We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH New York Jolly Madison Towers to your Saves list
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 East 38th Street, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #351 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was very disappointed by this hotel which by no means deserves the 3-star rating, and is far below the NH Jolly standard in Europe. The rooms are old, small, and dirty, the bathroom was better (or at least kept clean). We were staying there in winter, and the room was either too hot or too cold, a very old and dusty radiator could not be regulated.
The only advantage of this hotel is a great location near the Grand Central Station, 15 min walk from Times Sq, and about 30-45 min to Central Park.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    553
    451
    208
    127
See reviews for
146
767
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

a 3* hotel with excellent midtown location & italian flair. small and slow lifts take you to small, but well appointed rooms. Small meaning a guest is only able to fully-stretch-open a standard size Samsonite suit case on a bed. Bathrooms well maintained, with standard "NH" branded (orange-yellowish) soap amenities. Window kept slding down, allowing fresh/cold air into the room during night. If not in a package, a modest buffet breakfast costs 22 USD + tax + tip. Not worth the coast, IMO. They do serve a real cappucino/espresso/latte in a real china, though. Front desk staff and bell boy very helpfull. Barman in a hotel bar very nice and hospitable.Breakfast crew moods depends on a day. U might get lucky and run into a charming italian waiter. hotel offers a very good price/location ratio.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from Madison, to make your stay quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The only positive experience from our stay at NH Jolly Madison was the proximity to grand central and the empire state building. Everything about the hotel is old and smelly.

Room Tip: There are better hotels in the city in the same price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I booked six nights at the Jolly Madison Towers, having read some reviews i was a little worried
however I found the hotel to be clean comfortable and friendly. I was in budget accomodation, and I knew what I had booked, so didnt expect more than the basics.if you ask first you can pay the security deposit in cash with no problem, but you do need a credit / debit card to get online. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Times square, Grand Central Station and the Empire State. I was on the 7th floor facing Madison Ave and had a view of the Empire State Building. I would go back iin a heart beat. Just accross the street is the Moonstruck Diner which was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner including take out. 72 hour Grey Line hop on hop off bus, with tickets for attractions was well worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Madison Avenue, a little more noisy unitl about 9pm, but you get the view. 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Jolly for three days in February . We found it ideal for our visit just a few minute walk from the theaters and times square ,Grand Cental station and the Rckerfeller Center (Top of the Roc ) well worth a visit.Staff pleasant and helpfull .would go back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have very few complaints about this Hotel. For the price we paid we got an excellent location, the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels and bedding were provided.

I requested a good view and I wasn't disappointed, we were given a corner room and had views of the Empire State Building on one side of us and a breathtaking view down Madison Avenue on the other.

There was a well stocked mini bar which we dipped into on a couple of occasions.. a Gray Goose vodka was $8 and a can of Coke was $4.. sounds a little pricey but to be honest I was expecting them to be more expensive, so we weren't too shocked when we got the bill.

The room, if a little on the dated side, was very comfortable.. the bed was quite big and very comfy and the bedding was nice and warm, we slept great all week. We were provided with an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer and there was no shortage of complimentary toiletries.

The residents bar is a little on the pricey side, $11 for a (quite small) glass of wine, in my books is a little dear, you would expect to pay that up on Times Square. If you're looking for a nightcap and don't fancy venturing very far, Blaggards Irish Bar is just 5 minutes walk up on 38th and Fifth.. We found this a very good little pub.

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

Like many others who have reviewed this Hotel, we didn't not eat breakfast here, we went across the road to the Moonstruck Diner most days and ate here.. very reasonable and good food.

I will be recommending this Hotel to Friends and Family and should I go back to New York I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

went with my daughter had a really good time got the 48 hour hop on hop off tickets for the bus tour a must for new York very informative guides we even had a lady who sang songs on the way round!
when you book into this hotel they ask for your credit card and take out $100 straight away failing that you have to give them a deposit in case you have any extras, we didn't as out in room mini bar was locked!!
the radiator was hot all night this was a bit disturbing as the radiator was unplugged!
every thing else was grand we had breakfast at a restaurant across the road called moonstruck it was very reasonable and rather large portions!
my advice to any one going to new York who wants to see the sights pre book on-line before you go especially for the empire state building saves nearly two hour wait in queues

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Address: 22 East 38th Street, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.