We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel and safe location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott East Side to your Saves list
New York Marriott East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #315 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean hotel and safe location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Marriott’s have a reputation for cleanliness and excellence and the East Side location certainly fit the bill! We arrived on the later side (around 9:30pm), but the front desk was fully staffed and we were checked in and up in our room within 5 minutes of walking through the door. As with many New York City hotels, it was on the smaller side, but we didn’t mind as we didn’t plan to spend much time in the room. More importantly, it was clean. There was a nice view of city buildings from our small window, which was lit up beautifully at night. The bathroom was a little bit hard to maneuver in if the door was open. Our only two complaints would be the bathroom did not have a fan, so you had to keep the door open to avoid it getting all steamy. And our tub had a little bit of a drainage problem, so there was a puddle of water at the bottom of the tub. Hotel staff was kind, always smiling, and very helpful. The hotel is also located in a fantastic neighborhood in Midtown, with lots of nice restaurants and walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Bryant Park, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, and Central Park. We would definitely consider staying here next time we go to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    562
    263
    83
    54
See reviews for
282
327
67
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amman
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very rude and cold reception. Requested a spacious room and on high floor but was given a room at the 4th over looking Lexington Avenue. When I asked the receptionist whether the room is noisy or not she rudely answered " it is for you to judge not me" and never tried to help claiming this is the way they talk in NY! H manager was kinder but didn't make a difference. Being a Marriott reward member didn't help me much.

Room Tip: Not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The New York Marriott east Side is in an excellent location very near Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central Station. The hotel itself is beautiful with very clean rooms. The only downside is that you have to pay for internet in the room and it is very pricey at $16.99 per day. The hotel staff are amazing especially Carmen who checked us in-so friendly with a beautiful smile! We very very comfortable in the room and had a beautiful view of the Chrysler building, albeit we 32 floors up. All in all a great experience and we would stay there again in a "New York" minute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onset, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was a tour leader for a group I booked at this hotel; the group services leader was wonderful and took care of our needs without issue. Despite there being limited parking out front, the staff managed to get our two buses parked, unloaded, and moved out of the way easily for both our arrival and departure. Service was great. Hotel was super clean. Location is fantastic! Rooms were very comfortable. We ate breakfast at the hotel, but were on our own the rest of the time; their restaurant was under renovation, but they did a good job providing a temporary space for food service. Lobby was a bit small with large groups checking in (lots of luggage), but we managed well. We stayed here in June of 2011, but that date wasn't available for selection.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the less street noise you'll hear. Although with that said, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel staff at the counter acted like it was a bother to even look at you much less answer a question for you. I am from VA and maybe that is the attitude for NYC, but I have met some great people in NYC and this was not the place. The maid service was fantastic, always say hello and anything you needed they would go out of their way to get it for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott East Side for 5 nights in April. The lobby is really nice, but the rooms are showing some wear and tear. Snags in the carpet, worn window coverings, sort of tired looking bathroom. The bed was very comfy. We chose this hotel for it's location, as we'd stayed there before. The location is excellent. Just 2 blocks from Times Square and Rockefeller Center. The front desk staff were ok. Not hugely friendly, and the doormen weren't overly friendly either. We aren't sure if we'll stay at the East Side again. Not because of the hotel, but we want to stay in a different neighborhood

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott East Side a few times now, and each time I am impressed with the staff. From the doormen to the concierge floor, the staff are friendly and helpful. You can't do much better for location - Lexington and 49th make walking to Times Square, the Park, shops, etc. a breeze. The gym requires a weird elevator change on the 32nd floor, but it is well kept and has good machines and free weights. It is certainly adequate for a few days. The lovely lady who cleans the gym is terrific and has a smile that will start your day off right. If you forget headphones, no worries as they provide them in the gym so you can watch TV on the cardio machines. The rooms are fairly typical Marriott rooms. No frills, but the beds are great and the rooms are clean and well kept. No complaints for this consistently excellent property.

Room Tip: Street noise is always an issue in NYC, so the higher up you are, the better. There are 2 elevator b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.