We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hill East Suites

Save Saved
You added Murray Hill East Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Hill East Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 452 hotels in New York City
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“An excellent place in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early May. We booked it through priceline.com and got a good deal. When we checked in we were upgraded to a junior suite which is basically a one bedroom flat with a lounge cum dining area, a bedroom with queen bed and a kitchenette. The kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave, electric stove and basic utensils. The decor may be dates but the room had everything that one needed, especially a large space.
The location is very convenient, on 39th East and Lex. Lexington is full of restaurants and shops that makes the lack of a restaurant in the hotel a non-event. There is a Starbucks a block away.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: A larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    285
    91
    30
    13
See reviews for
179
131
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this apartment hotel on our first trip to New York.Our room was so spacious,it was basically something like a very spacious one bedroom apartment.The location was just perfect!Very close to 5th avenue,Times Square,Empire state building...The room was very clean and the housekeepers kept it clean everyday.I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this apartment hotel after New years. This hotel is very cozy and spacious for New York. It doesnt provide any amenities, but you are in NYC. We had a cozy queen size bed, our suite had a small kitchen, and a good size lounge area. The decor is a bit out dated, but the room was clean. It is a great value for friends or families even. You are 3 blocks away from Grand Central and the 5th Avenue. Time square is also close by. Subway is 5 minute walk, and there are restaurants and venues close by. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

trust me i was a NYC tour guide

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was booked into here for 5 nights recently while working in midtown. Location is excellent, 3 blocks from Grand Central. Lots of restaurants close by. Check-in and check-out was fast and hassle free. My suite was on 4th floor and was large and spacious. Everything worked as expected. Plenty of clean towels.

Furniture was cheapish and slightly tired looking. No air conditioning however - only heating/cooling vents in the kitchen and bathroom. I always felt cold in bed because , while there were plenty of pillows, there was only one thin blanket provided.

Wifi was free in the lobby - otherwise it was $8.99/day or $59.99/month in the suite. No weekly rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had one night at the hotel. Despite some of the furnishings looking a little tired, the room was very clean. The location was excellent and having a kitchenette was great. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am going to be honest, I was led to this hotel via a last minute Hotwire reservation and was very nervous. As you can see there are mixed reviews all over the internet for this hotel. I am sort of a hotel snob and am very afraid of taking home little critters from hotels. I was skeptical of Murray Hill East, but boy was I wrong!! I really liked this hotel. It was clean, bug free and super convenient.

When I arrived, the man at the front desk informed me that my room had been upgraded. I don't know why but I appreciated it! My room was on the third floor and was beautifully quaint. Dark carpets and furniture, but clean white sheets and blankets. I always check hotel beds for bugs before using it and there were no signs of life...what a relief! Seriously, I was ecstatic at the cleanliness of the room. It reminded me of staying in my grandmothers old apartment in NYC. I stayed by myself, but there was enough room for multiple people. I did not use the kitchen for anything but it also appeared clean although a little old.

My room did not look like many of the photos. I added some as it looked way more up to date than many of the pictures others added. Perhaps this is the difference between an upgrade and a regular renovation. I am thinking that they have updated some but not all of the rooms and I got lucky with the upgrade.

Overall, I am very happy with my stay and very thankful to Murray Hill East Suites for making a last minute trip to NYC stress free for me. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

Things to be mindful of:
-It is NYC...it will be loud. I feel asleep with the (HD) Television on to try to drown out the sound.
-The provide shampoo, lotion and soap but no conditioner!
-The hair dryer is very outdated. It had about the same power as a public bathroom hair dryer. I had wet hair for the whole day.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or a renovated room. I had also read that the front desk staff can be grumpy. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent location, we had a one bedroom was very spacious. Nice kitchen and living area. It is great if you don't like to eat out every meal...

I wish we could have stayed there this last trip.... Got very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Address: 149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#230 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hill East Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hill East Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.