We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was new at the Millennium” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel Broadway to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel Broadway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now
Ranked #294 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It was new at the Millennium”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in need of a big facelift. It was redone in about 1999 and it shows. My room had dripping stains in the bathroom on the wall paper and the room had very very dirty carpet. My king size bed had queen sized sheets that did not tuck under the mattress. The tv was a flat screen but only had poor analog signals. The Internet was not usable with an iPad since the page that authorized it would not load correctly. On the laptop it was very slow (except when I woke up from a wrong number on my hotel phone). Room safes are no longer in the closet, but the evidence remains that the once were there. Staff was fine, check in was fast and polite. Hard to get a taxi with the bellman but the will arrange a car service. For some reason taxis are rare on 44th but abundant on 45th.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    1,477
    720
    337
    208
See reviews for
853
1,358
146
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have returned to this hotel to my great chagrin. I really liked the hotel and its location and have stayed there several times (see previous review). Clearly, the management has abandoned all training. Our beds were not properly made, and when we complained, they were re-made and a dirty sheet was left behind a chair in the room. The floor hadn't been vacuumed. I saw a doorman ignore many travelers, only help the females parties, and spit in the street.; As for upkeep in room 1907, there was mold in the shower, the furniture noticeably nicked, carpet fraying, one lamp had no knob, When I voiced my complaint to an assistant manager, I was told I only ordered the standard room for only $350 per night. Don't worry, I won't book a room again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stay at this hotel every time we visit NYC. It is quiet, clean, reasonably priced, the staff is very friendly and efficient and, most of all, it is in the perfect location, just off Times Square. It is within easy walking distance of all theaters and hundreds of superb restaurants. In case you haven;t visited New York recently, there are never cabs available when you need them. So, if you have theater tickets,say, for 8:00 Saturday night, you can forget about getting a cab to get there. You can either hire a limo or walk. If shopping is your thing, it is an easy walk to 5th Avenue. The rooms are not luxurious, and could probably use some upgrading, but they are fine. I also wasn't thrilled to have to pay for internet, but that's all I can think of to complain about. So, give this gem a try, but please: keep it under your hat. We don't want it to be too popular so we can't get a room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I recently found ourselves stranded in NYC during Hurricane Sandy. We moved to the Millenium Broadway to ride out the storm. Our room was unbelievably large (for anywhere, but especially NYC -corner king room). I have stayed in NYC many times, but found that even though this is a "touristy" area, it is within walking distance of almost everything, including Hell's Kitchen where restaurants to suit any taste. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Being in a touristy area such as Times Square definitely has its benefits, especially when it comes to the great restaurants in the Hell’s Kitchen District. Though Hurricane Sandy may have put a damper on things, I’m glad you were able to enjoy your stay during a not so great time. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Met by Monique Madison -
the Premier Consierge, what a lovely lady. Nothing was a bother to Monique, from early check-in to late-check-out. The breakfasts were lovely, the cocktail bar in the evenings first class - especially when waited on by Nyshraf, what a great fellow, very obliging. The rooms on a high floor were large by NYC standards, and a bonus if you don't like aircon you can open the two windows for fresh air. Lovely huge bed and very comfortable. Finally after a hug and kiss from Monique we left our lovely hotel but we will be back..................................soon, look out Monique!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the hotel are of a higher floor and a better view. Our room was south fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our sister property, The Premier Hotel. Monique and Nyshraf are just great and we are lucky to have them part of our team. Having the breakfast and the evening cocktails in the Premier Lounge is definitely a bonus! I’m glad you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!


Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed with my kids here a couple of years ago. Rooms for Manhattan are quiet ,clean and spacious. Being within steps of Times Square is great when visiting NYC with 4 kids. I understand being that close to Times Square isn't for everyone. But why this hotel deserves an Excellent rating is their Reservation staff. I received a phone call from Mr.Robert Bove a week before arriving, ensuring we had 2 adjoining rooms and beds etc. I am a Hilton Diamond Member, Starwood Gold member, and I never received this kind of service. So thanks again to Mr Bove and the reservation team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Hotel Broadway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Service is important to us and Robert is definitely an asset to our team. I’m happy to hear we were able to accommodate your requests to ensure you and your family had a pleasant stay. We look forward to servicing you as our guest in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked into this hotel as part of a large marathon runners and supporters group (one of several countries' worth by the looks of things). We also arrived hard on the heels of Hurricane Sandy, so understandably the staff were under a lot of pressure on our arrival. Check in was very busy but there were 3 staff members attending to a couple of large groups and we were checked in within 20 minutes, so not a problem.

Unfortunately, we were allocated a smoking room on the 28th floor. It absolutely REEKED of smoke and was most unpleasant. I rang the desk and spoke to Maurice, who was quite brusque, rude and disinterested - he would not change our room whatsoever, before hanging up in my ear. We had to endure 2 nights in this room before we were finally swapped to a non-smoking room and this was only achieved because our tour organisers stepped in.

The rooms themselves were very tired and in need of an upgrade. Cleanliness was borderline, especially in the bathrooms. The first room had dodgy plumbing and the water didn't empty well after showering so your feet were left in dirty looking puddles, best not think too long and hard about that! The beds were comfortable but only had a very thin duvet inner on top (not even in a duvet cover), which in November was inadequate. We had to ring down to get another blanket as there were no spares in the second room.

In a kind gesture the hotel waived the internet fees for the marathon groups after the marathon was cancelled, it usually costs $12.95/day - I'd assumed it would have been free anyway. There is free wi-fi access in the lobby, the clerk will give you the password to connect.

The location of the hotel is superb, so close to Times Square and the theatres of Broadway. Try your luck in a cancellation queue - we did and got seats 4 rows back for a fraction of the cost. Some shows also have auctions for cheap tickets, enquire at the show of your choice if this is an option. Apparently the show to see is the Book of Mormon, but we heard it's quite irreligious. We saw Chicago and it was fab.

Breakfast was included for us and was just fine for a couple who generally like muesli and fruit; if you want to try the typical "American staples" of waffles, pancakes etc, these were also served on a rotational basis. Can remember thinking a full American breakfast was a bit pricey, you'd be able to get cheaper elsewhere.

Generally the staff were polite and helpful (apart from Maurice that one time).

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker and are given a room on the 28th floor, do not budge until they have give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#201 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,926 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#225 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,161 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#45 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#204 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#159 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Broadway

Address: 145 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Broadway 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Millennium Hotel Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel New York City
Millennium Broadway Hotel
Millenium Hotel Nyc
Millenium Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.