We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious, convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hill East Suites

Save Saved
You added Murray Hill East Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Hill East Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 451 hotels in New York City
canterbury UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“spacious, convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this 'suites' hotel in mid-may 2014. Rooms were large, cleaned daily. There were plenty of local shops and eateries. When we were there they were experiencing an early hot spell and the air-conditioning didn't really work which made the nights uncomfortable as if you opened the windows the noise of the street would keep you awake. But by the second week the air-conditioning magically started to work so I can only assume that during the cold weather that same system is used for heating. When the weather heats up they must switch it to cold. Our loo flooded the first night but this was promptly fixed. Yes the decor is tired but this is more than made up for by the size of the rooms. No free wi-fi in room which is irritating but I am sure if the rooms were re-decorated and wi-fi provided then the nightly cost would be higher. We paid $305 for one bedroom with two queen beds, living room with sofa bed, kitchenette and bathroom. We were 3 adults but the suite could have slept 6. Yes I would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a high room at the back of hotel for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    278
    91
    30
    13
See reviews for
172
129
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Well, my room was great and big. Location is very good. However, by the price of this hotel they should provide free wi if to all its customers. There are usually a lot of people in the lobby area using the only spot of free wi fi in the whole hotel building.

Room Tip: I got a room with a King size bed just for me, so ... The coffee machine in my room was dirty when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early May. We booked it through priceline.com and got a good deal. When we checked in we were upgraded to a junior suite which is basically a one bedroom flat with a lounge cum dining area, a bedroom with queen bed and a kitchenette. The kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave, electric stove and basic utensils. The decor may be dates but the room had everything that one needed, especially a large space.
The location is very convenient, on 39th East and Lex. Lexington is full of restaurants and shops that makes the lack of a restaurant in the hotel a non-event. There is a Starbucks a block away.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: A larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this apartment hotel on our first trip to New York.Our room was so spacious,it was basically something like a very spacious one bedroom apartment.The location was just perfect!Very close to 5th avenue,Times Square,Empire state building...The room was very clean and the housekeepers kept it clean everyday.I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this apartment hotel after New years. This hotel is very cozy and spacious for New York. It doesnt provide any amenities, but you are in NYC. We had a cozy queen size bed, our suite had a small kitchen, and a good size lounge area. The decor is a bit out dated, but the room was clean. It is a great value for friends or families even. You are 3 blocks away from Grand Central and the 5th Avenue. Time square is also close by. Subway is 5 minute walk, and there are restaurants and venues close by. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

trust me i was a NYC tour guide

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was booked into here for 5 nights recently while working in midtown. Location is excellent, 3 blocks from Grand Central. Lots of restaurants close by. Check-in and check-out was fast and hassle free. My suite was on 4th floor and was large and spacious. Everything worked as expected. Plenty of clean towels.

Furniture was cheapish and slightly tired looking. No air conditioning however - only heating/cooling vents in the kitchen and bathroom. I always felt cold in bed because , while there were plenty of pillows, there was only one thin blanket provided.

Wifi was free in the lobby - otherwise it was $8.99/day or $59.99/month in the suite. No weekly rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had one night at the hotel. Despite some of the furnishings looking a little tired, the room was very clean. The location was excellent and having a kitchenette was great. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Address: 149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hill East Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hill East Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.