We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #194 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything and more you'd expect. Perfect location to everything. Great shopping and of course restaurants Close to theater and park. Hotel service was amazing and friendly. Points didn't hurt either. Always gets you the best view available

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    527
    154
    43
    22
See reviews for
322
261
73
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Took our nieces 8 and 5 into the city for a sleepover. This hotel was great! Right next to the 911 Memorial, there's a playground across the street, Seaport within walking distance, rooms were huge. Most NYC hotel rooms are not this big. The girls got a stuffed bear when we checked in. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was very good. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We hadn't booked accommodation about a week before we were due to arrive in NYC, so many of the TripAdvisor top recommendations were booked up. Added to that, prices were very high for anything that didn't look like too much of a gamble.

We stayed (3 adults and 1 child) in mid August 2012 and found it to be a good place - but there are some qualifications to that statement:

1. As we stayed over a weekend, we noticed that this Marriott had a comparatively good rate - if I had payed midweek rates I think I'd have been (much) less impressed.

2. While the location is right by the Trade Centre Memorial and is convenient for Battery Park Ferries, there is little else to see beyond Walls Street. However, the subway network is very good indeed from the location and therefore getting around is very easy, especially if you buy the Metro passes.

3.Because the hotel is situated on West Street, its is also easy to get a taxi uptown or to the East side quickly and quite cheaply.

As for the hotel itself, it was clean and well appointed. Everything the Marriott usually is and promises. Check in was efficient and staff in general were polite and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom well appointed.

We ate one evening in the restaurant and it was disappointing for the price - we found other places around and about to be much better quality.

Because the hotel seems to principally cater for weekday visitors, we found it to be a bit soulless and lacked any real charm. The only common area was a rather scruffy lounge with poorly laid out seating.

All of that said, for the rate we paid - about £200 per night - it represented much better value than much else on offer at the time. So provided you don't mind taking the subway and aren't expecting an interesting hotel with a lively nighttime scene, then it definitely does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Better to get up high for the views but you will pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for frequent nyc business travelers. They have easy access, via subway, to all points. Their concierge is the best ever! Exec Chef Ed prepares incredible food! They have very nice, professioal staff! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at the Marriot during a visit to New York after getting a deal on Priceline. The hotel is directly next to the World Trade site and can get very busy during the day with tourists paying to tour the site. Bear in mind that this hotel is some distance from times square and other popular areas, the nearest subway station is shut at the moment which confused us when trying to get around.

The hotel itself had a nice lobby, reasonably friendly staff and nice rooms. We checked in and discovered that there was a $12.95 charge for wifi which was excessive for this type of hotel. The rooms were spacious and had great views as well as big bathrooms and plenty of storage space including an empty fridge.

The major dissapointment for us during this holiday was check out. Our flight was not due to depart until 10pm and we respectfully asked if we could use a room for 10 minutes to change and have a quick shower before getting to the airport. We were told that we would have to pay half the normal nightly rate which was a rather pricey $179. We asked again if there was any other option, to be told that we would have to pay to use the facilities. We came back later on in the day to collect our luggage and tried again, this time a member of staff allowed us to use the gym, however the showers were dirty, there was no soap, only used towels were available and we were annoying other guests as our suitcases were taking up so much space. After rushing to get ready we handed back the gym key to the receptionist who could tell we were not happy, but did nothing to help.

Overall, the rooms were spacious and the facilities were ok. I would only stay at this hotel again if an offer were available. Otherwise I would suggest better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown the beginning of September. Check in was a breeze and our room was on the 35th floor overlooking the river. It was a good size room, clean, and everything was in working order. The elevators are fast and we never had to wait more then 30 seconds. The maid service was very efficient and our room was always made up when we returned to the hotel from our daily adventures.

Since we arrived late we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant for the first night. We were pleasantly surprised how great the service was and the food was very tasty. However, there are lots of other dining options within walking distance of the hotel.

This is a fantastic location to check out the WTC, financial district, and close to the Staten Island Ferry. The subway is only 2 short blocks away. If you stay for a week I suggest that you purchase the Metro Pass for $29. It gives you unlimited rides on subways and buses for 7 days. If you do 6 return trips on transit it pays for itself and you don't have to worry about having the exact change when getting on a bus.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel trades on it's location for business travelers as it is looking very tired in rooms and public areas. Rooms are quiet, towels were virtually threadbare, Internet is good, public areas poor, and toilets off hotel foyer were in desperate need of cleaning. This was my first stay downtown, and I will revert to mid-town for my next trip as this was expensive even by NY standards.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.