We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but rooms are a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Broadway to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Broadway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking & Breakfast
Ranked #304 of 463 Hotels in New York City
WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, but rooms are a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

This hotel is in a GREAT location!

I booked it through Expedia for $300/night. My room was a bit run down. A few comments -

1. The bed was extremely hard/flat, but after a day of running around town, you won't care.
2. The bathroom did have granite countertop ... maybe the best part of the room??
3. Internet cost money. What am I thinking??? It is NYC afterall.
4. Make sure that you call in advance to "request" a room with a view and then make sure you call again the day before just to make sure that the request went through.
5. Don't use the ticket people in the hotel for shows/plays. They charge you at least 2x if not 3x as much for tickets.
6. Do use the concierge for restaurant recommendations.
7. The show 'Altar Boyz' was comedic & worth seeing.

There are a bunch of restaurants. The two that I ate at were exceptional (and not too pricey either).

1. Triomphe (try the scallop in truffle sauce, garden salad, and lamb - very delicious).
2. Balthazar (lamb dish is AMAZING! bread is delicious too).

  • Liked — Location is excellent
  • Disliked — rooms are shabby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,325
    642
    316
    197
See reviews for
716
1,243
137
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

The Millennium Broadway Hotel, towering 52 floors is centrally located in Times Square, just steps away from many Broadway theaters, tourist attractions, great shopping and dining options.

I stayed in a superior room on the 50th floor which offered superb views of Times Square. The room was quite large, decorated in modern décor, with a king size bed and nice bathroom. The hotel was kept very clean and the staff was very helpful. The lobby was a lot smaller than the lobby at the Marriott Marquis just across the street and was quite dark. The hotel restaurant was very nice but expensive and the room service menu did not offer a lot of options at all.

  • Liked — hotel location (across from GMA studios)
  • Disliked — Not much lighting in guest rooms, waiting for elevators
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

The Millenium was nice, clean and had decent sized hotel rooms. The two of us had no problem moving around in there. The hotel is about a half-block off Broadway at Times Square. It's a good, but crowded, location. Still, you can walk over to 6th Ave. and get a cab easily.

At night, security demanded to see hotel room keys before letting you get very far into the lobby, which was a nice touch. The hotel also has an ATM on the second floor and a theatre desk in the lobby, so you don't have to go anywhere to get theatre tickets.

My friend was in town for work and she said the desk and chair in the room was very nice to work at -- comfortable and convenient. She also had no problems getting into her work email account, a problem she has had at other NYC hotels due to fire walls built into the Internet system.

I wouldn't suggest ordering breakfast from room service. It was overpriced, a bit bland and only luke warm. Then again, I've never had great room service food.

Upon leaving, I was offered a town car to the airport at just $39, including tolls. A cab costs $35. That was great.

  • Liked — clean, updated
  • Disliked — room service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

We stayed on the 38th floor in a superior room and it was fantastic.

Fair enough the hotel may not be the 'coolest' - not like Dream or Night (try the Ava Lounge at Dream for great cocktails and views down to Time Square) - but it had everything we needed.

We were apprehensive about the room size as we had heard that NYC hotel rooms were tight but when we opened the door to the room we were bowled over - it was huge, had a great view of Time Square, the bathtroom was nice, lots of storage and the mattress was sooooo comfy (wanted to take it home with me!).

Room was kept clean and the staff we talked to were all very friendly.

The hotel may be a bit more business than tourist and I think the facilities reflect that in a good way - the gym was fantastic. I am always apprehensive when a hotel says it has a 'fully equipt' gym and you turn up to find just a bike and one treadmill, the Millennium's had four treadmills, four cross trainers, a stepper, seperate weights room, showers/changing facilities and lockers.

Two things to remember - make sure the air con is on as the place heats up quickly and don't expect to get on a machine at 6.30 a.m. without a queue. Americans like to do their workouts before heading to work.

Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but did have room service one morning while the other half went to watch the Celitc Rangers game at a stupidly early hour and the food was great, not that much more expensive than the menu downstairs.

There is a good diner however just a street back from the hotel called the Brooklyn Dinner.

Time Square is a great place to be located as you are slam bam in the middle of everything, however, there was a couple of occassions when I wished I had stayed downtown as, after a day pounding the streets, the last thing I wanted to do was fight against the throngs of tourists in the square to get to my hotel.

If you like running I would recommend taking a jog in Central Park - just 10 minutes run away from the hotel. We thought 'do as New Yorkers do' and did a loop of the park and it was great, you don't run out of things to look at.

We never had any problems while staying in the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and we felt good value for what you got. Just don't expect DJs to be spinning the top tunes at the weekend like you might find in other hotels in the city.

I would however recommend trying to ensure you get a renovated room in the tower so that you don't encounter any of the problems other guests have said they have faced in the hotel.

Would definately recommend this hotel if you are looking for something that isn't 'hip' but that ticks all the right boxes like comfort, cleanliness, proximity to attractions etc ...

  • Liked — The mattress and gym facilities.
  • Disliked — at times the location - throngs of people to fight through in Time Square especially at night.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas and Milwaukee, Wi
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Great location!! Near Broadway shows and all the tourist spots up and
down Broadway. Only two little irritations: The bedframe sticks out more than the mattress, so be careful you don't run into it with your
feet and toes when you first walk into the room. The showerhead and water pressure is horrible!!! It is very hard to get the body entirely wet at one time, just above a trickle is all you will get from this shower, and removing the showerhead is useless. Otherwise, great location, great staff, and great price for the heart of Time Square. Would go back again and again!!

Anyone who loves home cooking and BBQ MUST eat at Virgil's BBQ just across the street from the hotel. Awesome BBQ (and we are Texans, home of some of the best BBQ in America!) where we get the best BBQ Brisket in America) anyone who loves BBQ needs to eat at Virgils Home Cooking and BBQ, great service, great portions and not a bad price for NYC! Overall, the hotel is great and the location is the best!!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — The showerhead and trickle of water that came out of it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

As a frequent visitor to NYC, I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a safe, clean hotel in midtown. The hotel is quite large (52 floors), so checking in-out/ retrieving your car can take some time, especially on weekends. Parking is on the pricing side - $45 per night. Most hotels, eg. Sofitel, charge around $30 per 24 hrs.
Tip: one can request a room on a higher floor with views of Times Square.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

It is so rare that a hotel room, even the most expensive one, is actually quiet, but my room at the Millenium was blissfully quiet. No sounds of elevators, slamming doors, the tv next door -- nothing. On the 26th floor, behind double-glass windows, even the sounds of Times Square traffic were almost inaudible.
The beds were firm, but I love that so I slept beautifully. And the staff was friendly and immensely helpful. I loved this place.

By the way, the Airlink Shuttle serves this hotel, and it's a great bargain.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Broadway

Address: 145 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Broadway 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel New York City
Millennium Broadway Hotel
Millenium Hotel Nyc
Millenium Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.