We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 20% Savings
Ranked #55 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
“Best hotel EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great facility. Great staff. Big clean rooms. They made my wife and kids feel like they were the only ones there. Would recommend and will definitely go back. Wouldn't stay anywhere else, Manhattan or elsewhere in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    339
    69
    35
    16
See reviews for
538
237
61
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not a big modern hotel, a bit outdated, but very nice, very clean and big rooms. The staff is very nice. No restaurant at the hotel, but shops nearby. Tea and coffee in the lobby. Small kitchen in the room. Great for families. 5 min walk from Central park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very good place to stay for our big family!

Being a family with 4 kids could be challenging to book a single room in a hotel. At Affinia Gardens, we were pleased to be accommodated with a room that fitted our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose the Affinia Gardens for our girl's night out before a friend's wedding. Our entire stay was spectacular. Every staff member was friendly, professional, and eager to help us, particularly the bellman Sal, Vasylina at the front desk, and the manager Johanna. We were given a complimentary upgrade, which was a pleasant surprise and really made our stay. Our suite was beautiful, comfortable, and clean. I would absolutely return to this hotel in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a vacation in New York and had a remarkable stay at the Affinia Gardens Hotel. Our room was incredibly spacious and in fact our daughter, who lives in Brooklyn, had occasion to see it and said it was bigger than her whole apartment. I was ill one day of our visit and the managers insisted that they bring me some camomile tea. Yes, the service is THAT wonderful. The location is fabulous because it is a short distance from a number of subway lines, Central Park, and museums including the Met, the Frick, and the Whitney. Super value and a great experience overall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the building and had no problem whatsoever with noise. We had a junior su...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is "green" and environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with 2 girlfriends. The room was perfect for 3 of us, junior suite with 2 doubles and a sofa bed, plus kitchen area and plenty of storage...we also had a large nicely furnished patio which was luxury in the summer! All the staff were excellent, in particular the doormen and reception staff....Kris the doorman was delightful and treated us like friends...they were really accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, even our request for a picnic blanket to take to the park!! My husband also organised some champagne for our room (from the uk) which was arranged and delivered exactly as he requested. No bar or restaurant which is no big deal with so much on the doorstep but they had drinks and snacks to purchase at reception and you could order room service from local restaurants. Location was great, short walk to subway, park, nice local restaurants and Bloomingdales. I have stayed in the Mandarin and Hilton Garden Inn before in NYC but would definitely return to the Affinia Gardens for future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights thru Aug 15. The 1 bedroom suite provides everything you need for a nice trip with kids in NYC. Great HD TVs, the separate bedroom is perfect, bathrooms are very tight but clean and modernized, the windows open and the kitchenette is perfect for keeping drinks, snacks or leftovers. The hotel is in a very nice part of the city just outside of the heavy traffic and loud areas near times square and is close to a very active and nice part of central park near museums and shopping. There are no pools, restaurants or bars here - just nice big clean rooms in the heart of NYC with a quaint modern lobby and complimentary coffee or tea (great!). Only suggestion to management for improvement is to definitely update the décor in the guestroom elevator hallways and to put a fan in each hallway to move the air if no air conditioning is possible. The staff was very helpful especially the Asian decent gentleman / front desk manager and the Polish decent doorman. We felt welcomed and loved our trip to NYC with Affinia gardens being a big part of it. This place is a gem!! I Highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Furdaddy72,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the wonderful feedback about our large and spacious rooms, friendly staff, and our convenient location to museums, shopping and Central Park. My team and I appreciate this as we strive to provide the best possible value for all of our guests. We will certainly look into your suggestions and re-check each floor’s air circulation in addition to our normal preventative maintenance routines.

We consider a recommendation to others as one of the ultimate compliments and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Affinia Gardens!

Wishing you and your family TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.