We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and nice, but very loud refrigerator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Affinia Gardens to your Saves list
Affinia Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Formerly Lyden Gardens) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Off Your Stay
Ranked #55 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Spacious and nice, but very loud refrigerator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel served its purpose well. Nice bed, bath and location. We weren't there long enough to take advantage of cooking in, but kitchen was adequate as well. Either a much quieter refrigerator, or a door into the kitchen, would have been a huge improvement. Almost shut it down, but didn't want to risk damage due to defrosting. And got a good night's sleep in spite of it, so bed comfort won out.

Room Tip: book online to get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear roadtripper111-

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you comments and I certainly apologize for the issue with the noise from the refrigerator. I have asked our Engineering Team to check that out asap so no one else will have any concerns. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope the comfortable bed draws you back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    307
    63
    34
    13
See reviews for
471
212
54
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I just got back from a extended weekend get together with a group of women. The room we had was very large and it never felt cramped. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also very roomy. The small kitchen was a bonus. This is not close to nightlife but it was right down the street from the apartment of a friend who lived in town. We ate at some very nice restaurants all within walking distance. Not too far a walk to Central Park. I am sure when we decide to visit again, our group will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear PBJllly-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Affinia Gardens with your friends. We love to hear that we were a perfect fit for our guests. I was excited to see that we have made new "friends" who will be coming back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Is it ritzy and new and shiny? No. But it's clean, comfortable, affordable and accommodating, especially for groups and families. Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was helpful and went out of their way to do whatever they could to make our stay better. We had a few maintenance issues but they were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Close to lots of great stuff - restaurants, shopping, etc. We selected this property for a girls weekend get together because friends literally lived just a couple of blocks away. We needed the extra space since we all couldn't fit in their small apartments. Two queen beds, a queen sofa bed, a large bathroom and kitchenette were perfect. We were able to use the space as we all came and went throughout the weekend to all our activities. Thanks to Pedro, Caprice, Marla and Nino for all their help. From check in to check out they and the entire staff were there to help with anything we needed. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear bgwillis1281-

We appreciate your lovely comments about the property and the service you received. Our location and the size of our suites is definitely a big plus when setting up a home base for your visit to NYC. Our kitchens certainly make it easier to travel with a group or large family. Thank you for the shout out to the Team Members who helped make your stay more enjoyable. I will make sure they are recognized for their efforts. Thank you again and hurry back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Terrible service. Forced us an upgrade because it convinced us that the room was small. Almost every day someone would call from reception very early. The manager was very rude when we question the value of the upgrade. They did a lot of confusion. The hall is noisy. The street is noisy, dirty and smelly. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear ClaudioBox-

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was disappointed to read of your concerns especially since I am aware of the conversations you had with the Team while you were staying with us. I apologize for any confusion surrounding the upgrade to a larger room as I believe it was our best intentions to provide you and your family with more space due to the number of people traveling. I was sorry to see that you did not like the neighborhood as well as we get so many positive remarks based on the quiet atmosphere and friendly feel of our community. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and would hope you may consider another stay with us in the future to give us the opportunity to show you our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in town for a while and wanted a place that felt like home and had a few added amenities (kitchen, room to relax.) If you are looking for a happening scene with a hip bar, trendy clientele, free WIFI, and awesome room service, this is not the hotel for you. If you want a quiet and large room with a kitchen, proximity to daily fresh food (we shopped for delicious food at Gourmet Garage on 64th between 2nd and 1st), stay here. The hotel is small enough that the staff will recognize you (especially if you're staying for an extended time) and will greet you by your name each time you walk through the lobby. Nino at the front desk is particularly helpful though all staff are kind and solicitous. There is limited food service in the hotel, but tons of local restaurants that deliver. We recommend EJ's on 3rd. Two complaints (which are not deal busters): the elevators are painfully slow (sometimes we waited 5 minutes for an elevator…not often, but occasionally) and the internet works best when you are directly near the desk area of the room. When we were in the TV area, the signal was a lot weaker. We were charged by device so we only used one device in the room and used the free WIFI in lobby for other devices. If 4 family members want WIFI in the room for 2 devices each…that gets expensive. The hotel used to be an apartment building many decades ago. Some residents from that era still live here permanently. I found the housekeeping staff to be particularly kind and accommodating. Morale among staff seems high. Kitchen is old but highly functional for basic cooking activities (we had two pots/pans, enough to cook the basics.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear travel99ventures-

Thank you for staying with us and also for detailing your experiences. We are always excited when our "long term" guests let us know about their positive experience in the hotel. Our room size is definitely a great selling point. As you stated, having been an apartment building at one time really makes our room size and kitchens stand out. Thank you as well for mentioning the service you received. We pride ourselves on making all of our guests feel at home. We look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the size of this room, especially in NYC. Nicely furnished with everything you need to make your stay comfy including a full size kitchen. The location is perfect, The staff was extra helpful from the minute we checked in till our departure when Kris helped me bring my luggage to the parking garage.
Make your reservations early this is a popular hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor with one wall of windows which allowed the light to come in and gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear zoegirl06-

I was happy to read your comments regarding your stay. We agree that our location, suite size and kitchens can't be beat. It certainly makes traveling easier when you have all of these wonderful amenities at your disposal. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Over the past six months, I have spent more time at the Affinia Gardens than at home, due to business commitments. In that time, my Affinia "family" have done everything possible to make me feel comfortable, from everyday kindnesses to above-and-beyond assistance. At the front-desk, Vasylyna and Nino provide a warm welcome and intuitive service. Krys, Sal and Mike run bell service like a well-oiled machine, and always with a smile. Caprice makes both front-desk and back-office look easy; she's so attentive to every detail, she often knows what I need long before I do!

I would recommend the Affinia Gardens to all -- family, business and leisure travelers. The property itself is perfect for both short and extended stays. It's on a quiet street, but close to shops, restaurants and the business bustle of Midtown. Suites are spacious and well-appointed, with full-function kitchens and baths with actual bathtubs(!). Toiletries are from Italian spa-care experts ComfortZone. Large flat-screen TVs and strong-signal WiFi are available in the rooms, and a comfortable lobby-level tea lounge offers more social viewing/working options. The often-empty small gym is well-equipped, with a range of free weights, a multi-function machine and plenty of cardio options; the safe neighborhood is also a great place for an evening run.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Affinia Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear xanadu822-

What a lovely review of your experiences with the Affinia Gardens. You comments are appreciated and will definitely be passed on to each of the Team members you reference in your review. IT is always such a great feeling to realize that we have been able to provide a guest with an enjoyable stay and when we learn it is one of our "regulars", that makes it even better.

We agree that there are many positives to our property- the quiet location, the size of the suites, the friendly Team. We are glad that you consider us like home and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Affinia Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Gardens

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Formerly Lyden Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#55 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Affinia Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to spread out and relax? Look no further than Upper East Side hotel Affinia Gardens. Set in New York’s Upper East Side, featuring spacious rooms and suites, soothing services and comforting amenities, Affinia Gardens is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat. It’s also deceptively close to some of Manhattan’s most popular attractions, such as Central Park, just four blocks away. Our 129 suites offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. With rooms larger than many New York City apartments, Affinia Gardens Upper East Side hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Affinia Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.