We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place - Amazing Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF LONGER STAYS
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic Place - Amazing Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Affinia was a wonderful retreat for our family. We all received VIP treatment - including the puppy! Deanna Coudounas was a great hostess and the staff was attentive and efficient. They took care of all the details, making our stay very special! The junior suite was clean and very spacious - everything you might need in the kitchen, a comfortable living space, dreamy beds and immaculate bath. The Upper East Side residential district is an excellent location. Thanks, Affinia for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear InternationalNYC,

It was such a pleasure to read your review on your recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. I am thrilled that you felt like you received VIP treatment. This is something that we like all of our guests to experience as we treat everyone as our VIP, especially your pets! Deanna was thrilled to read your comments about her. I have commended her for making such an impact on your stay.
InternationalNYC, we appreciate your business and I would love to meet you nest time you decide to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    364
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
601
247
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We call the Affinia Gardens our city home. The doorman, Caprice, always goes above and beyond. It is perfect for our family of four with two young children. Walking distance to central park, the zoo, shopping, groceries, everything you need. Yet, as soon as the doors shut, the Affinia really does offer the quiet and comforts you crave after a day of exploring the city. We've stayed at a handful of NYC hotels and we now only come back to the Affinia every year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear MeganButtersRae,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts about your most recent stay. I was so happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience here at Affinia Gardens. Our amazing staff including the doorman and Caprice really see our guests as family and want you to feel that comfort when you enter. Thank you for seeing us as your home away from home.

I hope to meet you on your next trip into town.

Kind regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Does the idea of a large apartment in a quiet neighbourhood, but still close to all the sights of NY, appeal to you? Then this definitely is the place. Only a few minutes from the subway, (buy a 7-day MTA pass for $30) with the Food Emporium nearby for all your food requirements, plenty of restaurants for a meal out if you want a change from the Emporium's ready-to-eat meals, a large room with a comfortable bed and lounge area and a good size bathroom. I'm not sure why folks would pay more money to stay downtown. As others have indicated, try and obtain a rear room facing over the gardens as it's very peaceful. They will also organise a car to JFK airport at a reasonable price. I would have liked to see free WiFi in the rooms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear WalkersWA,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your most recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. It was so refreshing to read your review as if it was an advertisement add. We really are that quiet refuge with the tree lined streets and the no honking laws of the Upper East Side. I am thrilled that you felt the essence of what Affinia Gardens is all about; Serenity!

I hope I have the pleasure on hosting your next vacation here in New York.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was very impressed with the hotel staff. Once I did my booking, I received a personal email from one of the staff (Deanna) offering any help to make my stay the best as possible. Once there, I met her. All of them (including the doorman) were always with a smile to help us to go around and help with our needs. The bedroom is very spacious, clean and the kitchen is well equipped. It also has a very good location. Near supermarkets, shops, museums and Central Park. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Maria Beatriz B,

Thank you for leaving a review here on trip advisor. I see my team made quite the impression even before check in. What we realize here at Affinia Gardens is that a guest's stay does not begin at check in, however as soon as that reservation is being made. We are happy that our accommodating rooms, great location and team were able to cater to all of you and your family's needs.

I hope to welcome you back soon on your next trip to NYC!

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ideally located for midtown manhattan - on the quiet east side - feels like a small hotel. Extremely comfortable and convenient suite. We have stayed here at least seven times over several years. Our absolute favorite in NY. And very pleasant staff. We want to thank Deanna Merlo Coudounas for her help with reservation, Pedro at the front desk, and the very accommodating Krys Kol with moving luggage and grabbing cabs.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel facing E. 65th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear maentwrog,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your most recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. It's always a pleasure to see guests come back over the years; it just confirms that our unique hotel and amazing staff such as Deanna, Pedro and Krys are worth coming back for more!
It was such a pleasure to read your review. I hope on your next trip into town, I have the opportunity of meeting you.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My daughter and I were delighted with the hotel. We had a one-bedroom suite - comfortable beds and quiet rooms situated at the back of the building. The hotel is well situated for Central Park, excellent restaurants, Bloomingdales and of course the Metro. All of the staff were helpful and attentive, especially Pedro, Caprice, Sal and Kris (thank you for patching up my case so that I could get it home!). We had a wonderful week exploring New York, and Affinia Gardens was the perfect base for us. My only suggestion would be that the suite's coffee machine needed upgrading: it really wasn't fit for the purpose. However, we're already planning a return trip to New York, and would definitely want to stay in Affinia Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Kathryn C,

I appreciate you taking the time to write about your wonderful stay here at Affinia Gardens. I am ecstatic to learn that you and your daughter had a great holiday here in New York. Our plush comfortable beds are like laying on clouds and can actually be purchased on our website at affinia.com. Besides our large rooms, perfectly location to upper east side shopping, metro and restaurants is our amazing team here at Affinia Gardens. Our front desk agents will literally go above and beyond for our guests which is something you can't just get anywhere in NYC.

Thank you again for your gracious comments and would love to meet you when you stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were very pleased to find a hotel where a family of six could stay together. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, while still being very central, and there are several excellent restaurants on the same block. The staff is both friendly and helpful, and we felt very special during our stay. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: For a family of more than four people, the junior suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Lexxie L,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay here at Affinia Gardens. Nothing is better than travelling with your entire family and being able to be comfortable as you would in your own home. Our large, accommodating suites are perfect for families of your size and our uniquely quiet neighborhood reminds you of "coming home" after that long day out sightseeing.

It was a pleasure reading your review and would love to have you and your family as guests once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eddie Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,812 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,453 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#15 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#44 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#29 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.