We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay and above all service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott East Side to your Saves list
New York Marriott East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #313 of 457 Hotels in New York City
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
“excellent stay and above all service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband, daughter and I visited NY over the thanksgiving holiday to celebrate a birthday. We attempted to book the Mariottnin Time Square as we stayed there previously but wee unable to get a room for the dates we needed. I booked the East Side hoping for the same serive and type of rooms. WE Were extremely happy with both at this hotel

Check in was extremely quick suprisingly considering it was a holiday weekend. We even arrived about 4 hours before our designated check in time and our room was ready. The lady behind the desk was extremely sweet and courteous to my daughter wishing her a wonderful birthday. Our room was a king size bed room. It was a bit Small of a room...however it was extremely comfortable and Clean. I knew prior to booking that the rooms were a bit small because the building is historic thus the rooms are different than the newer sections of the hotel or newer hotels. The rooms. Comfortably fit all three of us and to be honest we usually spend very little time in the room when I. NYC

We had ONE PROBLEM when in this room which worked out to our benefit because of the wonderful customer service at the hotel. At about 3:00 AM there was a noise of banging pipes possibly the heater or water. The next morning we politely complained and the manager immediately told us that he was sorry and moved us the another room....he even UPGRADED the room to a Suite at no extra charge! The man who moved our luggage told us that our room was in the older portion of the building. In any event the situation was handled wonderfully

checkout was quick. However,we waited a while for our car to be brought in from the garage (about 25 minutes). The hotel in response deducted a day from our parking fee without our even asking for a deduction. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    561
    261
    83
    54
See reviews for
282
326
67
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We've have stayed in the New York Marriott East Side the second week-end of December for the past 8 or 9 years. One would hope the hotel would make an effort to reach the minimum services Marriott offers its best customers. Not this hotel. Front desk is very patronizing and, inspite of the "Oh we're so glad you're here and thanks for being so loyal to Marriott' assigns run of the house room on a lower floor where there's lots of street noise. Housekeep is non-repsopnsive to requests - heck, even in New York they should be able to deliver a towel in less than 3 hours. The music is unbearably loud in the gym and the lower floor elevators stop once every 3 days. It goes on and on. Breaking up is always hard to do but next year when we return we'll stay around the corner at the Hyatt where the rooms and service have to be better than this.

Room Tip: Good rooms at around the cornor at the Hyatt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My best friend from NC was visiting me in NJ and we took an overnight trip to NYC and we always stay at the Marriott. This one in particular is in a great location, few blocks from Central Park and Broadway and Time Square. Great location and great price. Doormen and front desk help were very polite and happy. Room was clean and updated, our room was on the small side, but we were just there to sleep and the beds are super comfy ! It was a perfect night stay in NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Really nice staff, clean, and great location. Right in the middle of it all- can walk or catch a subway to most anywhere in NYC here. Typical New York hotel, rooms are not real large but they are comfortable and clean. Recommend this property without reservation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Marriotts are consistent. Clean and with good service. This one is no different except for 2 issues upon leaving. The first issue was that we were missing one of our bags from the bell hop when he retrieved them. I guess these types of issues happen, and it was resolved. My bigger concern is seeing the system for holding these bags. They were in a conference type room, all over the floor. It appeared disorganized, and proved to be so when we were missing a bag upon leaving. Then the valet. Yikes. waited an hour for our car. I realize they park it offsite, but come on man. Found out shortly after that they never called in for the car until we reminded them 45 mins into it. I wont stay at this marriott again, but I'm especially bothered because I stay at marriotts all the time for work and leisure. I want to be loyal to the brand, but they have to be better than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in July (see previous review) and returned in December.

We were paying for the first night and using Marriott Reward Points for the 2nd and 3rd. For the first night we had a Junior Suite, which was a courtesy upgrade by Marriott. That was a very nice perk for being a rewards member. It was an awesome room with French doors between the living room and bedroom. The living room had a comfortable pull out sofa, television, chest of drawers, and desk. The bedroom had two doubles and television. The best part of this room was that the vanity was outside of the bathroom, so that we could be more efficient with our time.

Unfortunately, we had to move rooms for the two nights using points, which meant we had to check out in the morning and check back in at 4 PM. We were gone all day, so that part wasn't a problem, but it was just a little annoyance. We had to wait on our luggage to be brought back up and ask a couple of times for a rollaway. This was a standard room with two doubles. The rollaway was a tight fit between the wall and one bed. It was too short for a grown person. The bathroom in this standard room was very small and had the vanity inside.

The front desk, bell hops, and doorman are all friendly (for NYC). The doorman, called a car service for us for the airport, which only took 20 minutes. The price was $50 higher, however, than in July!!! This time it was $110 (cash) + tips to driver & doorman. Taxis are also readily available.

We like this location because we can walk to Central Park, Times Square, the theater, and Grand Central.

We walked to Patsy's Pizzaria for a good meal and also to Comfort Diner for breakfast. There are Starbucks in each direction. And my teens like Red Stone pizza as a late night snack.

Beds were comfortable with down comforters and pillows. The showers were hot with rain shower fixtures.

BIGGEST CON: $16.95 for 24 hour internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great hotel in New York City and only a few blocks from Grand Central Terminal. The staff was very friendly and the rooms are great. The banquet staff is very energetic and makes sure a meeting room is set up right.

Room Tip: The higher floors will be quietest, but expect noise. New York City is like that. You can take an ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Marriott East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.