings on! The two queen size beds were exceptionally comfortable. My usual issues with hotel rooms didnt raise their heads here. Plenty mains sockets, replenished toiletries, easy to use TV, powerful consistant shower & housekeeping that respected the "Do Not Disturb" sign. Roomwise it was all very good....except for the lack of a kettle. Americans seem to like to filter coffee....so a coffee filter is provided, albeit useless to the non-coffee drinker like myself.

The hotel bar is comfortable and quite lively. Despite the bar being busy seats always seemed to be available. Some seats had views of Times Square, others sat in groups, some at the bar and some watching the numerous plasma screens showing the latest ball game. Service was reasonably quick considering the turnover, always friendly. Drinks prices were high enough to reabilitate most alcoholics but are on par with most hotels and popular bars in the area. As an experience it's worth the visit, although it would be costly to sit here for a full "session"!

The hotel also houses two Starbucks...one the usually offering and the other situated within a gift shop. I used them on four occasions. Second visit they misheard "Grande" and gave me a Tall. Next visit they charged me for a coffee....One dollar more than the hot chocolate I ordered and recieved. I couldnt be bothered to join the queue to debate 70p but i was beginning to wonder what was happening to the US service culture!

Breakfast in the hotel is approx 30 dollars. Local deli's charge about 6 dollars. We didnt eat at the hotel although..............The hotel boasts New York's only rotating restaurant called The View". Located on floor 48 it's fairly well hidden! We visited The View twice for cocktails, roughly £10 each drink but worth it for the experience and I think we'll be trying the food next time. The View takes 1 hour to fully rotate. I get the feeling that the new builds around the hotel have diluted the effects that being 48 floors in the air should have given. Its still worth a look though.

We arranged a late check out, albeit at half daily rate, conceirge were very helpful and efficient with our left luggage.

The only bad points that spring to mind are pretty minor. There was a "wet floor" warning sign just outside the ice machine room on floor 41. In that area there was a very strong smell of mould. We noticed this on arrival (it couldnt be missed) and as a first impression I was expecting a somewhat smelly room..although this did not turn out to be the case. The smell in that area however was just as strong when we left! Another issue, although which cannot be helped was that the sheer size of the hotel makes it almost impossible to "nip back to the room" quickly!

Overall the quality of the property is more than adequate and has a feel of something special about it. The location is fantastc and if a decent deal was available we'd return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

You have easy access to everything here. the rooms are nice, although I recommend higher floors, as you can hear outside noise. You can walk to many things and have easy access to the subways. I found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. My one complaint, and it is not isolated to this hotel, but wireless access is no longer a luxury, it is a necessity and should be provided to guests, especially at a hotel with these rates. I was going to break down and buy it, but the reviews said it was slow and terrible, so I didn't.
Great view from the rotating restaurant at the top. Comfortable beds. Very cool and efficient elevators. Do NOT rent a car in NY--public transportation and walking the only way to go! And definitely get to the World Trade Center site--a must (also easy to get to by subway.)

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Traveled to NYC for a USC - Syracuse college football game weekend in mid September. I've stayed in the past few years and the hotel location defines this hotel. I was lucky that I got to use my points and Elite Status instead of spending $619+ / night staying there.

The room was clean but basic. The check-in was unevenful and staff attitudes were ok. Unwelcoming and a bit of smile would be nice. May try to stay at some of the hotels next door next time I'm in town.

Getting on / off the elevator can be challenging. They're always packed with faceless expressions except for the USC fans, of course.

So in summary, if you're into NYC / Time Square experience and don't mind paying extra for the experience, this hotel may be a good choice.

There's a great and authentic Chinese restaurant that serve Hong Kong style food without you're catching a cab across town called Johnny's. It's about 2 blocks from the hotel. I'm Asian and always go to this restaurant everytime I'm staying in NYC. It'll beat the crowds and pickpockets and high MSGs at the China Town.

Room Tip: Request for room facing Time Square if you don't mind paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

On a business conference with my husband, 19 yr old twins a 13 and 11 yr old. We booked an executive suite with interconnecting room. Room are enormous and contained a double sofa bed and separate king bedroom. The other room contained two double beds and a sofa. The beds were extremely comfortable, however the pillows not as good. Staff will assist you with any enquiries however if you require new room keys ensure that you carry ID atall times. The hotel is also very busy which makes it a little conjested at times. The location is outstanding, right in the heart of Times Square. Would return to this hotel in a flash - truly recommend this one for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Rooms all generic. Would suit the businessman but don't book if you want s romantic get away. Changed room in first day due to big dip on my mattress. Second room was ok. Just don't order room service. 10 inch pizza was obviously cooked from frozen out of a packet and the fries were dry as anything. Clearly had been sitting on the side for a long while. Not good for $41 snack

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.