We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolly Madison - Customer Service could be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH New York Jolly Madison Towers to your Saves list
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 East 38th Street, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #351 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jolly Madison - Customer Service could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at the Jolly Madison Towers from 14 September for 5 nights. I travelled with 5 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday.
The main reception looks nice apart from some of the furniture is a bit shabby. The staff on reception were ok but not overly friendly. The concierge/bellmen were friendly. The member of staff who booked our return taxi to the sirport was not very friendly and did not seem happy to have to call and arrange this.
Our room was on the 7th floor which did not have great floors, The four others were on the 12th floor and had much better views. The rooms were quite small but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was nice but the rest of the room could have done with a bit of re-decorating. The air conditioning worked well but was noisy,
The bar was good for happy hour with half price drinks but about the same price as other bars outside of this ($7 for fruit juice and $12 for vodka and orange). The barman who was there on our first two nights was really friendly and gave us good advice on where to go for food and drink. The barman who was on the other nights was not that friendly.
The location of the hotel is excellent as is only 5 minutes walk from the Empire State Building and Grand Central Station. Times Square is only about 10 - 15 minutes walk.
As for New York itself I loved it and would defintiely go back. Not sure if I would go back to this hotel as although the location is very good the reception staff and some of the bar staff could do with some customer service training.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    553
    451
    208
    127
See reviews for
146
767
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed at the Jolly Madison Towers with 3 friends. We had booked 2 twin rooms but on arrival found we were in 2 double bedrooms. We were told that the booking was not guaranteed , so beware unless your friends don't mind sharing a bed with you ! Also air con was very noisy.

Room Tip: Double check what you are getting if you book by phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon.
Great location and the entrance is quite grand. However as we were checking in we overheard another couple complaining about the size of their room and how the pictures did not do them justice; we decided to make up our own minds.

Our room was on the 4th floor, had two double sized beds and seemed to be clean enough. Yes its a bit shabby in places but it was ok for not being in the room much.

Our problem was with a member of the reception staff who was quite rude when we had a problem.The maintenance staff were lovely and almost made up for the rudeness of the reception staff.

Would recommend this hotel for budget sightseeing but dont expected to be treated well by the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in the Jolly Madison for 4 nights at the early part of September. We'd read some of the reviews of the Jolly Madison and were a bit unsure of what to expect. The entrance is quite grand with a large marble staircase facing you as you enter. But beyond this, the overall first impression was disappointing with the hotel lobby being a bit shabby - the paintwork and furnishings need a bit of freshening up and the reception area in general being not very welcoming.

The room was very small and even for two people, there was not a lot of room to move about and a lack of storage facilities. Again the bedroom decor was a bit shabby but the bathroom appeared to have been given a facelift recently and was very nice. The room was clean and was well serviced daily Some of the other bedrooms appeared to be larger and it is worth asking for a street view room if that is important. There is free broadband access in the rooms is you enquire about it. In general the rooms were fairly typical of those in other NY hotels we have stayed in with the exception of the size.

The biggest problem we had with the room was that we struggled to get the air conditioning to cool the room down to any great extent. New York in September is very humid and this was a problem.

Depite all of that, the hotel is in a fantastic location just a few minutes walk away from Grand Central station for the subways and about 10-15 minutes from Times Square. There are plenty of bars and eating places along 38th Street and Maidison and 5th Avenues. The 38th Street diner was full of locals which is always a good sign and was very good.

If you are staying in your hotel room for any length of time in New York then you are not doing the city justice and for that reason the Jolly Madison is a perfectly adequate as a base.

If decent value for money and a good location are your priorities, the the Jolly Madison fits the bill well. If you are looking for a bit more in the way of luxury then perhaps it would be worthwhile shopping around.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the street of request one with two beds for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is the third time that my wife and I have stayed at this hotel during the last two and a half years and I simply cannot understand some of the more negative reviews that are sometimes directed towards it. As a regular visitor to Manhattan, I think that you would be hard pressed to find many other hotels of a similar rating that can offer the same standards as well as being in the same location. On our previous stays here we have only ever had standard rooms. However, we've always found these rooms to be perfectly okay with excellent bathroom facilities. This time, though, we decided to upgrade to a de luxe room and it was absolutely superb. As far as the hotel staff are concerned, I cannot fault them. And that goes from the reception staff to the cleaners right down to the hotel porters, who are always cheery and willing to assist. And, I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of them for making us feel very welcome during all of our stays.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came over from England in April 2011 to celebrate my partner's 30th birthday. When staying in Central Manhattan on a not enormous budget your options are a tad limited, as most of the hotels in central manhattan are 4 or 5 star. So you have a bit of a decision to make when you visit, which is either to use your money to stay in a really nice hotel out of central Manhattan and nearer JFK airport, or stay in a budget hotel like this one in the centre. Personally as we go on holiday to explore, central location was more important to us than the hotel per se. The location of this one for exploring really is brilliant, as you are only a few minutes away from various things, not least Grand Central station which is a huge bonus if you intend to travel around Mahattan a lot, as Grand Central is connected to nearly every Subway line. The hotel itself really is okay as well. The rooms are clean (if pretty small), but if you just want a base site to go off exploring from like us and don't intend to spend too much time in the hotel, then you shouldn't have any real issues. We only really used the staff to check-in / check-out but they were friendly and courteous when we did. As with many hotels though, they make their money back on extras like Wi-fi, phone calls, etc, so just be wary if you use these things. As for breakfast, it's not included in the cost of your room, and frankly the hotel charges silly prices for it if you want it for an extra. I recomend doing what we did and visit the diner across the road from the hotel instead, which has plenty of good value breakfast options. Overall though I'd definately recomend this to people who want a really central hotel and aren't too fussed about luxury extras.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Jolly Hotel Madison Towers is now part of the NH chain (Spanish) and one can see the difference since the Italian chain was acquired. The Jolly is so convenient to the sites of mid-town and short walks to transportation hubs at Grand Central as well as the N/S subways. Bryant Park is a few minutes as is the Empire State Building. The rooms at the Jolly are good-sized by NYC standards and equipped with good sized closets. Our room had a particularly large bathroom. The rooms are clean, although very dated in style and decor which is a shame because the front service staff are cheerful and very helpful. Our A/C was louder than a bus (particular to this room - but an indicator of the standards of the hotel). The Jolly is priced accordingly - it's a bargain, perhaps half the price of the boutique hotels around the corner. So if you like to dine well in NYC - book the Jolly and spend the savings outside of your room!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Address: 22 East 38th Street, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.