We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms for New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of NYC Package
Ranked #188 of 449 hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Big rooms for New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What made this stay for me was the size of the room and the comfort of the beds. The beds were sooooo comfy!! I'm accustomed to traveling to NYC and staying in a cramped hotel room, just barely big enough to fit me and my bag. I was pleasantly surprised upon entering our Double Bed room and finding so much room. Me and my two girlfriends stayed in NYC to attend a show at Radio City Music Hall and the extra was perfect for 3 women getting ready. We took a cab to Radio City which was roughly about a 15-20 min cab ride. We drove up from Boston so I was most concerned with a public parking garage nearby as opposed to proximity to Radio City and there was a garage right next door. We didn't take advantage of any of the local sites, but did note that we were literally right next door to the 9/11 Memorial. Had we more in the City before leaving we definitely would have checked it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    448
    130
    39
    17
See reviews for
253
202
68
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were attending a conference held here. Our room was much larger than others we have had in NYC. A pleasant surprise. The room was immaculate and well furnished. The conference went smoothly. Overall, very impressed. Staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip but did some sightseeing as well. Staff were very helpful and informative. Rooms were clean and comfortable and we completely enjoyed our stay there. At this time there are limited late dining options in the hotel, but many eateries in the area. There is also a lot of WTC construction to navigate, but that would impact any hotel you chose in the area. In a nutshell, highly recommend the Downtown Marriott.

Room Tip: Some rooms have gorgeous views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel has a ways to go before it becomes a 5 star location, & Sandy seems to have taken out most of the expected amenities. But, these things can be overcome when customer service is 5 star. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while in NY. The hotel was aware thanks to family. We were upgraded to an upper level room, facing the Hudson, which gave us awesome sunsets. We were presented with wine & chocolates, congratulations, & a personal note from the person who checked us in. They made us feel special. We did not get to visit most places on our agenda due to Sandy's destruction and outside temps of 30 degrees with 20 mph winds. We will be back soon & will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: "Upper level rooms facing the Hudson river have awesome sunsets"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location and has a really good view of the Statue of liberty (Depending on if you get the right side). I swear on my life this hotel has the comfiest beds that I have ever slept on. The rooms are clean and updated and it just looks clean (unlike most hotels). Hotel has really nice samples of bath and body works for the shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Its the best. I loved looking forward to get a good nights sleep (It's like right when you hit the bed you are asleep). Next time I come to New York I will stay at this hotel again! Thanks for a wonderful stay! Oh and the breakfast is decent (Your normal hotel Continental breakfast). Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed here one night in order to have a longer stay in New York. I did really like the hotel, but if you are staying in New York to tour this is not a really central location to stay. Other than that the room was great. Very Very clean and spacious bed and bathroom. Loved the extra room for New York. I would definitely return to this hotel if I would go to New York again. The bed was comfortable and I liked the extra space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My firm has an office right down the street, and the New York Marriott is a great location for business travel in the lower Manhattan area. The rooms are perfect to unwind after a day in the hustle and bustle of New York. Try to get a room on the south side of the hotel to get a glimpse of the water and maybe the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. Easy access to the World Financial Center complex with less than a one block walk until you're covered.

Room Tip: Great views possible on the south side facing West Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.