We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 20% Savings
Ranked #54 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tranquil treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We usually stay in mid-town but we will never do that again. This is a lovely hotel in a nice neighborhood close to the Lexington Street subway (4,5,6) and the M15 which will take you close to the 9-11 memorial. Gourmet Garage for groceries is near 3rd street and there is a variety of restaurants within walking distance (Neeley's BBQ is very close). We opted for a junior suite as we were 2 adults and 2 teens. The room was very spacious and the patio was great for adult coffee without TV or card games in the evening before dinner. In addition to all of this, it is quiet! Great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    333
    66
    35
    15
See reviews for
524
231
58
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pros: We are a family of five and finding accommodations is difficult. This hotel had a junior suite with a separate bedroom w two queens and a living room w a sofa bed. Size wise it was very good. There was also a little kitchen that could prove handy for some. We just kept water in the fridge.

The location was also good. It is in a more residential neighborhood so much quieter than others. We were about 3 (longer but very manageable east west) blocks from Central Park. Passed a bagel cart in on the corner and we grabbed bagels, rolls and juice for an easy park breakfast before starting to explore. It was also a short walk to the subway on Lexington which was also a great spot to grab a cab.

Staff was pleasant and while it took a daily request we were able to get extra towels. Hotel was clean. AC worked. And it was quiet in the room.

Cons: This is where my lack of big city travel may taint my review. $500+/per night (which includes a plethora of NYC taxes) seemed a little high for this. They also oversold the place on their website. It shows as uber modern and chic. It was really a rather dated and a little worn in the halls and room but filled w newer more modern West Elm furniture to make it look hipper than it was. Our recliner chair was pealing and worn. Base board molding was broken loose. The bathroom was tiny (knees on the door while....sitting). Kitchen was older, low end apartment cabinets and appliances w a newer granite top.

Lobby was a den w a TV & coffee maker and a smaller check in section. Spartan (w more West Elm furniture) but not really a big deal. Clean and nice I guess but just kinda added to the underwhelming feel of the place.

I believe there are also full time tenants in the hotel. We were at the end of the hall from someone that was perpetually cooking....whole goat w garlic, onion lasagna, tuna tacos. Every time we came or went the hallway smell was overbearing.

And back to the internet...they have a glossy concierge website/email system. Pick your pillows, little optional room extras (picnic blanket kit and some fun/kooky $ items...guitar, putter, cupcakes) and the offer to make reservations. DO NOT count on this for your dining. I requested a table at a place listed on their site (Felice 64...I recommend) 48 hours in advance. I got a call at 6PM the day we checked from the manager telling me they just saw my request for a 7PM table that night. With only a "in process" notice I figured the site wasn't being monitored and had called myself. Had I not, we'd have been eating to go pizza.

In conclusion, its that darn $500+ a night thing or $2,800 for 5 nights. NYC is expensive. I knew that and counted on it. I had just hoped for a little "wow" or at least a little nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a junior suite which was very spacious and more than enough room for two adults and our two kids. It was the perfect stay between relocation to Europe. The staff was very friendly - especially Sal.

Thanks again,
Olivier

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear R22NYC / Olivier,

Wow, perfection is something we always strive for here at Affinia Gardens. I am delighted to hear that Sal and the rest of the team’s efforts paid off and that you had such a perfect stay. Thank you for posting a review and for sharing your feedback!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for our annual "sisters vacation" and were very impressed. Johanna, the Operations Director, and her staff provided excellent service and upgraded us when our requested room wasn't available. The location was very convenient and there are plenty of stores, restaurants and shops nearby, as well as Central Park. The room was incredibly large for Manhattan, and the kitchen was really useful for breakfast and snacks. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear socaltravelerandone,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My team and I are so appreciative of a 5 circle review and when a guest takes the time to highlight our wonderful hotel and staff. Johanna Lopez, our Director of Front Office, is a true gem and she and our entire team take great pride in delivering the best possible experience especially for such important occasions. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our great location, spacious suites which all feature a full kitchen and pull out sofa bed, and other comfortable amenities.

A return stay is one of the ultimate compliments for us so please know that when the annual sisters vacation returns to NYC, my team and I will be waiting with our great location, value, and service that you and so many others expect from us and have already experienced.

Wishing you and your sisters TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a junior suite which was very spacious and more than enough room for two adults and a 13 year old and 9 year old. The staff was very friendly. As an added bonus, it is walking distance to Dylan's candy shop which is great for kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. We took our daughter on a one week trip to NYC for her Sweet 16. We used the hotel as our base of operations. It was perfect for afternoon breaks, and then resting each night. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean. The price was good for the size of room we had, with five guests. Every need was accommodated with relative speed. A special shout out to those who went above and beyond: Pedro, Krys, Caprice, Terrence and Michael. If we get the chance to return we would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in Junior suite with a patio garden. I totally felt at home and found having a kitchen very useful. The room was good size, patio garden perfect, but kitchen and bathroom were a bit old. Not many toiletries in the bathroom. All in all the room was great. The hotel has GREAT staff, doing everything they can to help. With this kind of service I had a great stay and hope to be back.
On a few occasions I ordered from the neighboring restaurants, the food was good, and service fast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sunpleaseplz,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay. My team and I appreciate the 5 circle review and the wonderful feedback especially from a senior TripAdvisor contributor. We love your “sunpleaseplz” screen name and hope that you were able to enjoy some sunshine during your visit and in our Junior Patio Suite room category that feature nearly 300 square feet of outdoor space to our already oversized rooms. Our housekeeping team is happy to provide supplemental bathroom toiletries like toothpaste, mouthwash, and cotton swabs in addition to our Comfort Zone bathroom amenities, upon request and we will review our current offerings to keep things robust. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon for another great stay here on the Upper East Side!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.