We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hill East Suites

Save Saved
You added Murray Hill East Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Hill East Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 451 hotels in New York City
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

These apartments are well situated, especially for anyone working at the UN (10 mins walk), but also for anyone visiting NY who likes the extra space and convenience of an apartment. I was upgraded from a studio to a 1-bed apartment which was great for entertaining colleagues. The apartment was very quiet, and comfortably furnished with adequate, though not elegant, appointments. The kitchen was well-supplied, and perfectly suited to making breakfast or a light meal if you want a night in. Everything was clean and working. My only gripe is the charge for internet access in the apartment, although free wifi was available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a quiet one. But expect it to be pretty dark (which is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    278
    91
    30
    13
See reviews for
172
129
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great value for your money! Robert the doorman is great, friendly, very helpful and takes care of you as if you were at home! I usually stay in 4 star hotels in Manhattan -- which were fully booked last week due to the holidays -- and from now on I will make the Murray Hill East Suites
my standard NYC hotel. Furniture is old fashioned BUT 1)clean, 2)well maintained and 3)very functional. Our suite (2 rooms, kitchenette, bathroom) was very spacious, well iluminated, had a view of the Empire State, was very tidy and clean. The location is excellent (5' from Grand Central, grocery store at the corner, supermarket one block away, plenty of restaurants/pharmacies nearby) and still the street is not too noisy or crowdy. Having both a spacious desk to work, plus a table to eat, plus three big wardrobes made it possible to have all our stuff organized as if we were at home and not living out of a suitcases as you usually feel in a standard hotel room. Finally, we stayed three days at a similar hotel two blocks away on 39th (the Eastgate Towers) for the same price and expected a similar service/type of hotel, but the latter was a huge disappointment and totally run down. So, in case you look for a spacious suite, with a European, old-fashioned but cosy flair, very clean and with great service, then the Murray Hill East Suites is your best option in Manhattan!

Room Tip: We had a suite looking at the front, with Empire State view in the 6th floor. Two rooms, plus kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Recently, we stayed at the Murray Hill Suites East for one night. I booked it via Hotwire two days before our trip. The purpose of our trip was to shop and dine in the mid-town Manhattan area so this hotel is perfect. its about 15-20 minutes walk to time square and Macy. The parking garage is close by and only $25 per day with hotel validation, relatively inexpensive in Manhattan. We took the last room with two queen beds located at the 2nd floor facing the street. It was nosy, you could hear everything from the street traffic. It didn't border us since we were so tired after walking all day and we only stay for 1 night. Next time, I would definitely try to get a room at higher floor and facing the back of the building. Also, the hotel is dated and definitely need some renovation but its clean. Lastly, the room is huge for hotel in Manhattan. there is a separate sitting area and kitchen so its perfect for family with kids. I'd stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: high floor, facing the back of the building. Ask for parking validation (40% off)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife had visited NYC before, but this was our first visit together and staying in Manhattan. Being budget-conscious we booked this hotel on an online 'sight unseen' website, so there is a bit of lack of control in selecting the hotel. We reconciled the cost (over $250CAD per night) with the convenience of being mid-town. However, we were pleasantly surprised, given some older reviews.

We arrived via the Airtransporter from La Guardia and were dropped off at Grand Central Terminal, about a five minute walk from the hotel. Our first impression of the staff was favourable and lasting - we found them polite and helpful. As we arrived mid-morning we stowed our bags and headed into the town. On our return later we found ourselves in suite #102 on the first (ground) floor, which featured an enclosed outdoor patio. The suite was a large living room (sofa, two armchairs, dining table and chairs, wall-mounted flat screen TV), large bedroom (king bed, plenty of closet space, wall-mounted flat screen TV), bathroom and small, equipped kitchen.

First of all, it was clean and warm. Decor is not 'modern', but not worn out either; our suite was fine, certainly for a few days in the city. It is roomy, so I think it would be comfortable for a longer stay. The kitchen was adequate - four settings of plates, cutlery, etc - and a dishwasher, fridge, microwave and gas stove. We only needed breakfast at the hotel (we came to see NYC, not the hotel!). However, apart from a kettle and a broil tray, I think it would be hard to 'cook' anything on the stove.

The bed was very comfortable (certainly had two thumbs up from my wife) and clean. There is a safe in a closet, but it was missing a lock of any sort. Fortunately this was not a problem for us, but if you wanted to secure your passports, cash, jewelry, etc it is a concern. We did not follow up with front desk as we didn't need it.

Location? Not bad at all, but be prepared to walk to mid-town attractions, or cab it. We found walking to be easy and interesting. Grand Central (5 minutes), Times Square (15 minutes), Macy's (15 minutes). Subway - north/south Lines 4,5 and 6 - go to either 33rd and Lexington (7 minutes) or Grand Central (42nd and Lexington - 5 minutes). Grocery store and liquor store on 3rd Avenue around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Incredible value for excellent location. You are close to many NYC attractions - feels like you are in your own (OK, more like your grandmother's) apartment, not a hotel - but that's OK...most people love their grandmother. I have paid more for a much smaller hotel room, so if fancy and new is not super important to you, this is perfect. Very friendly staff also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for a week here in August 2012 when checking out daughter into NYU. Absolutely no complaints. Very clean, very easy to get around Manhattan from here, very nice staff. I really like this neighborhood. Quite at night, nice markets and a liquor store near by. Although if you're coming into or leaving town via Penn Station, it can hard to get cross town at certain times. Not the hotel's fault, just something to remember when planning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms are large. King Bed. Sofa two chairs and a round four top in the sitting area. Spacious kitchen by Manhattan standards. Lots of closet space. Furniture and carpet are dated and worn but clean. Linens are fresh.

Outstanding value. Convenient to Grand Central, Bryant Park, Empire State Building.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Address: 149 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hill East Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hill East Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.