We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property in a convenient location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Save Saved
You added New York Marriott East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Parking Package
Ranked #291 of 451 hotels in New York City
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice property in a convenient location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a recent business meeting at the hotel and extended a few days. I found the property to have a great location with a friendly staff. By New York standards, I found the size of the room to be generous and the on site amenities to be great including the lobby lounge/cafe. We would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We had two doubles and while the view was not great, the room was sufficiently sized to accomodate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    507
    225
    74
    47
See reviews for
251
299
59
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here 10 years ago and remember it as being nice. Well, I don't think the carpets have been cleaned since then. The whole place has a worn, dingy feel--you know, dust and fluff along the baseboards, stained carpet, fingerprints and smudges everywhere, worn linen. What a disappointment. Marriott's quality is becoming more uneven. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to send us some feedback. I will ensure that this information about the room is shared with our team to make sure we are providing the best experience for our guests. We strive to show all our guests an exceptional hospitality experience in regards to our service and product and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during this past stay. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It has been a long time since we were in NYC. Since it was where our wedding hosts were staying. The location is wonderful. It was an easy cab ride or walking to the places we needed to be. Our room was pretty good. We like to have 2 double beds and we had plenty of room. Nice closet for wedding dress up clothing. Room had a nice NYC view. We are Gold and enjoyed breakfast only once. It was a pretty good selection of food. Went to one of the restaurants listed on the hotel website and really enjoyed.

One issue...there was construction that started at 7am in the room below us. It totally ruined our morning of sleeping in. They had to have known that when we checked in and they also knew we were there for a wedding rather that a business person that would be up at 7 anyway. We were compensated with additional Marriott points and the staff was most apologetic but we did not get our sleep back.

Don't know if prices were good or bad for NYC. Did get a special rate for weekend nights. Would likely stay there again as we did enjoy the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott East Side. Our goal is to always provide brilliant and consistent service to all of our guests and I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your past stay. We definitely appreciate you feedback and that you took the time to let us know of your experiences. We would love to have the chance to host you again in the future so please don't hesitate to reach out if you happen to be back in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is the worst from check in to check out. The restaurant was so bad the manager did not charge us for four meals and drinks. The rooms are the size of a postage stamp and over priced.

I am a Marriott Elite Member, and will find a different place to stay on my next trip to New York.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott525, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Vince,
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us and apologize for the bad experiences that you may have had at our hotel. Our aim is to provide a great experience to our guests and it looks like we did not meet your expectations of service. I will definitely make sure to speak to the restaurant about your stay in order to make all future experiences better and I thank you for your feedback.
We value your feedback and please feel free to contact us at your convenience if you wish to discuss the issues you have stated. As an Elite member, we thank for your loyalty and if you do decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently stayed at the Marriott East in New York City. This hotel really needs a makeover. Very small lobby and quite noisy. The restaurant is open to the lobby and bar area, not very romantic.
The food is below par. Had to send ours back and ask for refund. The room itself was somewhat
seedy and could also stand to be redone.
Overall was quite disappointed with the Marriott East. Would not recommend staying there until some changes are made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good morning

On behalf of the Marriott East Side hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback regarding our service and the overall quality of our hotel.

From your comments, you mentioned your disatisfaction with the size of the room, the food in the restaurant and also the atmosphere in the Lobby. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations in most areas.

Our goal however, is to address your concerns and improve on them to the best of our ability. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further discuss these issues.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward in serving you brilliantly in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very attentive staff will see to your every need. Concierge is excellent and won't steer you wrong. The rooms, like most in NY were a bit small and could use some updating, although you had most everything you needed. Small things like cleaning the glass on picture frames or wiping off the lid on the Q-tip holder seemed to be overlooked but overall was very clean. Bathroom was small and my wife had no place to sit to put on makeup. Shower had great water pressure and temperature worked pretty good, but it drained a bit slow. A/C never seemed to be as cool as the control stated, but was very sufficient. The best part was the bed. Very nice mattress and makings. Plush pillows. Very nice overall. Nice sized desk with lots of plugs and internet connections. Wi-Fi was extra. We did not dine at the hotel but they had a nice dining room. Gift shop was very small. Top notch service everywhere. Location wasn't bad. East Central Manhattan and close to the subway. Many restaurants within walking distance and Broadway shows were only about a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: A hint-if you like it quieter at night, don't get a room on the front side of the hotel. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here in May for a sightseeing trip with our 12 year lad. The Hotel was great. I am afraid we didn't see much of it as we were out from morning till night. We were on the 15th floor. We had a great room at the back of the Hotel. The room was very clean and very spacious. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We did have a drink in the Hotel bar one evening just while we caught up on emails etc..but after coming to $40 for 2 glasses of wine and a soft drink we decided not to do that again. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here either.There was a fridge in our room so that was good to keep water, soft drinks and beer cold!! Also had tea and coffee making facilities. We found this Hotel was a great central location to everything we wanted to see. It looks like a long walk on the map's but it really isn't that far. We were close to it all. Central Park, 5th Avenue, Chrysler, Empire and Times Square. On the morning we were leaving, our flight wasn't until 6.30 that evening so the Hotel stored our bags for us so we could go out and enjoy the time we had left. When we collected our bags I noticed they had a computer and printer available to print off our boarding passes. If we ever go to New York again I will definitely book here and I would also definitely recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.