We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Amenities are sparse but customer service is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #192 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Amenities are sparse but customer service is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Marriott several times for work and since it is a 5-10 minute walk for me to work - this hotel is very convenient. I stayed here right after Sandy hit and there used to be a free breakfast in the morning in the lobby...post Sandy there is a breakfast buffet upstairs, but it is around $15 and it's not worth it for scrabled eggs and fruit. Internet service is $12.95 for 24 hours and several other hotels in the area offer some of these basic amenities in the room rate. Customer service is good, rooms are nice and clean and the prices are decent for the financial area district. The noise is also minimal in the rooms. So even though this isn't the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I would still recommend for a short NYC trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    489
    143
    41
    20
See reviews for
290
236
72
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel, which formerly had a bar-cafe, a nice restaurant, and a Starbucks, now has no inside dining, other than a small breakfast buffet (pre-renovation Marriott Courtyard style). . Room service was delivered to me - in 45 minutes plus - from a diner which is a block and a half down the street - and when the food came, it was of course lukewarm. The sundry shop has been reduced to a Courtyard-style closet (with no over the counter medications that I could find). The boarding pass printer - moved into the Fedex Kinkos shop - didn't work. What a disaster! So sad for this formerly fine establishment. when i'm on a business trip - particularly one during poor weather - it's important to have access to food IN the hotel.

oh despite all the missing amenities, I still paid lower Manhattan prices......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the staff were excellent. The location is right next door to the 9/11 memorial, and is a 1 mile walk to China Town and Little Italy. In the evening we went to an off-broadway show and took the subway back to our hotel at 11:30 pm and it was safe. We stayed our first night in Times Square and it was AWESOME, so even though this hotel is very nice, I think it is much more fun to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, but they are having a hard time overcoming the lack of amenities due to damage from Sandy. There are no restaurants in the hotel open for service. The closest dining or fast food is a 1 to 2 block walk, and when it is 30 degrees with a 30 mph wind it is a bit inconvenient. The bellhops need to be more attentive. I had to drag my bags up a half flight of stairs to get from the curb to the elevators – not good guys! The location was good for my visit to WFC, right next door, and the room was comfortable. I would wait until the property is restored to full service before staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and large, for downtown Manhattan. Bathroom was updated. Bed was comfortable. It's also well located; walk to downtown appointments, subway to others and 5-10 minute walk to the PATH as well. Breakfast in the club lounge was good with a variety of options. And the morning newspaper was a WSJ, instead of the USA today that most hotels give out. Hotel lobby was pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at your extremely lovely hotel on last week however the outward appearance did not reflect the level of service I am accustomed to. Rooms were extremely nice however a little more attention to cleanliness would have been appreciated. I left a dirty towel behind the commode that was there when I got there and it was still there when I left despite my request that it be removed. (unacceptable) Why should it take 45 minutes to get a pot of coffee from room service. I normally will stay with Westin branded hotels but have recently been staying at Marriott properties after my recent stay with this hotel all I can say is I love the location and it is extremely beautiful however if I want to be pampered and feel like my business is appreciated I will return to Westin in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is a very beautiful and luxurious hotel .The rooms are very clean .
The people were friendly when we needed to ask for help or directions .Would definitely return anytime .We did not get to try out the extras offered ; pool, spa or gym .It is next to the world trade center's new site .There are a few places to go and eat.We went to O'Hara's for lunch.It is a decent Irish spot near the hotel.Also i recommend the BLT bar and grill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.