We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms for New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Big rooms for New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What made this stay for me was the size of the room and the comfort of the beds. The beds were sooooo comfy!! I'm accustomed to traveling to NYC and staying in a cramped hotel room, just barely big enough to fit me and my bag. I was pleasantly surprised upon entering our Double Bed room and finding so much room. Me and my two girlfriends stayed in NYC to attend a show at Radio City Music Hall and the extra was perfect for 3 women getting ready. We took a cab to Radio City which was roughly about a 15-20 min cab ride. We drove up from Boston so I was most concerned with a public parking garage nearby as opposed to proximity to Radio City and there was a garage right next door. We didn't take advantage of any of the local sites, but did note that we were literally right next door to the 9/11 Memorial. Had we more in the City before leaving we definitely would have checked it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were attending a conference held here. Our room was much larger than others we have had in NYC. A pleasant surprise. The room was immaculate and well furnished. The conference went smoothly. Overall, very impressed. Staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip but did some sightseeing as well. Staff were very helpful and informative. Rooms were clean and comfortable and we completely enjoyed our stay there. At this time there are limited late dining options in the hotel, but many eateries in the area. There is also a lot of WTC construction to navigate, but that would impact any hotel you chose in the area. In a nutshell, highly recommend the Downtown Marriott.

Room Tip: Some rooms have gorgeous views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel has a ways to go before it becomes a 5 star location, & Sandy seems to have taken out most of the expected amenities. But, these things can be overcome when customer service is 5 star. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while in NY. The hotel was aware thanks to family. We were upgraded to an upper level room, facing the Hudson, which gave us awesome sunsets. We were presented with wine & chocolates, congratulations, & a personal note from the person who checked us in. They made us feel special. We did not get to visit most places on our agenda due to Sandy's destruction and outside temps of 30 degrees with 20 mph winds. We will be back soon & will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: "Upper level rooms facing the Hudson river have awesome sunsets"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spangler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location and has a really good view of the Statue of liberty (Depending on if you get the right side). I swear on my life this hotel has the comfiest beds that I have ever slept on. The rooms are clean and updated and it just looks clean (unlike most hotels). Hotel has really nice samples of bath and body works for the shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Its the best. I loved looking forward to get a good nights sleep (It's like right when you hit the bed you are asleep). Next time I come to New York I will stay at this hotel again! Thanks for a wonderful stay! Oh and the breakfast is decent (Your normal hotel Continental breakfast). Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed here one night in order to have a longer stay in New York. I did really like the hotel, but if you are staying in New York to tour this is not a really central location to stay. Other than that the room was great. Very Very clean and spacious bed and bathroom. Loved the extra room for New York. I would definitely return to this hotel if I would go to New York again. The bed was comfortable and I liked the extra space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My firm has an office right down the street, and the New York Marriott is a great location for business travel in the lower Manhattan area. The rooms are perfect to unwind after a day in the hustle and bustle of New York. Try to get a room on the south side of the hotel to get a glimpse of the water and maybe the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. Easy access to the World Financial Center complex with less than a one block walk until you're covered.

Room Tip: Great views possible on the south side facing West Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,473 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing