We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. Marriott Quality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #191 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Value. Marriott Quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here couple of years ago as part of our honeymoon. Only reviewing now as not a member then. So apologies if anything is different. We arrived at night and were given a friendly greeting including the offer of cookies and complimentary drinks to the room. We explained that we were non drinkers and not a problem. A large selection of soft drinks and milk arrived. We were on floor thirty something and what a view. We could see statue of liberty and a walk into the outer hall and views down into the 9/11 site. Hotel room nice with comfy bed. Located in the financial district and wall st and battery park all easy walking. 9/11 memorial a few streets to the rear and subway close by which is great for the rest of the city. This hotel is great value compared to similar hotels nearer times square. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to read about how our associates went above and beyond to assist your needs. What a nice treat that must have been!

I hope you had a memorable Honeymoon!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    489
    145
    41
    20
See reviews for
292
237
72
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was chaperoning a group of teenage choir members for a weekend and we stayed at the Marriott. We were a big group, 94, and filled up various parts of the Marriott at times. The Marriott was extremely accommodating and handled the crowd with ease. The rooms are very nice and many had great views of the Hudson, Freedom Tower, Statue of Liberty, etc. The restaurant was great also, and served our group quickly with very good food. The location is also close to most subway lines, so even though much of what I wanted to do was not downtown, getting there was easy from this location. Overall, the people working there made the difference, but the property is nice and modern also.

Room Tip: The views facing south and west are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad that your group had a fun weekend in NYC. I really appreciate your comment about the staff making a difference. We try to instill this spirit throughout the hotel and truly live Mr. Marriott’s motto of putting people first.

I hope you had a nice time seeing the choir perform at Carnegie Hall. What an amazing experience that must have been!

Kind Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was the perfect hotel for a family weekend in New York. We got 2 rooms at a great rate on Priceline, and were very pleased with our rooms and the hotel in general. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom with a great shower and very quiet. We could see the Statue of Liberty from our room. The Financial District is a great location for sightseeing - walking district to Battery Park to catch the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island - and close to a subway station and the 9/11 Memorial. Maria was very helpful with directions and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. Nearby George's Restaurant is a great place for breakfast and Ruchi Indian Cuisine is delicious.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting New York City.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for you terrific review. It is so nice to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Maria is a terrific associate and goes above and beyond to assist our guests. I will make sure to pass on your comments to her.

Hope to see you again!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Marriott downtown is my preferred hotel traveling weekly to a client site. The staff are very warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable. They are open to assist with any issues or concerns and make you feel like more than just a room number ;-)
Kwesi is awesome, very funny and a great asset to your location. Keep it up Marriott Downtown!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. I am glad that the New York Marriott Downtown is your choice hotel to stay in NYC. We at the New York Marriott Downtown strive to provide terrific service. Kwesi does a terrific job at making personal connections with our guest. I will make sure you pass on your wonderful comment to him.


Hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

classic style new york hotel with very attentive and helpful staff. the bed was comfortable and the room was decent. Close to ground zero and a couple blocks from the water. nice spot to get everywhere

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for you wonderful feedback. I am delighted that our staff was so attentive to your needs. I hope they were able to make your stay brilliant.

Please come back to see us again.

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This location is ideal in downtown Manhattan. It is convenient to business areas, subways, restaurants,etc. The service that I received was excellent. They were professional, friendly and courteous. The room was very nice and comfortable. It is small,but this is Manhattan. I would strongly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We at the New York Marriott Downtown strive to provide an excellent stay from check in until check out. I am very happy that our staff was able to accomplish this.

Hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was the worst marriott we ever stayed at! They were recovering from storm damage and we were not told when we booked. Desk s t affordable were rude and not helpful at all. Parking was expensive. I would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We did indeed suffer damage from Hurricane Sandy in October of 2012. We are very soory you were not informed of the construction during your visit in March of 2013. Our goal is to provide the best customer experience and I apologize we did not do this for you.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.