We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for downtown NYC business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #193 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for downtown NYC business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My firm has an office right down the street, and the New York Marriott is a great location for business travel in the lower Manhattan area. The rooms are perfect to unwind after a day in the hustle and bustle of New York. Try to get a room on the south side of the hotel to get a glimpse of the water and maybe the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. Easy access to the World Financial Center complex with less than a one block walk until you're covered.

Room Tip: Great views possible on the south side facing West Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    527
    154
    43
    22
See reviews for
322
261
73
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days while visiting NYC. Our room was very nice and roomy for a big city hotel. The location was good... only a few blocks from the subway and with a lot of restaurant choices in the area. This was good since the hotel did not have a restaurant at all. The service was great and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok for a place to sleep. Front desk staff were great. Rooms pretty good for a NYC hotel. Location great if you want to visit the World Trade Center memorial. You have a 5-7 block walk to subways into the heart if NYC. That was the major drawback for me. You will have thus walk and a subway ride to any other area of nyc. Location not great. There is also no restaurant on site, bit even a coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Marriott several times for work and since it is a 5-10 minute walk for me to work - this hotel is very convenient. I stayed here right after Sandy hit and there used to be a free breakfast in the morning in the lobby...post Sandy there is a breakfast buffet upstairs, but it is around $15 and it's not worth it for scrabled eggs and fruit. Internet service is $12.95 for 24 hours and several other hotels in the area offer some of these basic amenities in the room rate. Customer service is good, rooms are nice and clean and the prices are decent for the financial area district. The noise is also minimal in the rooms. So even though this isn't the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I would still recommend for a short NYC trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel, which formerly had a bar-cafe, a nice restaurant, and a Starbucks, now has no inside dining, other than a small breakfast buffet (pre-renovation Marriott Courtyard style). . Room service was delivered to me - in 45 minutes plus - from a diner which is a block and a half down the street - and when the food came, it was of course lukewarm. The sundry shop has been reduced to a Courtyard-style closet (with no over the counter medications that I could find). The boarding pass printer - moved into the Fedex Kinkos shop - didn't work. What a disaster! So sad for this formerly fine establishment. when i'm on a business trip - particularly one during poor weather - it's important to have access to food IN the hotel.

oh despite all the missing amenities, I still paid lower Manhattan prices......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the staff were excellent. The location is right next door to the 9/11 memorial, and is a 1 mile walk to China Town and Little Italy. In the evening we went to an off-broadway show and took the subway back to our hotel at 11:30 pm and it was safe. We stayed our first night in Times Square and it was AWESOME, so even though this hotel is very nice, I think it is much more fun to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, but they are having a hard time overcoming the lack of amenities due to damage from Sandy. There are no restaurants in the hotel open for service. The closest dining or fast food is a 1 to 2 block walk, and when it is 30 degrees with a 30 mph wind it is a bit inconvenient. The bellhops need to be more attentive. I had to drag my bags up a half flight of stairs to get from the curb to the elevators – not good guys! The location was good for my visit to WFC, right next door, and the room was comfortable. I would wait until the property is restored to full service before staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.