We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott East Side to your Saves list
New York Marriott East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #324 of 464 Hotels in New York City
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Loved it! We stayed at the Marriott East Side in Manhattan over 4th July weekend so were expecting to pay a fortune for the room but were really impressed with the prices from hotel.com for our stay. The hotel was in a fantastic location (no more than 15-20 minutes walk to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Central Park and most major attractions). We were on the 25th floor and had a real city view (Waldorf Astoria just a stone throw away). The staff were great - very friendly and helpful. As soon as we checked in the staff took care of everything and the Porter arrived with our bags within seconds. He was really bubbly and gave us a lot of good advice (all of which turned out to be spot on!) - like where to go for the 4th July fireworks, how to get to places and the best times to be there. The NYC pocket maps at the hotel were a godsend.

The room was for 3 people and there was more than enough room for all of us. It was very clean and obviously refurbished recently as it wasn't as dated as some of the other hotels we'd checked out in Manhattan. There was a huge king-sized bed (which I guess is Superking in the UK) and even the fold-out bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size - it wasn't huge but had a bath and shower (which was great). We also had an ice machine right outside our room which came in useful!

Checking in and out was painless and when it came to arranging a late check-out, there were no issues whatsoever. We had help with booking our seats for our return flight and also checking the weight of our luggage.

I can honestly say I don't have a bad word to say about the hotel.

I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    596
    287
    97
    59
See reviews for
306
353
71
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

A great location made this this ideal venue, but the hotel itself was a little tired. The rooms were dark and the whole place felt old-fashioned. The executive club was closed at the weekend, but when it was open had a good selection for breakfast. Overall an okay experience, but not a five-star experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Was guaranteed a KING bed. Lied to upon arrival, and put in a room with a FULL bed, not a queen or a king. Called their customer service and was told that I was wrong, and its a queen. I cant even fit in this little bed, the hotel was WILLING TO DO NOTHING for me

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — being lied to by the employees
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Rooms
I had a nice big room with a king size bed on an upper floor, as requested. Room was equipped with a safe, coffee maker, iron and enough closet space.


The hotel in general and facilities
24h fitness studio with steppers, treadmills and basic weight machines is available on the 35th floor with a nice view over midtown Manhattan.

Wifi internet is available for a fee of USD 15.95 plus tax/day.

Service
Friendly and efficient staff throughout.


Location
The hotel is centrally located on Lexington Ave and E 47th Street, not far from the UN and other midtown locations.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I stayed at the Marriott Eats Side May 19-21 for a conference. The hotel is in midtown in what I call "lawyer city" as there are probably ten thousand lawyers in a ten block radius. As a business traveler to New York it is a great hotel, pretty lobby, nice rooms, comfortable beds, safe area, near the subway, etc. As a pleasure visitor I would not stay here because the area of town is dead at night. There are not many good restaurant choices nearby. However it is good for a conference. It is within a block of the W Hotel, the Intercontinental, and the Waldorf-Astoria. The one thing that really made me angry though was that there is a $16 charge for the internet. It should come free.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Just returned from 5 nights in NY and have one word for this hotel....PERFECT. Great location and staff was always friendly and helpful. Had read some scary reviews, but everything was lovely. Rooms recently renovated. Decided for more space so we booked the junior suite which came with a fridge. Even though we were on the 6th floor, never heard any noise. Not much of a view but peacefully quiet. Also never had to wait for an elevator. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, I definitely recommend taking advantage of the concierge lounge on the 16th floor. Good breakfast, drinks, snacks, and desserts. If Kenda is working, she is the best concierge I've ever worked with. She printed subway maps and gave us some great tips for our vacation. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Superb on all accounts!
The rooms are on the smallish side, but the Marriott standard is in every detail. It is very clean; the linen and bath towels are luxurious. Coffee making available in the room and housekeeping are very obliging if you want more supplies. There was a tiny fridge in our room in addition to the minibar, which was excellent for storing some bought water, fruit and yoghurts for breakfast.
The reception service is wonderful – very courteous and nothing is too much trouble attitude prevailing throughout. Drinks and snacks from the bar downstairs were first class.
The absolute best about this hotel though was its location. It was incredibly close to the Chrysler Building and the Grand Central Station; a short stroll to MOMA and Guggenheim and a pleasant 20 minute walk to the Empire State; beautiful East side Brownstones all around; Waldorf Astoria literally across the road; Bergdorf around the corner. The subway station is also a stone’s throw away. From there you have easy access to the CBD and the Staten Island Ferry, Central Park, etc.
For the shopaholics – Macy’s, Barney’s, Century 21 and the rest are all within easy reach.
From the airport – it is worth arranging transport via the hotel. It appeared to be a very cost efficient option and the service was great – on time, help with the luggage, safe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.