We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of NYC Package
Ranked #188 of 449 hotels in New York City
Lon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“5 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We found this hotel comfortable and welcoming an ideal base for our stay. Although lively the area is less frenetic than mid town. Very close to the 9/11 memorial. Very good restaurants close by. Close to subway giving easy access to all NYC

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    449
    130
    39
    17
See reviews for
254
202
68
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was on a business trip to the financial district. This Marriott is more suitable for the business traveler. The rooms are small but the beds are very comfortable. There are no good restaurants but you can always walk down to some good eatery in the neighborhood. The cabs are always available and you can even use the underground metro for faster service. Parking is a nightmare in downtown New York hence never rent a car but use the public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I decided to try the Marriott Downtown for my recent business trip because hotels in NY were outrageous at the time (all my normal hotels over $500 per night), and the Marriott was a bit over $400. At that rate, and with my Gold status, I assumed that would mean a quality stay. I was wrong.

No dispensation for Gold status. Small, uncomfortable room (for a four day stay), which they tried to argue with me was an upgrade. Staff was completely unhelpful and unpleasant from check-in to check-out. The only bright spot was that at the very end of my trip, I needed a space to rest up a bit before going to the airport, and a manager arranged for me to have access to the gym to shower and change. That bit was appreciated.

Location is inconvenient unless you are in NY for tourism, or have business specifically in the Financial District. If you need to get anywhere else in the city, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with friends and although this hotel has great amenities and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the hotel itself is a quite a distance from the action. Staff were accommodating and helpful. The hotel would be great for business visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A decent location for downtown NYC and for business, only 3 or four blocks over from Wall St. The rooms are a reasonable size and have comfortable beds. Other than that, the facilities are limited. There is no restaurant or bar on site at the moment as they are renovating them (again - this is the third time I can remember in the the last four or five years), except for a Starbucks. There is a concierge lounge for qualifying guests, and it did a decent enough job of breakfast. I was dissapointed with it's drinks service though as they charged bar prices for bottled beers - this is free in most Marriott's I've visited that offer this facility. The lack of on site catering is compounded by the very average other local dining options (one of which is being used on a temporary basis for room service, though they advise this can mean a wait of an hour for food - though my experience was somewhat quicker). I will still use the Marriott, but not until the facilities are finished, and it is frustrating that I wasn't advised of them at the time of booking.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and some on the souh west corner have views of the Statue of Liberty. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here May 31-June 2 for a family event. We were in room 814 which looked right down Albany Street to the Hudson River. The room itself was fine--clean and adequate. The staff at the front desk was friendly. It is a quick walk from the hotel to the subway on Rector Street to go uptown, a quick walk to the Hudson River, or over to the 9/11 Memorial. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the wifi fee. Perhaps this is the norm for hotels in the city, but I am not used to this at the other hotels where we stay. We will definitely stay here again when we visit my sister.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Rooms were small but staff were helpful. The venue is close to Wall Street and right next to the 9/11 memorials. There is no bar or resturant but plenty close by. Clearly a business hotel and not for tourists. The costs were also very expensive. Look for other cheaper venues first

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.